We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Houben Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Houben Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
Mountain View, California
Reviewed 23 January 2017

After the long journey from Krabi Airport to The Houben, all of which was organized by the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly staff member. Check in was really efficient and there was an individual who took our bags up the several flights of stairs in the heat to make it easier for us. The room itself was amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sa062705
Reviewed 22 January 2017

My wife and I chose to spend Christmas and NY 2016 here. We'd visited the Houben three years prior on a whim with some friends for a few days, and had such a good time that, when the opportunity to have a long stay in Thailand presented itself, this was our top choice. This boutique hotel sits atop a cliff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jake C
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jake C, First of all thank you very much for your kind returning to our small hotel again . Thank you for all your kind words regarding to our hotel itself , our team , and our service . Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our services, and we hope to welcome you back again in the...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We give our best recommendation to the hotel and the staff working at The Houben. Peaceful, relaxing and great hospitality. The rooms I must say were much nicer in reality than illustrated on the pictures, the hotel facility in general as well. If you ever go to Ko Lanta south, stay at The Houben!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders N
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anders N , Thank you for your compliment and your recommendation to our future guests . Please let us know your returning plan to Ko Lanta , you are the most welcome to the Houben Hotel . Sincerely yours , Walter Houben

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We escaped from Ko Krahdan (see my review of where we stayed and knew there was also a storm coming so moved to Ko Lanta). We Booked four nights at the last minute, arriving wet and bedraggled and were greeted by the owner. There are only something like 15 rooms, so it's an intimate experience. All of the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrian H
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian H , Thank you for your review and its really good that you had a fantastic stay with us . We put our home style food in our kitchen , most of our ingredients was made by ourselves . Shana and our F&B Team , they are a passionate about food and cooking . Thank you for your...

Corbetta, Italy
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We spent 6 days in this amaizing hotel. During this stay I married Lorenzo and all the organization WAS PERFECT! We thank Hathaithip, Walter, Shana, Yindee and all staff for your kindness, organization and support before and during our stay in The Houben and for our wedding. Rooms are large and with all comforts, high quality of breakfast and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraBosca
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LauraBosca , We are feeling very overwhelmed when you were happy and it was perfect wedding for you .Thank you for choosing our small hotel and thank you for all your mentioned to our team . They worked hard to be ensure that you would have a wonderful experience with us , and you had it . Please let...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

What we were looking for in Koh Lanta was an unforgettable experience full of joy and relax in the best possible place, forgetting for once about the price. Based on the previous reviews and the place unique characteristics, we bet for The Houben. Unfortunately we wouldn't return and we definitely not recommend to spend a good money in such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apb1990
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear apb1990 , Thank you for your comments and apologies for the dissatisfaction caused. However from our record, our driver was 7 minutes and actually you had arrived at the Houben almost as scheduled. We truly are sorry that there was an error regards to your name on board. Re: Our Staff In House & Your Complaint, Our staff whom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the two small villas on the hotel premises at the end of the rainy season when the village was slightly quieter. We really loved the spacious room, the private back balcony with a jacuzzi, the hotel pool and the view from the premises. The staff was friendly and it was only a short walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heikki Y
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heikki Y, Thank you for your staying with us and for your review . Our satisfaction to make you enjoy staying with us. For your future plan to return and should you need further information, please feel free to contact us directly anytime . You're the most welcome to the Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta . Warm Regards, Walter...

Heerenveen
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This boutique hotel has stolen our heart! The sincere hospitality of the staff, the amazing food, high service standard,beautiful rooms and perfect location made us extend our holiday twice. Without a doubt the best place to stay at Ko Lanta. Don't hesitate, book The Houben!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fvanderpas
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fvanderpas , Thank you very much for your kind review .Creating a home away from home feeling is our mission . Very appreciate to hear that you felt that during your stay . Should you need any further information , concerned to the future returning plan , please feel free to contact us directly anytime . Warm Regards, Walter...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

A truely great place to relax and get away from it all. The staff, the restaurant, the whole experience was really great. From the front desk to the owners we could not have wanted any extra attention

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulRG1964
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PaulRG1964 , Thank you for your review us regarding your stay at our hotel . Thank you for your kind mentioned to our team , the restaurant , as well owner ;) could make you feel great . Looking forward for your returning to our small hotel . Best Regards, Walter Houben

New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Located on the southern part of the island within walking distance to Kantiang Bay and an abundance of some great local restaurants and bars. The property itself and the staff are beyond accommodating. We stayed here for three nights in an an ocean view room with breakfast included. Our room was super chic, clean, and offered an unobstructed view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheniti

854 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (692)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (216)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Privilege Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
12.9 km away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,392 reviews
16.3 km away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
691 reviews
0.3 km away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
0.9 km away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,022 reviews
17.0 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Price Range: €68 - €352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Houben Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Houben Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's worth spending a few dollars more to get a higher level room. Great views of the ocean.”
bgreer0000, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get to know Shana, she's great!!”
R7793GMpatrickh, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you struggle with steps then book a ground floor room, these lead directly onto the swimming pool area.”
Diane/Chris Johnson , 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor, Deluxe suite”
jakec573, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
109andersn, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5