We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Suisse

Booking.comUS$57*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Suisse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 657: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Suisse
 Click to rate
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a beautiful Colonial hotel with free WiFI, a beautiful pool, spa, gym, air conditioning, safe, hair dryer, TV, coffee and tea and a mini-bar. The hotel needs drastic updates. Breakfast was good with all kinds of food stations. Staff was excellent. Good mattresses but hard pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi L
Denver
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights and this hotel is nothing special. It's old charm and history are overshadowed by its need for updating and a good cleaning. The dinner buffet was adequate as was breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
Bangalore
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located right on the bank of Kandy Lake and very close to the Temple of Tooth. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast buffet spread is really nice with lots of live counter as well. Note that the lift goes till the top floor. So, if climbing stairs would be a problem, request for a room in any floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abch
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for the lovely review! It was indeed a great pleasure; having you with us; At Hotel Suisse, we take pride in providing our guests with nothing but the best; be it service or standards! It really lifted the spirits of our team!! And your comments and recommendations are what really keeps the team striving for...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went back to this hotel after almost 8 years. The hotel front office staff was very courteous and friendly.Was very helpful in getting us a room with a good view considering it being last minute reservation. The Management at the hotel needs to look into the rooms and the quality of food very seriously. Even though the hotel has been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan M
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Rohan, It's unfortunate that your stay had to be graded with an "Average rating" due to your experience at hotel Suisse. We appreciate the constructive feedback which highlights both the negatives and positive of your stay with us. We value all our guest feedback, especially those which leave room for improvement as we use it as a platform to...

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and loved the hotel style, it was like stepping back in time. Staff were obliging and friendly. ONly downfall was the mozis...... hotel did its best with citronella candles everywhere, but unfortunately I was still bitten. IT certainly wouldn't deter me from saying again as I loved the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boothie28
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Boothie, It's been a pleasure, having you; staying with us. We strive to provide only the best to our guests and thrive on guest's satisfaction. We at Suisse are extremely happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. your comments have been duly noted, and we will ensure that; close attention is given to the same....

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Classic colonial feel, a historical building. The staff really try, to give you personal service, and everybody greets you with a smile at all times. At first we weren’t too happy with our room (without a view), but once we told the woman working the front desk, (called Krishanti), she immediately arranged a better room. In fact it was an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sage A
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Sage, Thank you for taking time to post a review regard to your stay with us and for the Five Star rating. We invest a lot of time and effort to train our teams to ensure the highest level of personalized service. Thanks for recognizing our Guest service. Staff is indeed our most important asset and our team will...

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed in room 106 which was very spacious , adequate size bathroom plus an additional sitting room. This hotel retains its old charm but needs a bit of TLC in some areas. It was quite busy while we were there and a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve0366
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Steve, While thanking you for taking the time to pen down this review, we appreciate the constructive feedback which highlights both the negatives and positive of your stay with us. All the concerns which were drawn out in your review will be given close attention and immediate steps will be taken for rectification. Hope you will visit us again...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff and the buffet spread were good. However when booking make sure of the view from the room it should idealy be a room over looking the lawn, b'cos this was not communicated when we booked a room and got a very bad view which we had to fuss and change.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Johnny, Greetings from Hotel Suisse! We greatly appreciate your kind words and high recommendation,Comments and are delighted that all aspects of your experience were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your wonderful review and valued patronage. Hoping to see you back at Suisse

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family spent five days at the Suisse hotel. It has an old charm with comforts expected of any present day "good" hotel. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel has a big garden and a nice pool. It is adjacent to the Kandy lake and therefore boasts of a lovely view. It is also walking distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajithpm
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Ajith, Thank you for your beautifully written words, Our staff are indeed our most important asset, and our team will be thrilled when I share your feedback of how wonderful they made you feel comfortable here with us; and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the historical aspect of the property. Your comments and recommendations are what really keeps...

Manningtree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found this hotel very clean and extremely spacious. It is in an extended colonial building which itself is beautiful. The breakfast buffet was tasty with a range of cuisines. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The pool was clean and large. The bar was good (reported by my parents!) and it even had a snooker table. It is located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilo_Lenny
Hotel S, Management at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review

Dear Lenny, Greetings from Hotel Suisse! We greatly appreciate your kind words and high recommendation and are delighted that all aspects of your experience were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your wonderful review and valued patronage. Hoping to see you back at Suisse.

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (549)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
917 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,222 reviews
1.3 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
689 reviews
0.7 km away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#32 of 53 in Kandy
996 reviews
2.9 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: €69 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Suisse staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Karachi, Pakistan
over a year ago
kandy
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Suisse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No wifi in room”
972kevinl, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the garden, if you don't you might get a room at the back looking at a wall!”
209sagea, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views are the rooms facing the pool”
ajithpm, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms offer something unique and special. The lake was a beautiful view though.”
Jorika1990, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view to the lake”
LORIT123, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$57* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$57
Hotels.comUS$77
Expedia.comUS$77
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates