We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Stockholm
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Nabistul who runs this budget hotel makes the whole experience. She can help you find whatever you are looking for. She knows her way around the area and she really wants you to like your trip to Sandakan. We followed her on the trip to water willage and she has her own little twist on it compered to others. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maajja
Sablayan, Philippines
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Me and my brother stayed here for a few days and it was really comfy, easy and relaxed. Staff was friendly and helped us book a trip to Kinabatangan River. They have a really nice place on the top floor where you can hang out and read and drink some coffee or eat their secret recipe pancakes Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian P
Linapacan, Philippines
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our stay here started off with a very warm welcome from its owner, who likes to chat with guests in the lobby and make sure everything is perfect. The guitar hanging on the lobby wall was put to great use numerous times and made us feel just right at home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenax
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly - though the owner can be a bit pushy with her tours. Wifi was up and down. TV didn't really have any reception. We had a private ensuite room and it was really disappointing - mostly because it was filthy. The drainage grill in the bathroom was full of hairs, there were 2 used (and I mean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Grant_UK
NabistulMislia, Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Our Valued Guests, It was rather unfortunate that you both did not enjoy your stay at Sea View Hostel. We thank you for the feedback and we have acted accordingly. . We had a small problem with our contract cleaners and we have now found a new company to undertake the contract. If you had come to us and reported...

Reviewed 30 April 2014

First of all, we had one of the best experience of our lives at this hostel. But i am not going to mention it het but i am gooing to give you all the tings you need to know. The place : Situated in the center of town For a budget the place is verry clean especially for Sandakan norms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrbievers
Worms, Germany
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and me stayed at Sea View for two nights first and then came back after a trip to Mabul Island. Nabistul, the owner, and the rest of the staff was really nice and welcoming. Our room was basic, but alright for the price. The food was great ! We appreciated the free pancake in the morning a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AisyahvanHouten
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hostel for a few nights and it was a great experience. We received a warm welcome from the owner and she told us all we needed to know about the area and excursions. We went on a river and firefly tour and it was beautiful to see the landscape and animals during sunset....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danyandjosh
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was travelling with 3 friends, and we only needed a place for one night so we booked the sea view. I was surprised at how good the place was for the price. Seaview was fine, conveniently located and easy to find (just look for the four seasons next door). All of the staff were really friendly. The receptionist gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spikeyspikey
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Sea view must be the best place to stay for backpackers in Sandakan! Nabistol the manager makes sure your stay is full of options, no hassle and with a warm heart. Her knowledge and advice is also key. She runs her own adapted tours which are like no others: we did the Fireflies and river cruise the second day. About...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichGill31
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Awesome river cruise and tasteful local homemade potato plus the pumpkin curry for dinner is so delicious. Staff are very nice and helpful. Fast n free Wifi. Worthwhile unforgettable experience to spend my time & as present for my coming birthday hehe..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodeyagut

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.2 km away
Sabah Hotel
Sabah Hotel
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
490 reviews
2.3 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
122 reviews
0.4 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
312 reviews
5.5 km away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm and views of Sulu Sea can be enjoyed at Sea View Sandakan Budget and Backpackers Hotel. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with traditional banana fritters and a drink. Perfectly located in the heart of Sandakan Town, Sea View is on the waterfront opposite the Central Market and within walking distance of banks, ATMs, currency exchange booths, tourist attractions, convenience stores, malls and local transportation. The second largest city in Sabah, Sandakan is known as a seafood haven and a gateway to many tourist attractions. Tour packages to Sepilok Orang-utan Rehabilitation Centre, Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary, Stilt House Water Village, Selingan Turtle Island Park, Kinabatangan River Cruise and Goamantong Cave can be organised through our onsite tour operator. We can also provide advice on local attractions. We have FREE WiFi, FREE traditional pancake breakfast, FREE welcome drink with traditional banana fritters, FREE towels, FREE travel and tour information, FREE lockers, book exchange, showers and a common room. Guest Facilities: For a small charge we can provide Malaysian cooking lessons using traditional family recipes (subject to chef’s availability), laundry service, foot & arm reflexology, tea & coffee making, kitchen use, printing/scanning, luggage storage and we also have a motorcycle. We can provide room service on request from our onsite restaurant which specialises in traditional family pancakes but also serves local cuisine, fresh seafood dishes and both vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals are available. Late breakfast is available and the kitchen can provide packed lunches upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Address: Lot 126, Harbour Square 14 Jalan Dua | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: €10 - €14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have wifi. Some rooms, however, have racks with the owner's drying laundry.”
 of 5 bubbles 192marav, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The double room with private bathroom and air conditioner was a great choice.”
 of 5 bubbles meagan142, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Just remember it's a hostel -don't go with very high expectations. Staff should be able to assist you should you need it, some staff at hotel are very nice and others may need a few things explained a few times as things can get lost in translation.”
 of 5 bubbles Asia85B, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“No windows on some rooms with AC. but the AC runs nicely and not to cold.”
 of 5 bubbles VanessaT291, 12 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Don't forget to try Nabistul's home made pancakes!”
 of 5 bubbles 279lucym, 1 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay