We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Helga's Folly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of Helga's Folly
 Click to rate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Helga's is a lovely hotel with an eccentric and eclectic twist. It's not the smartest, the most glamorous or the cleanest but it has a heart of gold. It looks a little like a haunted house on acid but the warm welcome of the staff soon dispels any panic. We arrived early from a flight to Colombo after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EREL131
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very dear Madam. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your gracious review of our home which it is to not only to madam and her husband but to many here who have been with the family for many, many, many decades.. Your lovely review is very much appreciated by ALL. It is lovely to have...

yorkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I chose to stay here because of all the reviews saying how quirky it was and it certainly was, but nobody mentioned how dirty it was. Comparing it with other hotels in Kandy we paid 5* prices but the rooms certainly weren't. There was a swimming pool but only 1sunbed . no towels, a place that looked as if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBlueskies
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very sad that you had an unpleasant experience at our home. I do remember you well, as you were not interested, and refused point blank to my offer to show you other rooms and invited to take you around, and as you told me you came as you were just curious. Did you ask the pool boy for more sunbeds...

A TripAdvisor Member
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My visit to Helga's Folly was such a sensory overload, every room was an adventure, I felt so comfortable and welcome from the moment I arrived, my husband and I stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed a delicious dinner each evening. Our room was very comfortable with its unique furnishings,we would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very dear Sir and Madam. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review of our home. Home it is not only to our madam and her husband but to many here who have been with the family for many, many, many decades. Always a joy to have guests such as you, who can understand...

Brighton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

OK, so this place won't suit everyone, but we loved it. The staff are welcoming and efficient whilst being surrounded by garishly painted walls and eye catching artefacts. If you're after a bland international style hotel don't bother, but for those with a sense of fun come and indulge your senses. Oh, and don't open your door to the monkeys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRD1961
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir and madam. Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write your gracious review which is much appreciated by all the Folly family. Always a joy to welcome guests such as you who is able to understand and enjoy what we offer. All the very best. Warm regards from all at the Folly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised once I get to know about this gem.. in Kandy!! Every single wall of the property has a story to tell and displays a ridiculous amount of art which includes paintings, photographs and of course plenty antiques. Accommodation seems to be decent (I did not stay) and for those who are interested in spending a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flip2016
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you madam, for taking your precious time to write your gracious review about our home, which it is not only to madam Helga and her husband but to many who have lived here for many, many, many decades with the family. Your review is much appreciated by us all. Thank you, and all the very best and look forward...

Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cant get over this place. It was such a scenographic delight with each room curated differently. It has a very eerie and a dark feel to it. Be prepared to be spooked out but you must go on a tour of the entire building. The food, I felt, was pretty average. But its a great place to spend a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Kaushik
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and taking your precious time to write your review of 'our' home which it is to not only madam Helga and her husband but to many here who have lived here for many decades. As food is taken seriously, grateful if you could let us know when you came and what you ate!! Thank you so...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal in the restaurant. Fabulous location and worth the money paid. However meal very disappointing. Friday menu of vegetable curry was very dry and stuck to the pottery plate it was presented on and the tuna fish curry could have been better. Overall a worthwhile experience but only because of the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dovi123654
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

So very sorry that you were not happy about your meal here. Did you complain at the time? If so was nothing done? Please let us know when you came, so that we could look into the matter further, as we do take food very seriously here. All the best from all at Helga's Folly.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is an absolutely gem. I am so glad we took the time to go and see it as it was probably the highlight of our entire Sri Lanka trip! We found Kandy to be tiresome and difficult at times (constantly being harassed for money is not pleasant) regardless of the great tourist spots so visiting Madame Helga's was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara T
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam/ Sir. Thank you so much for visiting us, and also for taking your precious time to write your gracious review, which is much appreciated by all the Folly family. Always a joy when guests are able to understand and enjoy what 'our' home, which it is to not only Madam Helga and her husband but to many who...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is incredibly decorated and worth the visit BUT : - the welcome was very cold, I had the impression of intruding - very little choice in non-alcoholic drinks (no juices, only bottles of over sweetened sodas) or just a very bad drink menu - there are clearly two different price lists for foreigners and locals and the foreigner-one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ConstanceDK
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madam Thank you for your comments . I am sorry you felt you had a cold welcome. If you could let us know when you came to the folly I will look into reception. The Folly as you noted is a four generational family home and has a striking historical and family history. I am sorry you...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Out of all of the wonderful things I experienced during my first trip to Sri Lanka, Helga's Folly was one of the most memorable. All of the staff were incredibly gracious and accommodation. The food tasted impeccable (freshly prepared!) and was presented beautifully. Words cannot describe the uniqueness and wonder that surrounds Helga's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alrowlands
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for visiting our home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many who have been at the Folly for many, many decades. Thank you too for taking your precious time to write your lovely review which is much appreciated by all. All the very best for 2017 and much...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (131)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
804 reviews
1.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#23 of 65 in Kandy
467 reviews
4.7 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 65 in Kandy
298 reviews
0.6 km away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 65 in Kandy
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: €88 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#14 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Helga's Folly staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Helga's Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single room was much smaller than the double room and not much cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles EREL131, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a look at the bathroom before you choose a room”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireBlueskies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you explore the hotel, each room is different”
 of 5 bubbles saratW5058GH, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Come here to chill out for a few hours in the afternoon/evening so you can see it both in the daytime and night.”
 of 5 bubbles 62juliannep, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Better to visit than stay”
 of 5 bubbles grahame663, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5