We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Topaz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Topaz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Topaz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We had a family room in the Topaz, which is a fabulous hotel situated right on top of a hill over Kandy. The room was large and very comfortable, with quite contemporary furnishing and a big flat screen TV. The only issue was with the plumbing, the bathroom smelt of drains and the shower overflowed, but the hotel got onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are very delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Topaz. We appreciated your comments very much. Customer care is among st our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to...

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel is situated high up above Kandy. We had a great view from our room on the top floor facing Kandy, and it was a very nice, modern room. The restaurant was a bit drab, the evening buffet food wasn't inspiring and unfortunately the restaurant doesn't make the most of its location or views in the evening and has no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mduffy06
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review following your recent holiday at Hotel Topaz. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time and we truly appreciate your valuable comments in particular that related to the helpfulness of the staff. The comments on areas that you note for improvement will be reviewed as...

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the Kandy perahara on the nights of the largest parade. Our tickets we had organsied for the event fell through and the staff were helpful in getting me seats at the last minute. The room was modern and clean, great views and decor is tastefully done. As per other comments the lobby is stuck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara J
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are very delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Topaz. We appreciated your comments very much. Customer care is among st our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to...

united kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This was a one night stop hotel that I could have stayed in much longer The hotel is set high in the hills with wonderful views over Kandy The whole hotel is a beautiful modern design spacious rooms a large clean bathrooms The bar and restaurant were very good with great views out The staff were very good and polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyunitedkingdom
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

Kosice, Slovakia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I only made a quick overnight stay at this place and I was sorry I had no chance to stay longer to experience it better. From the very firt moment upon the arrival till the end the hotel gave a very good impression. Everything was very well kept and maintained, premises spotlessly clean. The room was very spacious with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvia R
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for the descriptive review of your comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz Kandy. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and liked our property. Your positive feedback of the hotel and its conveniences will assist other travelers to find the right place to accommodate in Kandy. We appreciate very much your kind...

Klaipeda, Lithuania
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed 1 night only, because another day we go to other hotel near horton plains. We were in may 2015. I like the view from this hotel. It is fantastic. From our room was also great view.. Mountains and palms.. The breakfast and buffet meal was very good, i liked. Nice and clean rooms. Staff good and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz during your honeymoon enjoying a serene atmosphere and a wide selection from the breakfast buffet. Having indulged in our excellent hospitality, we do hope your next stay in Kandy would be spent at our hotel. Thank you for...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Nice views from rooms with large windows and from restaurant. Few issues with the room with leaking bidet and bathroom door did not close properly. However staff attended with in an hour and fixed the door. Shower mixer was very hard to adjust with either too hot or too cold water flowing despite being Grohe. Food was very basic for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rasika A
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are happy to note that you experienced some memorable moments in your stay with us, enjoying the scenic view of the city & mountains. However, we regret the inconvenience caused due to the water leakage & other minor issues those were rectified by Engineering associates who are available 24-hours for any maintenance issues that crop up daily....

alont
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel did a really great job refurbishing the rooms. They are good size, are very comfortable, and look very modern. The lobby and dining areas, however, are atrocious. Such a flashback to the worst part of the 1980s, it's really unbelievable that anyone allows it to run this way. But the worst part is the food. The last time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alont
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your stay at Hotel Topaz Kandy, and for your patronage. We have noted your comment and sincerely regret your disappointment over the food. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured these issues will be addressed in our on-going endeavour to provide personalized services to our valued guests & we have finalized plans to upgrade...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Where ever you go, you will find a smiling staff to serve you....! I stayed in the hotel for couple of days, all the services were just fine. The best thing that I liked in the hotel, is the smiling staff, especially the front office.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SobinPaimpillil
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz enjoying a serene atmosphere and the best services from our associates. Having indulged in our excellent hospitality, we do hope your next stay in kandy would be spent at our hotel. Thank you for your valued patronage.

Sussex
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This hotel is being refurbished which is good news as it has great potential being beautifully situated at a top of a hill over looking Kandy with great views. Bedroom was nicely appointed and the staff all very friendly. Unfortunately the two buffet meals we had- dinner and breakfast were both bland and disappointing which marked down my score on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank windsorsoup
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your review on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However, we have taken note of your concern about the food and rest assured that we will look into the matter. Hoping to welcome you again for a greater...

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
918 reviews
0.2 km away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#18 of 53 in Kandy
345 reviews
1.7 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,222 reviews
1.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.8 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: €57 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Topaz staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Topaz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best view and big size”
olechristensenole, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great views, friendly staff & value for money”
461asankas, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the swimming pools are great...”
nadhiyafazal, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“4th floor rooms had a great view. (Although lift only goes to 3rd floor).”
keithSurrey, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floors face the weather, but amazing views over Kandy”
HampshireChristiaan-, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5