We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Helga's Folly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Helga's Folly
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Visited here in Dec 2016. This is listed as a Hotel in Tripadvisor. Not exactly sure whether this is a hotel or not although they do have some rooms but not sure whether anyone actually stay. If this is in fact a hotel, then it will have zero rating (do not stay there). But, as a unique quirky interesting place,,,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chamathf27
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting 'our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga who was born here 73 years ago and her husband, but home also to many who have been here for many, many, many years with the family. Helga's Folly is a Heritage Hotel, and not for everyone, as our website clearly states: "not a boutique or...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

You already know when you book here that it's a self-styled anti-hotel. When you arrive, it's brilliantly weird, with almost every wall and surface decorated in some way. I loved it, and spent a while wandering round looking at it all. It's not one of your standard 'business' hotels, and that is what makes it so much fun as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting and staying with us. Thank you too for taking your valuable time to write your gracious review of our home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many who have been with the family for many, many, many decades, all of whom hugely appreciate your lovely review. It...

Reviewed 5 March 2017

I was really looking forward to my stay at Helga's Folly after reading rapturous reviews about its uniqueness - and unique it most certainly is. My room, however, had not been maintained well, and could have used a thorough cleaning. My bed net/canopy (more for show than for protection) was dusty and I had to move it aside to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Benedicta C
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you for staying at our home which it is to many who have been with the family for many, many, many decades, but very sad to read that your room was dirty and mosquitoe net too, as after some of the repairs to rooms, we put new nets on the fourposters and pumpkin bed frames on the...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Really, this place is awesome in the true meaning of the word. The service is fine, the staff are very nice, the food is hit or miss, the rooms are tending toward moldy, the hot water takes forever, the Internet is spotty, the beds are just ok, the monkeys wake you up playing in the morning. And the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N0nickname
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for staying with us and also for taking your precious time to write your gracious review of 'our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many who have been here for many, many, many decades . Your understand and appreciation of what our home can offer is much appreciated....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

the venue is amazing , exactly as i expected , so much lovely art work , furniture , collectables and fun items of tat what is lacks is some major organisation - the staff seemed to be over stretched and tired - when trying to communicate with them they do not have time for you - tried to call three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoes1066
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you for all your very helpfull constructive criticism. Madam Helga and her husband have seen your letter and are appalled , and grateful for bringing all this to their attention, and have taken action. We are all very sad that you encountered all of this here. As you wrote to us that no one was around to...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I visited this place to get to know how this place will work With my mind when I'm comparing others ideas and the news I got about this place. What I realized this is an amazing place should remain its original style because it's unique and it's a part of history and heart of Sri Lanka. To chill to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sky F
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our home sir, which is home to not only madam Helga and her husband but to many of us who have been with the family for many, many, many decades. Your lovely words are much appreciated by all. Very best from all at Helga's Folly, who very much look forward to welcoming you...

Loughrea, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Helga's Folly is a truly quirky and eccentric place and you should not visit Kandy without seeing it! So let me start with the really great things, which includes the property itself, the excellent dinner and breakfast that we totally enjoyed and the really friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed a very sociable atmosphere after dinner, it was the sort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eddieore
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

So sorry to read all this, but did you complain at the time? If so was nothing done? The mattresses of most of the beds are new as are the nets. We are so very sorry that you had a bad experience in our home which it is not only to madam Helga and her husband but to many, many...

Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 27 February 2017

If you wanna feel you should take a break from the monotonous visits to restaurants and hotels; wanting to experience something exciting, yes, "Helga's Folly" is the place :) More of a art Gallery and it will definitely attract you if you are kinda the one who seeks "Difference" :) not to forget that the staff is very friendly :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dinali A
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review of our home, which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many who have been with the family for many, many, many decades. Thank you so much. Your review is much appreciated by us all. Take care and all...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Helga's is a lovely hotel with an eccentric and eclectic twist. It's not the smartest, the most glamorous or the cleanest but it has a heart of gold. It looks a little like a haunted house on acid but the warm welcome of the staff soon dispels any panic. We arrived early from a flight to Colombo after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EREL131
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very dear Madam. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your gracious review of our home which it is to not only to madam and her husband but to many here who have been with the family for many, many, many decades.. Your lovely review is very much appreciated by ALL. It is lovely to have...

yorkshire
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I chose to stay here because of all the reviews saying how quirky it was and it certainly was, but nobody mentioned how dirty it was. Comparing it with other hotels in Kandy we paid 5* prices but the rooms certainly weren't. There was a swimming pool but only 1sunbed . no towels, a place that looked as if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBlueskies
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very sad that you had an unpleasant experience at our home. I do remember you well, as you were not interested, and refused point blank to my offer to show you other rooms and invited to take you around, and as you told me you came as you were just curious. Did you ask the pool boy for more sunbeds...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (136)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.9 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
476 reviews
7.3 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#22 of 53 in Kandy
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
670 reviews
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
915 reviews
3.8 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: €86 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Helga's Folly staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Helga's Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room has unique artwork decorating it. I like being suprised so I would select at random for this reason.”
tluker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think this is a Hotel. If it is, then don't stay. Unless you want totally strange experience. . It's more like place to go and see.”
chamathf27, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay!!”
eddieore, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The single room was much smaller than the double room and not much cheaper.”
EREL131, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a look at the bathroom before you choose a room”
YorkshireBlueskies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5