We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp

Traveller (260)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (23)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Award winning Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp is renowned for its outstanding quality of accommodation and service for over 25 years. Located in Tsavo National Park, the camp is a unique safari retreat in the true African wilderness with views of Mount Kilimanjaro and Chyulu Hills Relax in your private suite or by the pool, as you watch the resident Hippo pods wallow in the natural spring-pools that flow through the camp. Savour some of the many culinary delights on our fine-dining and à la-carte menus, or take full advantage of the range of activities and facilities we offer, from our renowned bird spotting experiences to private Game Drives.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Contact
Taita Taveta County, Tsavo National Park West 00506 Kenya
Getting there
Amboseli Airport81 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
190Reviews
297Photos
7Q+A
32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 9
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The lodge is beautiful, the food and wines are excellent, and the staff always went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The safari part was a disappointment with very limited game viewing, no big cats, only one elephant in 3 days, limited variety of birds... apparently
Read more
Response from FinchHattons, Guest Relations Manager at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and review on your stay with us. Our entire team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food & beverage offering, rooms and our commitment to excellent service. We regret that you did not see as much wildlife as you had hoped for and unfortunately, whilst we do our best to provide quality wildlife viewing for all our guests, this is sometimes beyond our control. We make every effort to advise our guests that insects prevail in the wild and are sometimes seasonal. Although we can not control these, we do brief our guests both verbally and in writing on precautions they may take and provide necessary repellents in rooms, vehicles and public areas, where required. Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and wish you a Happy New Year!
Read more
Just back from Africa, our stay with Finch Hattons was great! They were not very busy when we were there last week, with only a couple other groups there. We stayed 4 nights. The room was great, right on the fresh spring pond, there were resident crocodiles, hippos and many
Read more
Response from FinchHattons, Public Relations Manager at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 10 Dec 2018
Thank you so much for the kind words! We loved having you around. We await your arrival again!
Read more
Jambo! Finch Hatton's exceeds ratings and hosts you as if you are part of their family. Going on safari in Kenya is something everyone should do to see and appreciate nature as it should be. Staying at Finch Hatton's and enjoying the Finch Hatton's experience needs to be at the
Read more
Response from FinchHattons, Public Relations Manager at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 29 Nov 2018
Hello Dane! Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. At Finch Hattons, we aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
+21
Where do I even begin? Finch Hattons is a true gem in Tsavo and an absolute must for any traveler hoping to experience luxury in the jungle. If you are on the fence about booking, don't hesitate - BOOK NOW! My husband and I recently visited during our trip to Kenya and we never
Read more
Response from FinchHattons, Public Relations Manager at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 29 Nov 2018
We appreciate your positive feedback about your stay in Finch Hattons. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. Looking forward to having you again as a guest!
Read more
From the moment you are greeted you know that the management have worked for years on their service levels, they really know how to look after their guests. The location is beautiful, the food is incredible given the location and the rooms of an extremely high standard with
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from FinchHattons, Public Relations Manager at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 29 Nov 2018
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing Finch Hattons! Our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
LION KING & QUEEN
Blick von Terrasse
Zelt bei Nacht
elektronische Anschlüsse im Zelt
Waschbereich im Zelt
PreviousNext
12345613
Hi,can one drive from Nairobi to Finch Hattons Camp using a 2 wheel drive car?
Good Day Cliffton, This would be depend on the season which you would be travelling. The roads are generally passable during the dry season.
0 votes
Hello, Gamedrives are included in the rates. Basically, there are two game drives per day; morning and afternoon. However, there are other optional activties which come at an extra cost eg..night game drives, crater hikes, nature walks.
0 votes
Yes, they are see through unless they have recently changed them. Not really unusual for the African Lodges, as we have stayed in several that were designed this way. That said, I would love to see them offer more privacy.
1 vote
Hi - How long is the drive from Finch Hattons to Chyulu Hills? Thanks.
Hello, To be exact, the distance from Finch Hattons to Chyulu Hills is 22km - an hour-long drive. Welcome to Finch Hattons
1 vote
Show all answers
Rohan has a good selection of light weight clothing that has insecticide in it. Had no problems at finch Hatton but reccomended long trousers and cover the arms in the evening. No problems in the tents. Even g dress casual but cover up . Was only bitten around the ankles when had breakfast in the bush but had no problems.
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"We had room 6 and 7 both great."
"All rooms are luxurious and give you privacy as they're separated from one another unlike some camps."
"Book the Finch Hattons Suite (it has a private pool!)"
"The further rooms are more of an adventure when being walked home in the evening"
"The rooms closest to the reception facing the lake"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$1,470 - US$2,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
finch hattons safari camp hotel tsavo national park west
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tsavo Safari Camp (Finch Hattons)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceTsavo National Park West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing