We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Houben Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Start your review of The Houben Hotel
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

At the Houben every detail has been thought of and executed with perfection, that European standard. It is a sexy, quiet oasis set on the cliffs above the Andaman Sea. The staff is attentive and friendly, especially the Guest Service Agent, Shana, she sets a lovely tone. Because the food was so delicious my Wife and I ate there almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYSue1025
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing stay at The Houben Hotel. Shana, the hostess and the staff were vert friendly and helpfull. They helped us organizing our snorkeling trip to Koh Rok and Ko Haa (which was tunning) and also arranged transport to our next destination. Our room was very beautiful, great seaview from the jacuzzi. Also, superb cleanliness with twice a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wout D
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and myself spent a week at this gem of a hotel in December 2016. Situated on a cliff overlooking several well known diving locations - Ko Ha and Ko Rok - the sunsets are spectacular. The hotel is minutes away from a small but bustling town with plenty of bars and restaurants. The beach is also nearby -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimDino
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. A big part of why we choose this place was the reviews. Unfortunately our experience was just good. Our view was terrible, literally a tin roof. Some of the staff was nice, some were not and hung up rudely on my wife. The breakfast was quite good, once. The rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve76_1998
Walter H, Manager at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve76_1998 , Due to i was on duty so please allow me take this action instead of Mr. Houben . Firstly , please accept our apology if our hotel was just OK for you and thank you for your comments. May I please take this opportunity to clarify some points. According to the record, your booking was the last...

Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved our stay at The Houben! My wife and I came to Koh Lanta on our honeymoon and could not have been more happy with our visit. The staff was so friendly and welcoming, and we especially enjoyed chatting with Shana who was so much fun! The sunset views every night were superb and they can be taken in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick H
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick H , Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip advisor . We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay and our staff member made you had more fun . Your stay was during the beautiful sunset and its really superb as you mentioned . Thank you for your promise to be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arriving at the hotel we were made very welcome, our cases were taken to our rooms for us. It is situated about a 5 min walk from the beach and all the bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is set in amazing surroundings and the staff can not do enough for you. Shana especially made us feel very welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane/Chris Johnson
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane/Chris Johnson , Thank you for sharing your review of our hospitality . We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and our service standards. We are pleased that our staff made your stay exceed your expectation . Thank you for choosing to stay at The Houben Hotel . We hope to welcome you back...

Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great location at the quieter southern end of Ko Lanta but still just a short walk to good value for money restaurants and bars in Kangtiang bay. Very modern design, large rooms all have sea view. Kept spotlessly clean by hardworking very friendly staff. Maybe a couple of extra sun beds around the pool would be good at peak times...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trevorf28
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trevorf28 , Thank you for your kind feed back after your recent stay at our small hotel .Thank you very much for your valued feed back as well thank you for your raised our breakfast to be excellent . Please let us know your returning plan to Koh lanta , you are the most welcome to our small hotel...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

The Houben is situated in a beautifully quiet area of Ko Lanta, and is the perfect place to relax or to explore this magnificent island. The sunset views over the pool and ocean are amazing. I highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe S , Thank you for your recent stay , your review and your kind recommendation us . Please let us know your future traveling plan if you'd like to return to Koh Lanta , you are the most welcome to the Houben Hotel . Sincerely yours , Walter Houben

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for three nights at the Houben with my bf. Located in the nicer, less developed and more beautiful southern part of Ko Lanta, the Houben feels like a zen retreat. The minute we entered the premises we felt we were treated with graciousness and professionalism. There was a sense of letting go of stress and cares and being taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AES305
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AES305 , Thank you for your recent stay and your beautiful review . Our vision of 15 rooms built at our property because we would like our guests feel own the place , and you felt it . Thank you very much for your kind recommendation us to all the readers . Please let us know your future plan...

Paphos
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Everybody can find fault with any hotel, restaurant etc and knock 1 or 2 stars off and yes the Houben did have some small faults but I like to ask myself the question - did they spoil my holiday & the answer is a resounding NO. I then ask myself what is it that I like about the Houben &...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barry W
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry W , Thank you for your review . You were so kind and generous . Thank you very very much for your liked to our hotel , and your kind mentioned to our team . They were happy now when they know now how much you were happy at here . Please let us know your returning plan...

848 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (686)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Privilege Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
12.9 km away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,364 reviews
16.3 km away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
670 reviews
12.6 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
303 reviews
0.9 km away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,989 reviews
17.0 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Price Range: €74 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Houben Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Houben Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get to know Shana, she's great!!”
 of 5 bubbles R7793GMpatrickh, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you struggle with steps then book a ground floor room, these lead directly onto the swimming pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles Diane/Chris Johnson , 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor, Deluxe suite”
 of 5 bubbles jakec573, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 109andersn, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great views and excellent service, well worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles 245adrianh, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5