We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Central Hotel Sandakan

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Central Hotel Sandakan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Sandakan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 36: English reviews
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 September 2014

1.rude staff NO SMILE ,NO POLITE WORD ,HIGH TONE VOICE,NO THANK YOU. 2.as malaysian.THIS A SHAMED 3.room review : NO LOCK,NO TOILET LOCK. 4.went we check in there is use tissu,hair,spider web you name it. under the bed. 5.there is a hole in our room( rat hole maybe) 6.even the cleaner is friendly then the front dest staff. 7.NOT EVEN...

4Thank Izzatulaini1811
Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

1.even the cleaner are friendly then the reception,no smile,no thank you,even speak in rude tone.hope the manager well know about this.especially the female staff.don't know why? 2.hotel are old,if you look from outside the hotel look new,but the room are very old. 3.no even a mirror in the room.which is weird. 4.super3x small room.smell really bad.bed sheet,towel,everything!! 5.there even a...

Thank Izzatulaini
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sandakan does not have a lot to offer. People go there to go to places nearby like sepilok´s orangutan sanctuary and the rainforest discovery center. So the best location in town is near the bus station and that is why i chose central hotel. It is right by the bus station and from there you can take a bus for...

1Thank Sveinn H
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel in right in middle of town,reception is helpful with tours and other interesting places but information is not very accurate in taxi fare and distance. Room is basic and size acceptable for what I paid USD 23 no breakfast,but bit run down, door ledge broken which is important for safety, bathroom knob loose, plug point no power, no wardrobe...

2Thank nyms43
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The best part of this hotel is its location right in the Sandakan town centre. It is a small inn, rather than any star-rated hotel. Basically, you got what you paid for and do not expect luxurious services or furnishing. We paid approximately RM75.00 per night and got what we wanted. The corridor leading to rooms is a bit weird...

1Thank xijiayu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is a basic hotel which was fit for purpose. A reasonably priced hotel which offered just what I wanted; basic accomodation, clean, secure and quiet. Air conditioning was good, water heater and water pressure was good, staff were friendly and nice. The best thing about the hotel is its location, right in the center of town, convenient and easy...

2Thank Jay S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

It's down by the harbour, the rooms are small but clean, the staff are very friendly abd helpful and it's not expensive. Not a bad place to stay if you just want a bed and an en suite bathroom and no frills.

1Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 July 2013

It was small but cosy enough for 2 people. Very affordable stay for those on a tight budget. The wet market is nearby where you are able to buy what you need. Food is available at nearby coffee shop. Banks ATM are around the area. On Sundays, the road in front of the hotel become a market with all sorts...

Thank bert210853
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Very easy to locate even for the 1st visit. The room was quiet spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, i was a bit sad to find my room was not clean after came back from a tiring visits to nearby attractions. Other than that, everything was perfect!

Thank ReniCacilliaPolus
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear ReniCacilliaPolus, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Just because of the key card issue, they could not get any technical person to fix and the manager does not seem to be qualified for hotel industry where she allows guest waited for 2 hours telling her staffs over the phone she has dinner to attend.....staffs know I am very angry but I do not blame them because as...

1Thank Poseidon74SC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Poseidon74SC, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (36)
Bathroom (3)
View from Room (5)
Room/Suite (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
1.9 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
38 reviews
0.1 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
22 reviews
2.9 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
62 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel City View
Hotel City View
#30 of 32 in Sandakan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Central Hotel Sandakan

Address: Lot 5A-B 6a-B Block 24 Jalan Lebuh 2, Sandakan 90307, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: €12 - €16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel Sandakan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Central Hotel Sandakan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room with no window”
stevemayhead, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“forget about it..”
NgXinKhai, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“deluxe room is with front view”
nyms43, 30 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms are clean, secure and fit for purpose. Bathroom has a basic shower facility which is clean and neat. Get a room that faces the main road, you would be able to observe the traffic conditions and get a good view of the shops. Try to get a room on the hogher floor (i.e. 4th floor).”
  • Nice and clear view from room window
Jay_KualaLumpur, 25 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Room higher up is less noisy”
bert210853, 16 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates