We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tourmaline Hotel

Show Prices
#22 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tourmaline Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tourmaline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
Poznan
Reviewed 16 September 2016

First te positives. The staff are excellent and the service is impeccable. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is good with lots of fresh fruit. However, the place is in need of modernization and really looks tired. The rooms had everything you need but well...everything just looked like it needed a facelift. My other gripe was the evening buffet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The place had a good location for the most part it feels like you're on top of the country kind off like a mountain top. We never really got a chance to see the swimming pool. However the food was ok but too expensive for our taste. Although the manager of the restaurant was really friendly. For the most part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yousef Q
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The check in was abit slow, but the reception was very pleasant and apologetic...most recording seem manual... Can do with some modern age computerization. We had a suite with two bedrooms. The rooms were spacious and nice...comfortable beds. Food at the restaurant were acceptable, but can do with some variation ...eg even for breakfast the fruits can be varied everyday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We were a little wary as we have travelled to Sri Lanka several times but just booked this via the internet before we travelled. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very good from reception to the dining room staff. The room had one of the best views I have ever had form a hotel window. We ate of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah m
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, over looking view of the city and not too far from the city proper. They gave us a very warm welcome with their candle lighting ritual and a much needed cup of tea for a cold weather. The room was good, also the food but the staffs were the highlight of this hotel. Mr....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerlyn Mae D
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Oh where to begin with the bucket of awful that is this hotel and its sister hotel, The Topaz, where I will also post this review! A chronology of claptrap: We made a booking for The Tourmaline Hotel though Agoda and paid in full for five adults for a seven night stay. We received a confirmation and the money was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay M
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are always concerned of the convenience & satisfaction beyond value for money of our valued guests & it is revealed by the reviews published on this forum. However we regret that it has not been the same with you due to a booking which came across to us through "Agoda" even whilst they were informed in writing...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

A superb location up in the hills away from the main town of Kandy but only a short ride down . A very warm welcome from all the staff . Nothing was too much trouble and a pool Is an added bonus to relax in .the view from the room was stunning overlooking the hills . I would not hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Meerut
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed in this hotel twice and both times the experience was different and quite enjoyable. The first time was a blind walk in after browsing for Kandy hotels in the internet. The management appeared to be over joyed to see us enter t heir hotel and went out of their way to receive us with welcome drinks and carried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjjohn
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Canberra
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night recently - it looks much better inside than it does from the outside. Inside it is very plush with an excellent reception area and rooms that were very classy. The restaurant was first class as were the meals. It is more expensive that the Hotel Topaz which is next door, and much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richo12
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

Florida
Reviewed 25 May 2016

This is one of the best hotels we met in Kandy. Closer to the city is the main benefit. Rooms are perfect and clean. View from the window is excellent.and the large plain glass windows can be opened to capture a good picture. Pool is large and clean. Grounds are clean and landscaped. A huge parking area for vehicles. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mali F
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting review on trip advisor about your experience at The Tourmaline. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we succeeded to make your stay a true memorable one. we have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
847 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
1,193 reviews
1.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 58 in Kandy
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 58 in Kandy
356 reviews
1.2 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
275 reviews
3.3 km away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#20 of 58 in Kandy
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: €72 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kandy
#8 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tourmaline Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tourmaline Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“otel is too old you can bring your hair dryer.”
 of 5 bubbles musatafa_, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have decent view of the hill”
 of 5 bubbles rahul46329, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nothing I can say, I think they were all tired looking.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulN256, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a twin room facing away from the city”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmL5237AB, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just don't bother. Basil Fawlty School of Hotel Management Graduates.”
 of 5 bubbles JayM579, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5