We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Atelie del Mar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Atelie del Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This town is just awful. Nothing is finished yet, empty hotel, empty Street and a lot of mosquito.. We stayed one night. The only good point of this hotel is the pool: warm and massive. Unfortunately a sound of a generator ruined the ambiance. Otherwise the room was really simple and smelt humidity. The bathroom smelt also really bad. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain L
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

We are sorry that you really didn´t like anything in Monte Rico, included our hotel. About the generator, sorry for the disturbance, but thanks to our back you electricity, a/c, water and televisión were working, when all of the village had nothing as a back up generator is very, very rare here.

Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Hotel Atelie del Mar is a slice of heaven in Monterrico. Our biggest praise is for the pool area. BY FAR the cleanest pool I have ever seen/swam in all of Guatemala. It is absolutely perfect. The music in the pool area is not overbearing and not the crap that is played at every other beach joint. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay R
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Our warmest thanks for this wonderful revue. All of our staff have learned the importance of keeping all of the hotel really clean, and that includes not least the pools but we are really happy to not only hear your opinion expressed here about the cleanliness but also to see your written opinion. "Crap" music we don´t like, and neither...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel had very comfortable accommodations and was a great place to stay. The landscaped grounds and the sizable pool were probably the best in Monterrico. We had dinner there and it was quite good. Breakfast is included and is a pleasant way to start the day. One of the owners is an artist. You should check out her work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markjonathan
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Thanks for mentioning the landscaping, as this land had only sand, some palmtrees and a lot of garbage when we came here and started to develope everything. Thanks also for "inviting" other guests to the Art Gallery. Welcome back!

Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I had a trip with my family to Monterrico, i did the our reservation in advance. Upon arrival the owner met us at the reception and took us to our room. The rooms were clean, safe, AC, and with the view to the pool. The hotel is about 1 minute to the beach and also they have a pool in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveleringuatemala
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Warm thanks for your revue, including your recommendation to other travelers. We hope to see you and your family back here soon.

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I went to this hotel with a rather unique need: to retreat from civilization for a week to work on my doctoral dissertation. This place was perfect. It is by far, the most beautiful hotel in Monterrico with the most personalized service imaginable. Stig and his lovely wife Violeta could not have been more hospitable or more accommodating. They set...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey W
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Warm and sincere thanks for such a complete revue of what our hotel offers to our guests. You "put the finger" on quite many details that are really important for us, as we want our hotel to be a tranquil, family place where everyone, from a single person to families or a group of friends, that is looking for a...

Paris, France
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a great time in this hotel situated just 30m from the beach. Rooms are very clean, as well as the swimming pool which provides with freshness. Garden is very well thought (various types of flowers and trees and hamacs). Owners are really professional, kind and helpful. They can organize tours to see turtles (during the appropriate season) and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank slaunay2015
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Muy agradecidos. Es bastante fácil atender con gusto a huéspedes tan amables como Ustedes, que además ven la belleza que hemos logrado crear. Jardines, higiene, comodidad, piscinas limpias y muy buena comida. Es importante para nosotros proporcionarle y contactos para que puedan disfrutar de las actividades acá en Monte Rico. Warm thanks for your revue. It is a pleasure to...

Reviewed 5 August 2016

This hotel is fabulous for families with young children. To be able to enjoy one of my favorite locations with my family is amazing. The staff and owners made sure that we were well taken care of and safe both on site and when out and about in Monterrico. They were very understanding with our 8 an 10 year old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, we can´t be more than satisfied with a revue than this one, that really analyze how we work and what we value. Absolutely it is a pleasure to have your family, and your well behaved and educated kids here, and thanks for your recommendations!

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We had a nice place but it has a poor quality price relation. The pool are is great. nice greens and a lot of flowers. The owners are very friendly and reacted very quick and kind when we told them the airco and shower we not working properly. It was fixed when we came back. The rooms had TV and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergiovanloon
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice opinion about our hotel. But, please let me ask you which all the hotels in Monte Rico are and which are offering the service for half the price; A/C, TV and private bath in the rooms, breakfasts included, parking inside, high speed Wi Fi, three different pools for all the ages and last bit not least,...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

We only stayed at Hotel Atelie one night but it served its purpose well. The owner was very accommodating on the phone when making the reservation. He even helped me arrange a shuttle to take us there. It as a national holiday on the day we were traveling and many of the shuttles we contacted were already booked. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron Q
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Thanks Cameron for this nice opinion. When guests ask me about transportation I always try to find a suitable solution. To keep the rooms and the surroundings, as well as the pools, clean is always of greatest importance for us. And yes, A/C is needed in Monte Rico. Violeta paints colorfully and from the beginning we decided not to offer...

Reviewed 31 May 2016

An amazing little place nestled on the Monterrico beach. Very clean rooms with air conditioning. The swimming pool was the best!!! It was very hard to leave the pool. The owners are a joy and they really take care of their guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
Stig B, Propietario at Hotel Atelie del Mar, responded to this review

Happy and satisfied to read your opinion about our hotel. Warm, warm thanks!

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterrico
0.7 km away
Johnny's Place
Johnny's Place
#2 of 5 in Monterrico
236 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
106 reviews
0.0 km away
Eco Hotel Playa Quilombo de Cucurumbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Marbella Eco Lodge
Marbella Eco Lodge
#4 of 9 in Monterrico
5 reviews
1.6 km away
Dos Mundos Pacifico
Dos Mundos Pacifico
#2 of 9 in Monterrico
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel El Delfin
Hotel El Delfin
#1 of 9 in Monterrico
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our 16 rooms have air condition, TV and off course private bath. The large pool, 20 x 7 meters, was totally renewed in May 2012. The colorful garden, with lots of different flowers, plants, fruittrees and different palmtrees. We have a generator that guarantees you that the a/c etc. is working even when the power is out. Breakfast is included in our rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Atelie del Mar

Address: | Playa Monterrico, Calle de Cementerio, Monterrico, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Price Range: €61 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atelie del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelie Del Mar Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Atelie del Mar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Atelie del Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second Floor has great views from the patios and balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles 855jeffreyw, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick a pool side room.”
 of 5 bubbles jet_gorilla, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The poolside rooms are very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles CrissHV7, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms are great. First floor rooms would be my choice for access to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 485vicr, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms away from the stairs will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles P1269KGjeanb, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay