We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mango Garden

Expedia.comUS$33
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$40*
US$33*
US$40*
US$33*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mango Garden
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was basic, but comfortable... little fan, mosquito net (had holes in), ensuite bathroom. The building is lovely, restaurant and terrace serving food and non alcoholic drinks. Staff were friendly. Tuktuk drivers really helpful and patient but slightly more expensive than hailing one on the street but that's a minor quibble. Dinner was ok, breakfast was lovely. Walking distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessmcd1985
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Jessmcd Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to write a nice review about our Mango Garden Kandy.We are little expensive because we all make it fresh food and all are geting expensive in Sir Lanka very day.We love to make good food and fresh for all guest. We will do our best...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at the Mango Garden for two nights and the positive things were that what seemed to be staff was quite helpful in recommending what can be done and organizing things. This however was not the regular staff but more like contracted tuk tuk drivers to pick up ppl from the bus/train station that were then working in their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake T
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Jake Thank you very much for your review. We are very very sorry we did not had works from the 10th April till the 18th of April.Till now they all have been on Holiday for the New Year. We do have a big problem when they go on holiday for the New Year all over Sri Lanka....

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Mango Garden Restaurant because it was recommended in our tourist guide ! We were disappointed - although there were only 5 guests we waited 30 min. for a bottle of water and more than one hour for our food (only fried rice) which was nothing special ! Yes, things go slow in Sri Lanka but this service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Johanna Thank you very much for your review.We very very sorry about this proble.We very happy that you write us about this poroble.We are very sorry we did not had staff because of the New Year holiday for the staff and the other too.They start holiday from the 10th till the 18th of April so this is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I had a great stay at Hotel Mango Garden. Malik and his team were warm and friendly, making sure I was comfortable in my room and helping me make my plans for my stay in Kandy. Malik even arranged a female guide for me (I was a solo woman traveller). My room was simple but clean and cool, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexFindlay19
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Madame Alex Findlay Thank you very much for taking time to write a nice review about our Mango Garden and about our staff at the hotel.Yes we did have a lady driver for you and for the other too. She is new for our tours but is a very good guide too.She was very have to make only tours...

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice stay! It's clean, nice vibe and very nice and helpful owner. Good wifi in lounge, restaurant and reception. With book exchange. You can book tours or ask info for the rest of your trip. Good food as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjet B
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Marjet B Thank you very much for your nice review about our Hotel Mango Garden.Thank you very much for taking time to write a nice review about out hotel.We all are very very happy. We wish you all the best and a very good holiday in Sri Lanka. We all wish you our staff and Malik. Malik.

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Everything about the Mango Garden is great! There was a slight mixup with my room, but they made it was fixed the next day. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the water is hot! The staff were helpful and arranged taxis. And the food at the restaurant is excellent! You definitely want to stay (and eat) here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bramhubbell
Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We had a nice time at the Mango Garden, Malik and his staff made sure we are comfortable, rooms are clean, hot water and comfy beds, good prices and very accommodating team. Nice walk along the lake to the town, a place to stay for a visit of Kandy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vitopvt
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Vitopvt Thank you very much for your nice review about our little Mango Garden. We are very happy to have your in Mango Garden.It is nice to hear from that you liked our service and our staff.We all wish you all the best. Greetings from all the staff and Malik. Malik.

Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Mango Garden, 32A Saranankara Rd. Kandy The guest house offers a very personal and attentive service in addition to a restaurant on one of the two terraces. We stayed 3 nights and loved the attention and helpfulness of the staff. One day before the arrival in Kandy, my travel partner had drawn a violent sundress on his feet, arms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ss2ehr
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Madame SS2ehr Thank you very much for time to write a review about our service what you had in our little Mango Garden.We are very happy to have you in our Mango Garden. We hope that your partner is feeling better now. We hope to hear from you and get well soon. Greetings from the staff Mango Garden. Malik.

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in Kandy. Staff very friendly, rooms clean and great food! They do good Sri Lankan curry. Malik the owner is super friendly and really helpful. Provided us a tour around Kandy to see some of the sights. Sat on the top deck of the hotel and we saw some monkeys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinn S
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Madame Quinn S Thank you very much for taking to write a very nice review and telling nce things about our small hotel.It is very nice story about monkey banana lady. Hope next time you don't keep banana on the table.Did you see what happen after having the banana the monkey. We are very happy to have you...

Reviewed 24 February 2017

I have been using Malik since 2006 for accommodation, food, trips amongst many other things. For many mid-range hotel owners in Sri Lanka it's a challenge to handel big groups. I usually arrive with 15-20 students every year and trust Malik with all the arrangements needed. Malik can practically arrange what ever you want in Sri Lanka and will go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy v
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tommy Thank you very much for your nice review about out 2 hotels. Palm Garden and Mango Garden in Kandy. We are always happy to have you and all your kids groups in our 2 Hotel in Kandy. We do like very much you kids and the are interesting and very good knowledge. We are very happy and...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 km away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#22 of 54 in Kandy
359 reviews
0.1 km away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
516 reviews
0.4 km away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#36 of 379 in Kandy
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#26 of 379 in Kandy
33 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Kandy
Days Inn Kandy
#44 of 379 in Kandy
226 reviews
0.1 km away
McLeod Inn
McLeod Inn
#4 of 304 in Kandy
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A new pleasant guest house centrally situated and only a short walk to Kandy Lake. Ideal as a base for sight seeing in Kandy and surrounding area. If required, will collect from the station.Call us for free pick up from the bus or railway station Kandy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Garden

Address: No. 32/A Saranankara Mawatha | Central Province, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: €26 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mango Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mango Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mango Garden staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mango Garden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Roms in the back first and second floor are silent and big.”
ss2ehr, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mango Gardens is very near to Kandy lake and the temple of the Tooth.”
219mina, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get away from the front/road.”
salemnobody, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you're not fussed about a separate bathroom, the cheaper room is great value :)”
Hannzie, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the restaurant”
Frontiermail, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Priceline
TravelocityUS$33
TripAdvisorUS$33
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates