We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef Chalets

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of The Reef Chalets
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very average, the chalets are not very clean, very dusty, the mosquito net was dirty, impossible to use, if you have asthma avoid it... Be ready to meet lizards everywhere, but that's kinda normal, it's the jungle. The staff is very kind, but our room was made once during the week we stayed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramy E
Koper, Slovenia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice chalets on the beach. Basic, so don`t expect any luxury. The staff are really friendly. The chalets are clean and on very good location. They are close to the very nice Turtle beach. Snorkeling is nice but nothing special (lots of corals destroyed, not so many fishes, not so good visibility). Maybe as we came directly from Sipadan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katja1204
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly helpful staff, nicely kitted out huts with all the basics, try not to run a hairdryer and the aircon and the lights at the same time, the electric will just trip every time! Apart from that it couldn't have been a better place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevemanning2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

we had our first trip to island, and we aren't preparing for it. it was sudden trip. so we just follow the flow. taking the boat to the island and just check in on the spot. they've got nice chalets, traditional style.we slept soundly! the staffs are very friendly and kind to us.. what you do in island? snorkeling!! they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0se_cha
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

The Reef Charlets were a nice accommodation.. it was low season, so the price was really cheap (97RM/Fan, 2Persons). The beach in front of the charlets is really nice and they offer snorkling tours or you can rent a kayak. However, the bathroom was not very clean... The staff is helpful and friendly!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank resa09
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

What else do you need?! A lovely little chalet on the beach. In a fantastic location, just 5 mins walk to arguably the best snorkelling spot, turtle beach. This place was the best value of quite a few we checked, and far better than anywhere we found online. The staff were all lovely, helpful, fun and really friendly. We might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the Reef Chalets and had a fantastic stay. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but when you're spending all day either on the beach or on your own private chalet terrace, this isn't an issue at all! The showers had no hot water but this actually proved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forbes034
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The bungalows that sit in a semi-circle in front look nice and I was impressed by how nicely the grounds were maintained. We stayed in the building behind which offers less expensive rooms which would have been absolutely fine if it were not for the outrageously loud generator24/7 that turned out to be from the hotel next door. I complained...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn_USA_13
thereefpp, Owner at The Reef Chalets, responded to this review

Sorry Lynn for the delay in replying to this. We have just opened for the new season.My staff informed me that you had received compensation for this. They may have got mixed up with the name of the person who received the refund. It is our policy to offer a refund for forthcoming nights if guests wish to move to...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

They where full but gave us the family suite for one night and then we went to a different place. The room looked like it had not been used in quite a while but still had its charms. The one downside of this room was the continues sound of the aggregate.. I don't know how the challet looks like but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjors v
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

5 nights in a chalet right on the beach. The bungalow is basic, but that's what we wanted in a place that's all about nature: the sea and the beach, especially. The staff 's great: always helpful, smiling and friendly. If you ask for something that's beyond their intrinsic duties, they'll go out of their way to help you! We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisgrenness

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (80)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.2 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
596 reviews
0.1 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
612 reviews
0.8 km away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
934 reviews
0.6 km away
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
#6 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Chalets is a cosy small place with 12 Chalets arranged in a half moon shape in a lush tropical garden with big trees and grass area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Chalets

Address: Pulau Besar | Perhentian Islands, Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Chalets staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Reef Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a cottage closer to the beach front. Back rooms are noisy due to generator.”
MIL1251, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 1 is close to reception so gets wifi. Close to restaurants and the beach too, so a good option.”
jonmerry, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Seaview is the way to go.”
TravelLot123, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Think next time will pay a bit extra for the beach suite so to get more room and a fridge”
Hank63, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All are pretty much the same, around a central garden, on the beach.”
TropicalStormKL, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5