We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Save
Share
Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000 Malaysia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
CheapTickets
Snaptravel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1468)
Room & Suite (299)
Pool & Beach (189)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 40 hotels in Sandakan
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD.
Read more

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000 Malaysia
Getting there
Sandakan Airport10 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1650Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 696
  • 678
  • 210
  • 48
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AndyandJackie wrote a review Jun 2020
Waterlooville, United Kingdom153 contributions111 helpful votes
The hotel is right on the sea front, which is a good start, and some rooms have nice views over the sea (sunset was the view we had). It is clean, fairly average and has all the basics that you might need for a stay. BUT due to its location / proximity to the town, it makes it a little uncomfortable to go outside and take a walk. The town is a fishing town and is a poor area, so we did not feel safe taking a walk, which is a shame. The hotel has a pool on the rooftop, part way up the side of the hotel, which has a infinity style, with great views over the sea and at sunset. The food is hit or miss. I had the lamb, and had to return it twice and then choose something else as they could not cook it without leaving the lamb bloody and raw. The burger was nice though. Food and drink were pricey for the location and what they were, and the staff we "ok". We were upgraded on our first part of our stay here to the "Premium" Sea View (so higher floor number), but the bath/shower facility was terrible and very dangerous. You had to step up and in to a slightly raised bath, but obviously then step down when you were wet, onto a bigger drop and slippery floor, was a crazy idea. Our second part of the trip and stay here, fortunately we were not upgraded (lower floor sea view) and this room worked much better for us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
andy.karla wrote a review May 2020
Ottawa, Canada1185 contributions496 helpful votes
+1
As Marriott Bonvoy Platinum members we were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the harbor on arrival which also included complimentary breakfast. The check-in desk is located on the 2nd floor and requires either an elevator or the escalator to reach. The room was clean and simply furnished for a junior suite which was similar in size to a regular hotel room but had the added use of a small couch in a separate area overlooking the harbor. It would probably not be worth the cost to pay for a junior suite over a regular room, however is was suitable as a complimentary upgrade. The Hotel is attached to a Mall which requires a key card to re-enter the hotel. The shops in the mall and nearby streets mostly cater to local needs – Handy if you wish to purchase a few beers or snacks We found the staffs attentive and helpful and a short one night stay here suited our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Nilla S wrote a review Apr 2020
Madrid, Spain17 contributions17 helpful votes
A nice and clean hotel with an amazing pool from which you can enjoy the sunset. Would not recommend the restaurant though, the meat was so hard to chew and the dessert not worth the money. The breakfast buffet is very Asian, which is understandable, after all, we are in Asia, so don´t expect anything more western than roasted bread. Not even hot milk to make yourself a latte.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cjohnstone97 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom45 contributions41 helpful votes
This hotel is situated by the sea in central Sandakan. The staff were all very good but the hotel suffers from its location as the town is very rundown. The hotel needs a thorough refurbishment. Although we had a sea view the windows were very dirty. The bedding although clean need replacement as the valance was torn in several places. And who thinks it is a good idea to have a picture window between the bathroom and the bedroom? Yes there was a blind but it was not ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FourPointsBSSandakan, MarComm Coordinator at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Dear @cjohnstone97, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our guests. However, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced during your recent stay which did not meet your expectations. We truly valued your honest feedback about the hotel, because we believe this create opportunity for us to understand guest perspective and for us to find ways to improve. Rest assure our team here had been notified about this matter and definitely execute the plan for improvement. While we understand that the experience you had did not meet your expectation, we hope you will consider giving us another chance to serve you should your travels bring you back to Sandakan. Sandakan Regards, Nur Shahzani A.
Read more
Garry G wrote a review Mar 2020
Dinnington, United Kingdom50 contributions30 helpful votes
The four points hotel was ok but not brilliant. Situated very close to the harbour in Sandakan, the location was fine, in a really run down town. Bed was comfortable, but take care not to move any items of furniture. I moved the bedside cabinet and found inches of dust and what looked like toe nail clippings. The pool on the 13th floor looks great with the infinity view across the sea. Service at the poolside bar was patchy, lots of staff wandering about but few doing anything. We used a local taxi to go to orang utang sanctuary, sun bears, hibiscus monkeys and also to the rainforest river boat, all very good and well worth the visit. It shut down the day we checked out due to covid19, god knows what it will be like when it re-opens.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from FourPointsBSSandakan, MarComm Coordinator at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear @525garryg, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our guests. Thus, we are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us this recently. Please note that your review has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to understand guest perspective and for us to find ways to improve also to deliver great experiences in the future. Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan and we look forward to welcoming you again for more great experiences here whenever your travels bring you back to Sandakan. Sandakan Regards, Nur Shahzani A.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahSandakan DivisionSandakan
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Which popular attractions are close to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Nearby attractions include Agnes Newton Keith Home (0.7 km), The Parish of St Michael and All Angels (0.8 km), and Sandakan Heritage Trail (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Balin Roof Garden Bar & Bistro, English Tea House & Restaurant, and My Harbour Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sandakan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.