We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Hill Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Hill Resort
 Click to rate
Jyväskylä
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A good location from which it was easy to visit the various destinations. The room was basic and relatively clean, but a little worn. Breakfast and the pool were excellent. Great view! Very friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjaana G
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During our 1-month trip in Thailand with my girlfriend we stopped by Sunset Hell. We booked a Garden View room and we met friends in the shuttle who booked Sea View room so I'm gonna speak about both situations as we spent some time with them. I travel every month and never lived such a hell in any other hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guil F
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you don't have a motorbike, climbing the hill may become a little workout, but otherwise you wouldn't get these amazing sunset views, right? :) the bathroom was a bit too dark, except that I liked everything about this hotel, and especially very helpful staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petro K
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Petro for your 5 star review! We will make sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. Also, thank you for your comments about the bathroom lights. This is easy to fix and we have already replaced the bulb with a higher wattage so the next guest does not have the same issue. Come back again anytime!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let's get rid of the not soo good stuff first: 1. The shower was really weak at the warm water. 2. The drainage of the water did not work and I stood in a little pool while showering each day. 3. The smell was really fishy at the bathroom the first 3 days of my stay..then I think maintenance did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grodan2013
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Hi Grodan, We always appreciate well articulated honest reviews. It pleases us that you did enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for clearly letting us know about the issues you had. We will have our team look into these so that the next guest will not have the same issues. We hope to see you again some...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room did not meet our expectations. The bathroom was moldy and paint was falling off of ceiling. Felt dirty. The staff was exceptionally nice. The outside of the facility was nice looking. The yoga room was very dirty and dusty

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4114QQdianem
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

It is regretful that we did not meet your expectations but we do appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments. We have already addressed these issues with our maintenance department and they are working on renovations now. We apologize that this was not done before your arrival. As for the yoga room, we are still working on...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a week stay at Sunset Hill, we had room Rose 04, Grand Sea View Junior suite, for some reason I was thinking the room had the panoramic view and more windows, perhaps the information on the website is not too clear, our room was lovely though and very spacious with an amazing sea view, smelt nice with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservation Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Lynn for all the great comments as well as some constructive criticism. The room you were in does in face have a panoramic sea view (180^). We apologize if for some reason you thought is would be 360^ but this is not possible as the island is small, but not that small. We have address the bathroom issues with...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is great and the view during sunset amazing. The staff has excellent customer orientated attitude and makes you feel very welcome and supported in all matters. Be ware that the hotel is located 10km away from the city with not too many options of reataurants and shops arround. But if you are looking for quiet place to rest...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservatiosn Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your wonderful review and have let our staff know that you appreciated their attentiveness. As for restaurants, we have an excellent on-site restaurant as well as many of the top places to eat on trip advisor all within a 10 - 20 minute walk (most within 2km). The hill is steep, but all hotel guests can take advantage...

Hoganas, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice resort with an excellent view from above! Our two-bedroom apartment with rooftop terrace was great for our family and we had an althrough lovely month! Sweet & helpful service, good restaurant with affordable prices and a beautiful pool area. Free wifi that worked fine. It's a steep hill from the main road but if you don't have any...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariannehofvendahl
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Marianne for the amazing review. It was lovely having you and your family stay with us and we hope to see you again next year :)

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived a day late because I missed the last boat from ko samui . I arrived at twelve and they very kindly offered me a late breakfast , my room was very nice, beautiful view , although the bed linen didn't feel as if it had been freshly cleaned . The people working in the restaurant were very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doralexploratrice77
SunsetHill_Resort, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely regret you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We always try to do our best to go above and beyond to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. As you noted in your comments, we had already cleared breakfast when you arrived, but the manager made a very special exception for you and made sure you...

Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunset Hill resort would be a great hotel if it wasn't located so high up a hill. Taxi/car/moped is a must if looking to explore the surrounding areas. The rooms are large and had nice balconies. The staff were pleasant enough but were not resourceful, and housekeeping do the basic minimum...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bisrat M
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

It is regretful to us that you found our staff were not resourceful. We usually only have good reviews about staff so this is quite surprising to us. If you could send us more details we can try to address this matter. As for the hill, we are located high up, which is what allows us to offer such amazing...

777 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
4:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Garden View Studio (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Studio (47)
Viewed
Grand Sea View Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
10.0 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
595 reviews
15.8 km away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
584 reviews
15.2 km away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,294 reviews
14.6 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.3 km away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: €52 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
  • Hospital looking room
  • Dirty ground
 of 5 bubbles 58guilf, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in RO1, view was excellent. It was above the restaurant but we were never disturbed by any noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Rose105, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rose building has the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 438sp, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on ground floor. Probably worth a bit more to stay in room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles joanna1743, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the ocean, it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles SoeradjR, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5