We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riad Baraka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Riad Baraka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riad Baraka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Bocholt, Germany
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you are in Chaouen Riad Baraka is the place to stay! My friend and I were so glad we decided for this hostel. Joe is a very friendly and helpful host and always up for a chat. He gave us recommendations on all the questions we had. Riad Baraka itself is tastefully furnished and decorated and the entire place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sakiko12
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks so happy when people enjoy what we offer we try our best and some recognition of that for the Baraka. Team as makes me smile and thanks for the Compliments come back anytime ! Cheers Joe

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was a bit funny about staying here after reading the reviews. We stayed here after having moved hostels from a diry one just up the road. Joe is so nice and nothing is to much for him to help you with. Its not a party hostel Joe will treat you great if you treat his home with reapect like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jezeze B
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks it's because I run a proper hostel I do come in for some critism I love to be the charming host and help in anyway I can I ask for some manners for the the Baraka guests , team and hostel which is why the vast majority of the Baraka reviews are glowing, not bad considering we are a...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Riad Baraka is a spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated Guest House. Several small cosy, comfy terrace spaces, all stunningly blue. It's wonderful staying right in the Medina and Chefchaouen is calm, easy and a very special town. Stayed here with our teenagers and they loved it. We did several walks from the guest house and Joe was great with his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philly E
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words means a lot when I get a glowing review of seasoned travellers like your selves thanks a million Joe

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Best terrasse of the whole city with one of the best vantage point but the most confortable roof by far ! Plus the place have some kind of bar witch I've really enjoyed after 3 weeks in Morroco (beer is harder to find than snow here !) The place is the cleanest and most organised place we've met yet (they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu L
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

It's a confusing review you love all the things you won't find in a Morocan guest house(especially this price range ) and liked the European kind of organised hostel style, plus the beer that you won't find any where else and we play quiet background noise from 9 am to 9 pm and the reason we gave you space was...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It is one of the best place we stayed in Morroco. It was definately the cleanest and the prettiest :)!!! The bed was comfortable and the sheets were spotless. The owners are lovely English lads who like to chat and share their experiences. The terrasse is a gorgeous place to chill out with a beer. We really appreciated the fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francois F
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you so glad you enjoyed what we have to offer , pleasure to have you at the Baraka!

France
Reviewed 3 November 2013

positives: -good location -clean -decoration -roof negatives: -rude owner who made us unconfortable -incomplete breakfast( only two dry rolls and fruit salad plus coffe or tea) -marihuana smell -problem with the warm water and the owner even didn't tell us about it. We will never go again.We have never had such a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
22Thank KarambaLee
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

I knew I was going to have a problem when I opened the door you have the face of a man with a thousand complaints. I saw your shoulders drop when you saw a group of young people laughing in the down stairs seating area . I did apologise about the water and asked you to give me a few...

nyc
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're trying to decide between Riad Baraka and somewhere else...stay here, hands down. It's a spotlessly clean, absolutely gorgeous hostel that's an incredible value in a quiet, centrally located area of the medina. We originally booked for one night and ended up staying much longer...we would probably have just moved in permanently if we could! Very safe and secure,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reed54
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you ladies you were a pleasure to have around so sorry I was booked up so you had to move on, you could have moved in for me thanks again happy travels! Joe an co.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Probably the best hostel we stayed in on our travels throughout morocco! Very friendly owners who have a great knowledge of the local area and other parts of the country - very clean and lovely rooms, has a wonderful terrace with beautiful views of the mountains and a delicious breakfast is made to top it all off! Would deffinately come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks for the review really glad you enjoyed Chaouen and our house you were a pleasure to have around same time next year?

Madagascar
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spotless, friendly, helpful, unique art everywhere, great staff and did I mention spotless?? Best terrace in town with incredible views and comfy corners to chill. Not my first Riad in Chefchaouen but I would not stay anywhere else now that I know this place exists. Highly recommended by a single woman traveller. Planned on staying three nights, just extended for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeytravels
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you best of luck with your next adventure welcome any time !

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was a little unsure about my booking choice after reading some of the TA reviews below, but we only had good things to say about our stay and the staff. Starting with the Riad itself and the rooms, it is easily the most modern, clean and practical riad of my stay in Morocco. You can tell it has the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SamBell83
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you for such a detailed and balanced view I really do try my best for guests Morocco can be a tough adventure sometimes and I will help and give as much. Advice as is needed. Your right though in return I do expect My guests , Team and neighbours shown some manners and sorry the gas ran out on...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
144 reviews
0.3 km away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
432 reviews
51.0 km away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
#4 of 55 in Chefchaouen
83 reviews
10.7 km away
Dar Zambra
Dar Zambra
#1 of 55 in Chefchaouen
162 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa Annasr
Casa Annasr
#12 of 55 in Chefchaouen
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dar el Baraka sits just 70 meters from the Medina's main gate, centrally located to explore Chaouen’s ancient Medina. Dar el Baraka is an original six hundred year old riad converted into a comfortable guest house with six rooms, four bathrooms, various common areas and a stunning blue terrace. There are many corners in the riad to curl up in to watch satellite TV, read, talk, or simply daydream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riad Baraka

Address: 12 Derb | Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Price Range: €12 - €20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riad Baraka staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Riad Baraka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the main floor if possible, you can't sleep in past 8am because breakfast is served right outside the dorm room's doors!”
 of 5 bubbles KirstenRoche, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room number 1 is an 8-bed dorm right off the lounge area. I didn't stay in this room, however, I imagine it would be a little noisy at times”
  • 4 bed dorm
 of 5 bubbles Tily_Travels, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“for couples the nice twobedrooms are very comfortable and romantic, the dorm has lockers, really good beds and nice blancets!”
 of 5 bubbles rh659, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“just be nice, and not loud”
 of 5 bubbles 162kevinh, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“In the dorms, top bunks don't have rails so take the bottom if you're a roller :)”
 of 5 bubbles 564jeremyd, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5