We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Retreat
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 24 June 2015

I went there with my family and we all loved the cottages. Very cosy and was the perfect place for a family. The location is beautiful. Value for money. We spent a lot of time on the hammocks and the view from the resort is very refreshing. :D

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Namyy
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank You for sharing your comments on Royal Retreat with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate the effort taken to pen down on Your time spend with us. We are pleased to know that You have really enjoyed Your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome You again at Royal Retreat Manager. Guest relations

Pune, India
Reviewed 28 May 2015

This resort is a lovely place to stay. It has a very beautiful flower & vegetable garden to enjoy which one misses out in the metro cities. Royal retreat also has a close proximity to the main town which helps the travelers to enjoy shopping in the hill town. The Hotel staff is well behaved and the food quality is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saurav008
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We are glad to note that You had A great stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time take by You to review our Property on Tripadvisor. Your kind words motivate us to strive hard to make stay at Royal retreat more enjoyable Manager Customer relations

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Overpriced room for what you got. Musty bathroom and dirty sheets that didn't cover the mattress, in a small room. The resort restaurant served very average food, and un-stomach-able sweetened toast and salty eggs. It had a nice garden and an alright location, however I would suggest booking at a different location slightly out of Munnar. You cannot call this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RupertTravis
Pune, India
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Munnar is a beautiful place and Royal retreat a small and cosy property on the Main road.They lack professional approach in terms of handling bookings etc and that again reiterates my stand of preferring a reputed chain of Hotels rather than small hotels to avoid such incidents.I contacted them through the website as I wanted some hotel close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MujibKhan
Mumbai
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during December 2014. I paid around Rs 5300/- per night. All 4 days TV was not working. There were only 2 staff for food service and they were mainly catering to a group of foreigners who had come for cycle expedition. Overall staff was humble. One can get same room for half...

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abhijit M
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

We travelled south india for three weeks and stayed in a couple of homestays and hotels. The royal retreat was the most expensive hotel we booked during that time (more than twice as expensive as the others) but we got less than during our other stayes. Positive: the room was clean and breakfast ok Negative: bathroom was dirty. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fabian B
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Went here because it was described as reliable (or something similar) by a guidebook. It must have changed ownership or just be milking it's previous glory because it was poor, and very overpirced. Cockroaches, hot water and electricity restricted to certain hours. It may have been due to some sort of refurbishment, but if not then it really has gone...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ptownp
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest, we are very much sorry for the inconvenience you come across our Hotel, as i said in one of my responses, normal hotel tariff in Munnar range from 2500-5000, the same is our current room rate Rs. 2500/- + taxes at the same time you can find lot of hotel rooms in metro cities below this tariff. climate...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Good hotel, clean and quiet. The rooms are large and the staff is very kind and very helpfull. Nice garden, full of flowers. Close to the KSRTC bus station and the DTPC tourist information. Sandrine & Nicolas

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sandrine E
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest thank you very much for the appreciation given to our hotel, it will encourage our act of giving services to the guest in a higher level.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 27 December 2014

The Hotel is not worth the price is it offered.... Washrooms are below average and smelly.... Leakage in washrooms ... Room size is Good ... But with smelly washrooms attached, it is of no use.....I will not recommend anybody this hotel ... Rooms are not as per standards....and Room tariff is too high compared to the level of Hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BagPacker2012
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Sorry We can't identify the guest who claim that he stayed with us. We have made complaint on TripAdvisor this issue of attack from competitor but of no use. So we are explaining the same for general public who is reading the reviews

AUSTRALIA
Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

was booked in here for 2 nites but upon looking at the room decided to look elsewhere. the bed felt damp. the sheets were stained and not clean. the manager i did not like very pushy. short fat guy. ithey gave me anothr room but the sheets still felt damp. the manager wld not let me go to another hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KOORAWATHA
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest, i am very sorry to get such a terrible response from one of our guest. first of all i am the person who represent the hotel for taking your booking. after getting the first confirmation from your side we sent you the details for online payment and you sent the payments immediately using your credit card. after one...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#16 of 94 in Munnar
668 reviews
0.2 km away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#17 of 94 in Munnar
455 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Emerald Inn
Hotel Emerald Inn
#62 of 94 in Munnar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#66 of 94 in Munnar
117 reviews
0.7 km away
Seven Springs Plantation Resort
0.7 km away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Price Range: €42 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New Delhi, Delhi, India
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive suite rooms are very good and spacious”
  • Executive suite room
 of 5 bubbles atfelr, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This property has 16 rooms, 11 on ground floor and 5 on first floor. Choose the rooms on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Krishnendu_Saha, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Take the cottages with the open water body next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles Namyy, 24 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go for this one people if you wish to have a simple yet soothing stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Aditi_Rghuwanshi, 9 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor garden facing should be opted for.”
 of 5 bubbles Lipichat, 29 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5