We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Earl's Regency

Show Prices
#8 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Earl\\
Earl's Regency
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Earl's Regency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,591: English reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

A quiet spot to relax with lush gardens Spacious rooms clean bathrooms a large structure with ample space for solitude. Plenty of amminties for a perfect holiday suitable for large family or groups. Centre point for surrounding attractions and towns. Far away from the city hustle and bustle yet near enough for shopping

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Waqar A
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are really impressed by the encouraging review you have placed on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for the lovely recommendation as a perfect resort for family gatherings. We invite you to pay another visit to us soon and we are waiting to offer you more tender memories to take back home. Yours Sincerely, Upul Gedarakumbura,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

My parents and I stayed at Earl's Regency in January, and we loved it. The hotel is set in an eco and environmentally friendly, making it peaceful and serene. Our room was upgraded to a suite, so our room was beautiful and we had a nice view (especially during Thai Pongal). What gave the hotel it's extra "wow factor" was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kavindhi R
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Earl’s Regency as your holiday destination. We are truly grateful for the time you have taken to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are very much delighted to see the generous recommendation as a great hotel to stay. It is our pleasure that all of you have...

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

From the moment we set foot on the property to the time we left 2 days later we were treated brilliantly. The rooms are clean,both restaurants were very good and the grounds and pool are well maintained. BUT it IS the staff that make this place. If you are going to Kandy this is the place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are truly impressed by the encouraging review you have placed on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to see that you have enjoyed the stay at our hotel and thank you very much for the recommendations given. We are very grateful for all the applause given on our beloved staff members. Glad to see that you are...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This hotel in the centre of Kandy is a stones throw from the famous Temple of the tooth and the local dance theatre which is along side the lake. We spent one night here and found it very comfortable with friendly and obliging staff, all meals were of the buffet style with a varied menu. The only downside to most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Powell8
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a review on TripAdvisor. Many thanks for your generous applause on the facilities of our hotel. We are thrilled by your lovely comments on the overall stay and we are waiting to welcome you again. Yours Sincerely,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Situated a few miles outside the city centre you need transport. In our case, we were on a tour so it didn't matter. The hotel is on a hill and looks impressive. Our room, which took a couple of minutes to reach was clean and comfortable with an outside balcony overlooking the swimming pool. WIFI was good. We had dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are really impressed by the encouraging review you have placed on TripAdvisor and the recommendation as a comfortable hotel with tantalizing cuisine. Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred family holiday destination. Please do pay another visit to us and we are waiting to offer you more tender memories to take back...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Unfortunately I was put in a room to the side of the hotel down stairs so I felt a little disconnected. However the room was a good size and clean. No complaints. It would have been nice for someone to explain how meal times worked. A buffet or A La Carte menu - I sat there for a good half...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are really glad that you kept trust on Earl's Regency and thank you for recommending it a good hotel. We appreciate your willingness to post a review on TripAdvisor as well. Appreciate very much that you have shared your sincere thoughts on the overall stay and we regret if you had to face any inconvenience or...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

A great hotel in a great location. The buffet dinner is the best we had on our tour round Sri Lanka. Rooms are beautiful and the swimming pool was awesome. Visiting the Temple of the Tooth ceremony was very easy from this location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Earl’s Regency as your holiday destination. We are truly grateful for the time you have taken to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. Thank you very much for the applause; especially on the delicious cuisine. Please do pay another visit to us when you are back in Sri...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Kandy. Did not know what to expect after checking out tripadvisor the night before booking in. The most recent reviews were terrible, they must have stayed in a different hotel to us! Staff friendly, buffet reasonable, rooms comfortable with all you could need.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hungryhighlanders
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination in Kandy. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a very encouraging review on TripAdvisor and we much appreciate your understanding on the real situation of the hotel in spite of some of the reviews. Please do visit us again and we are waiting...

East Anglia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The Earl's Regency is a large modern 'international' business/tourist hotel which could be anywhere but provides a perfect base for a few nights in Kandy; the lake is about ten minutes' drive away. Our room was very large, airy and well-equipped, with a nice little balcony to sit out on. Everything worked fine, with good in-room wifi and an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael424
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a descriptive review on TripAdvisor. We are so overwhelmed by your abundant positive endorsements and we are glad that you have had a memorable stay at our hotel. Please do visit us again and we are waiting...

Reviewed 21 February 2016

I have been to many hotel in Sri Lanka and in many other countries and by far truly the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, thank heaven it was only for one night. Even though the hotel is located in such a nice place the staffs make it absolutely the worst ever. The staff at Hotel are soooo not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mffas
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Earl’s Regency and for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We regret very much the unpleasant experiences you had to face during your stay and we humbly apologize for the inconvenience caused. Delivering superior customer service experiences is a priority to us and we are truly saddened that we...

1,625 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1247)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (254)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
View from Room (108)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Other (475)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Luxury (18)
Viewed
Luxury Family (24)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (39)
Viewed
Mountbatten Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
6.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
636 reviews
3.0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
793 reviews
13.7 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#3 of 65 in Kandy
565 reviews
5.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
6.4 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Kandy
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earl's Regency the crown jewel of the Kandyan Kingdom. The grandeur of an ancient Citadel adorned with contemporary 5-star luxury. A landmark of impeccable taste and unique style where one can unwind and relax while experiencing all this world has to offer. Fully air-conditioned and elegantly designed rooms with a view of the mountains and the Mahaweli river, sumptuous dining and exclusive reviving Balinese treatments at our spa. The hotel exudes opulence and grandeur. Every corner offers fresh delights for weary eyes, from the palatial lobby with its waterfall, to private corners set aside as mini lounge areas to gaze at the wonder just beyond. Stay at Earl's Regency, one of the finest Kandy hotels and your memories will include the warm hospitality of truly Sri Lanka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: €125 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#4 Business Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earl's Regency staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Beijing, China
over a year ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Muscat, Oman
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Earl's Regency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request for a room with the view of the pool”
 of 5 bubbles rozanneg717, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have no view. Make sure the one you order has this.”
 of 5 bubbles GunnarAa, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best to check how far away your room is if you don't like a walk”
 of 5 bubbles johnnykemp, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have better view of the town... All rooms have the view of the pool...”
 of 5 bubbles dhananjayaa2017, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with knuckle view mountain would be good”
 of 5 bubbles mukherjees2016, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5