We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostal Dona Esther

    Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Traveller (42)
    Dining (10)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Overview
    • Excellent47%
    • Very good35%
    • Average14%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “pizza oven” (5 reviews)
    “great pizza” (2 reviews)
    “nice library” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    Offers from Hostal Dona Esther
    Deals
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Casa Mojanda
    224 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Otavalo
     
    La Estelita
    175 reviews
    #1 of 15 hotels in Ibarra
     
    La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
    187 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Cotacachi
     
    La Posada del Quinde
    417 reviews
    #2 of 14 hotels in Otavalo
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (156)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 111 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    This hostel did not live up to our exspectations. The room was small and was not clean. The staf was not really helpfull. Their understanding of english is poor. Considering its price the hotel is expensive. The positieve thing: the restaurant serves good food.More

    Thank Theo T
    Response from WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona EstherResponded 1 week ago

    I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we actually had a lot of satisfied guests these pasts weeks, but unfortunately we didn't hear any complaints from you or any other guests. Our rooms are photographed just the way they are, I don't think you...More

    Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

    I thought the Dona Esther was a fine value. It is a very pretty and artful interior. One block from the square. Very friendly folks. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms are small and adequate. Repeat: stay there as it is a good value...More

    Thank ReedMankin
    Response from WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona EstherResponded 26 June 2017

    Thank you for your recommendation! We're happy you had a good stay with us. Just a small note on the rooms; the matrimonial rooms are the smaller ones, but if you like a bit more space, we have a few large twin bedded rooms, same...More

    Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

    Mobile review, so kindly excuse brevity and any typos. Also, note that our dinner at Dona Esther's restaurant has been reviewed separately, so will just review the (included) breakfast herein. The Hostal Doña Esther is a charming, small facility with an ideal location in Otavalo;...More

    Thank Atreides
    Reviewed 22 April 2017

    The receptionist checked us in swiftly and we were shown to our room up on the third floor. Simply and rustically furnished it had everything we needed for our stay. It was really clean. The bed was comfortable. Everything worked in the bathroom. Perfect. Breakfast...More

    Thank Travellin_Steve
    Response from WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona EstherResponded 24 April 2017

    Thank you so much, for your recommendation! We'll be happy to have you back some day. Best regards, Wendy

    Reviewed 15 March 2017

    The rooms are around a courtyard filled with flowers and places for relaxing. The rooms were colorful and the desk people were helpful, speaking English because our Spanish was limited. Be careful when paying - three of us were unable to charge our stay because...More

    Thank Rues427
    Casa Mojanda
    224 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Otavalo
     
    La Estelita
    175 reviews
    #1 of 15 hotels in Ibarra
     
    La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
    187 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Cotacachi
     
    La Posada del Quinde
    417 reviews
    #2 of 14 hotels in Otavalo
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Room Service
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$60 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Ecuador >
    • Imbabura Province >
    • Otavalo
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (42)
    Dining (10)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (60)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Casa Mojanda
    224 reviews
    3.89 km away
     
    La Estelita
    175 reviews
    23.38 km away
     
    La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
    187 reviews
    8.26 km away
     
    La Posada del Quinde
    417 reviews
    .87 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    La Cosecha Coffee
    187 reviews
    .47 km away
    Balcon de Imbabura
    118 reviews
    .48 km away
    Cafe Pachamama
    183 reviews
    .84 km away
    Daily Grind
    140 reviews
    .14 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Otavalo Market
    830 reviews
    .46 km away
    El Lechero
    31 reviews
    1.08 km away
    Plaza De Los Ponchos Mercado
    128 reviews
    .42 km away
    Runa Tupari Native travel
    24 reviews
    .54 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    mariteth
    15 May 2015|
    Answer
    Response from WendyOtavalo_Ecuador | Property representative |
    Hello! The apartment does sleep 2 adults and two children ( on sleeping couch). If you can tellme dates i can see if i have availibility for the rooms needed. Airport pickup for one car, 4 people, is $ 55. Let me know. Best... More
    0
    Votes
    Cheryl N
    29 April 2015|
    Answer
    Response from WendyOtavalo_Ecuador | Property representative |
    Hi Cheryl, I guess you just made a booking in our hotel for a twin room? By far the best choice, since the apartment has a matrimonial bedroom and besides that, is high up the stairs. We will give you a twin room on the... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "I would guess any of the rooms here would be good, perhaps quieter at the back."
    Read review
    "Rooms in the back avoid street noise. You will always have barking dogs."
    Read review
    "Bring ear plugs for a great night's sleep."
    Read review
    "Rooms are all about equal."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing