We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/1/2018 29/1/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

    On the side road next to Roland Hardware | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay, Roatan 00000, Honduras
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/1/2018 29/1/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    View Deal
    Traveller (108)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Pool & Beach (21)
    • Excellent74%
    • Very good19%
    • Average4%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “dorm room” (9 reviews)
    “lizard lounge” (7 reviews)
    “west end” (76 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Laundry Service
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (249)
    There are newer reviews for Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    11 - 15 of 229 reviews

    Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

    We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our 7 week Central American trip. Mel is a fantastic host, she is always available if you require anything (even prior to arriving) She has numerous suggestions, tips and advice when you arrive. If...More

    Thank melissajjjjj
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 6 December 2017

    Thanks for your review- I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for all the positive feedback. Sorry to hear by neighbour's cat decided to serenade you! I think she was lonely as my neighbour was away for the week- hopefully she stays home from here...More

    Reviewed 3 December 2017

    We don't usually stay in hostels but we needed a place for one night and the website looked good so we booked a room with private bathroom. Unfortunately there was some confusion and we ended up sharing it which was fine, too. I used the...More

    Thank Nadine S
    Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

    We have the greatest time staying here and love feeling at home around the hostel! Our preteen son loved hanging out with the hostel boys, Auri & Deo. Safety is always a travelers concern and I felt safe staying at the hostel and never a...More

    Thank Melinda R
    Reviewed 16 November 2017

    I stayed at the Roatan Backpacker’s Hostel for about a week in late October, 2017. It boasts a quiet sanctuary away from the noisy bustle of West End and West Bay. Mel is a wonderful woman who made sure I had everything I needed the...More

    Thank adventureswithboss
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 18 November 2017

    Hi Ryan, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but very sorry for the theft of your cell phone and debit card (you didn't mention that your card was also gone!). I really don't have any idea how it could have happened, as you reported that...More

    Reviewed 13 November 2017

    We stayed for a month. There are accommodations for every traveller and budget. The owner is on-site and communication is great. Wifi is great and the rooms are clean. The showers in the dorms are cleaned daily; moreover, the communal kitchen is too. Great location...More

    Thank Joseph C
    Response from hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' HostelResponded 15 November 2017

    Thanks so much, Joseph. It was really wonderful getting to know you guys, hope we'll see you again in the future! Mel

    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersGold level
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Price range
    • US$22 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roatan Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Honduras >
    • Bay Islands >
    • Roatan >
    • Sandy Bay
    • Also Known As
    • Roatan Backpackers' Hostel Honduras - Bay Islands
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (108)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Pool & Beach (21)
    Dining (14)
    Hotel & Grounds (97)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Roatan
    Anthony's Key Resort
    1,168 reviews
    .47 km away
    Blue Bahia Resort
    217 reviews
    1.16 km away
    Mayoka Boutique Hotel
    216 reviews
    1.24 km away
    Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
    548 reviews
    1.29 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blue Bahia Beach Grill
    413 reviews
    1.17 km away
    The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant
    173 reviews
    1.28 km away
    La Dolce Vita Ristorante at Mayoka
    40 reviews
    1.23 km away
    Papa Bone's Pizza
    23 reviews
    1.32 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
    250 reviews
    .66 km away
    Sandy Bay Beach
    135 reviews
    1.24 km away
    Octopus Dive School
    297 reviews
    1.17 km away
    Dolphin Encounter
    191 reviews
    .83 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Roatan Backpackers' Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "The CanDo is comfy, novel, and out of the way."
    Read review
    "From dorm to privets, go for the pone you like best."
    Read review
    "Dormitory, Shared or single rooms are available depending upon you needs"
    Read review
    "Single Private Rooms above the main building"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing