We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Majestic Tourist Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Majestic Tourist Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Very wrongly located, on a very steep place. Acs not working, even taps weren't working well. We were asked to use another room's bathroom but that room didn't had locks in it. All in all poor, terrible pathetic. They charge very high.

Helpful?
Thank Sharmila B
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

you have taken 1 double room non a/c, for you, and one room for your driver total price is LKR 7000.00,you have paid for 2 rooms LKR 3500.00 .(USD24) which I have given a special price. and you have broken my one of shower mixer, which is cost , more then what you have paid. I will advice like you... More 

Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016

That day I was as a driver, and I came with two Hungarian Ladies to stay this hotel. They booked two rooms and one for me because they are not provided room for drivers. When we arrived hotel but still rooms are not ready. That owner lady told to us they didn’t have any booking on that day. However that... More 

Helpful?
Thank IsuHikka
Majestichotelkandy, Owner at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

What is true story ? the Driver collected the hotel bill and he left the hotel, and we have called the police , then have deposit the amount to our a/c. we don't accommodate drivers here any more. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

one person has scold this hotel. but I was there on the same day as the review mansions . he haven't book an ac room and he is asking an ac room and shouting. he is disturbeing the hole. hotel and the review mansion about the lady . she is an very help full lady . and very kind. help... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Harold R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016

in our tour of sri lanka this hotel is the most remarkable hotel of all .the rooms were very clean and nice at the same time has breath taking view .we was warmly welcomed by 'kumari' and even offer us a pot of tea free of charge .and other very good things about this hotel are their restaurant and their... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dilimo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I have traveled all my life and been traveling full time for the past 10 months and this is THE WORST place I have ever been. The management/owners completely ruin this place. The location is fine and the rooms are basic (no hot water). It's the unprofessional and untrustworthy personalities of the management which made us leave. Upon arrival the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank heather p
Majestichotelkandy, Owner at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review , it is too long , try to wright short , then people can understand what you are saying, I don't Know you are the low maker of Sri Lanka, you knows the rules very well , but the Hotel is not belongs to any Other, it is my own Hotel, and my rule... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

We were there for 2 nights. The reception was very informal but totally kind. The hosts are very polite and try to help you anytime. Especially Joseph takes time to give you some good hints. He'll offer you also to help you with bookings or tourist tours. If there is no other opportunity you can book them for a trip... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ninajanis
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This is a really nice hotel. with staff aiming to please. The manager helped us plan the rest of our trip with accommodations, driver,places to visit etc. They really wanted us to see the most and best of srilanka for a very good price. It would have been more expensive if we booked all this ourselves. We are more then... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank colton j
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Didn't really liked it. Its more like a lodge with basic beds and a toilet attached. Our room had a dim yellow light which was very depressing. No room service. Upholstery was quite poor in quality. Only relief was toilet which was clean! Restaurant on the roof top has a good view but very slow service and poor food quality.

Helpful?
4 Thank GoneNomadic
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

It is a neat hotel 1:- Has a roof top restaurant with good food 2:- Alcohol is available 3:- Roof top view gives 180 degree view which are mind blowing 4:- Kandy weather is cool 5:- You can buy tickets for dance festival from the owner of the hotel on bit less price 6:- You can ask for Kandy tour... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank vdey87
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed in the Majestic tourist hotel in Kandy and it was a very nice stay! The rooms are clean and comfortable and you will be provided with a cute, colorful blanket if the night gets cold. It's not exactly close to the main town but it makes up to that with the gorgeous view... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Noa S

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 km away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#38 of 62 in Kandy
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#44 of 62 in Kandy
508 reviews
1.4 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#28 of 62 in Kandy
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 62 in Kandy
592 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#39 of 62 in Kandy
171 reviews
12.0 km away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#55 of 62 in Kandy
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: €19 - €26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Majestic Tourist Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Majestic Tourist Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If on limited budget than use this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles vdey87, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Face the front.”
 of 5 bubbles NomadicmanTA, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask the owner for a curry-workshop”
  • beautiful view from the restaurant
 of 5 bubbles wolfgangh939, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms face to the greeny hills.”
 of 5 bubbles 104agnesk, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose the room with a balcony view”
  • My Room
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • My Room
  • My Room
  • View From Room
 of 5 bubbles ShaunakMarulkar, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay