We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let's start with the positives; a lovely house in a good location close to Vulcan park with lots of places to eat in walking distance. There is on street parking plus some spaces to the rear of the property. There is a police station opposite the B&B. The room was clean. However, our experience was perhaps the worst we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandyPandora
Independence, KY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as a stopover going to and returning from New Orleans. The first stay we did not see the owner or any staff until the following morning. The second stay we never saw the owner. The young woman who served breakfast both mornings was not friendly. She almost seemed afraid of the guests. Amenities that we have come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minerva55
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I was unable to join you at breakfast and other times you mentioned due to a situation that developed. Another substituted. Please call me at 205-918-9090 so that I may give you a free return night stay so you can experience the magic that others...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

my interactions with the proprietor on the phone were not pleasant. She was quite rude. Based on the rude way she answered questions for me on the phone, I would've stayed somewhere else if it had been easy to arrange. They definitely need a phone courtesy adjustment. However, once there, it was comfortable and lovely. she seemed a bit nicer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corey w
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

COBB LANE B & B -- ZEBRA ROOM. We thank this couple for commenting that their guest room (ZEBRA) was "comfortable and lovely". There is a misunderstanding involving a phone call and we apologize if they felt we were somehow rude. They arrived a couple hours early, housekeeping was in process, some rooms done and others not yet. Normally early...

Memphis, TN
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The owner has a number on the door to call when you arrive, but no one answered when I called--it was pouring down rain--and 15 minutes passed before she returned my call. She insinuated I was being impatient. The house itself has some beautiful antiques, but the overall effect is ruined by the mix of cheap ceramics and that every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisleigh454
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We owe you an apology about your arrival. City BBs are typically kept locked for the security of guests and the Owner. Door bells are disconnected to avoid an incoming guest/delivery disturbing other guests inside. Our guests arrive and call us on their cell phones when at the front door and we help them. Perhaps you rang when I was...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Sheila was the perfect host in a perfect place with perfect bedrooms and perfect breakfast. We loved the carved horses and incredible themed rooms with relaxing lounge areas. The location in Five Points gives you a true feeling of the community.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow! What wonderful praise! You've made our year!! We're glad you found our location in Five Points Historic District (also known as Five Points Culinary District) convenient and enjoyable. You're right, each room does have its own unique décor. Sometimes new guests book a room, look at other rooms during their stay, then try a new one the next time,...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I made a reservation thru Expedia for this place because I had been there before and I thought the place was reasonable and close to the University. On arrival (and after I had taken my luggage out of the rental car) I called the innkeeper who told me at was at the wrong location. The place I was sent was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graciela A
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BED AND BREAKFAST. SERAFIM ROOM. We are sorry this guest did not enjoy her stay as others generally do. She rented a room with a double bed, smallest bedroom, private bath down the hall by the kitchen and laundry room in Cobb Lane BB. She was given a free upgrade to Hassinger Daniels Mansion BB to a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Staying at Cobb Lane is a must for anyone travelling go Birmingham. The owners have put so much thought and love into restoring it to its former glory, right down to the crockery and cutlery. We both felt we'd been transported back in time (with all the comforts of the 21st century) it was a privilege to have experienced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigCityR
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We loved your review! We hope you'll come again real soon since you are exactly the right guest to enjoy an historic Victorian Mansion on the National Historic Registry. Your patronage helps keep the Mansion and neighborhood alive in its revitalized setting. THANK YOU for coming. Sheila Chaffin, Owner

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The whole bed and breakfast is so perfectly themed it's like stepping back in time! Beds are comfy and we might even be back in 1 day it was so fantastic. True southern hospitality at its finest - although it was weird we turned up at 8 with no host to be seen. Makes you feel safe having keys stuck...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zopheni
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

What a nice compliment you made: "whole bed and breakfast is so perfectly themed it's like stepping aback in time!". Regarding your entry to the Mansion, we had a family member in intensive care at the hospital and created a way to grant you entry while still fulfilling our need to support our loved one. Please come again in the...

Welcome, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 August 2016

My wife and I arrived at the Cobb Lane Bed and Breakfast, contacted the innkeeper by phone, and were informed that she "had things to do" and so could not possibly personally check us in. After some confusion, we found the keys where she had hidden them and proceeded to a basement room, even though I had asked for street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bren B
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit. The reason I could not greet you at your arrival in usual manner was because a family member had just been taken to the Hospital ER and I had to be there. Usually I am present at breakfast and safeguard the guests entry and exiting plus answer questions about the...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We went here a few years ago while going to the Classic Alabama St. vs Alabama A&M. The service was great we all ate at the big table and share where we were from and learned some history about the place and Birmingham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hopie_Don
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We enjoyed your review. One of the main differences between a hotel and a BB that you commented about is the breakfast. Some hotels include breakfast, most do not. Guests sit at different tables, keep to themselves. At a BB, the breakfast is a friendly time where guests usually sit together at a large table or two, get introduced to...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
2.6 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
634 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: €109 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One in the main house.”
PandyPandora, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't plan on a romantic getaway, people in the other rooms will hear everything.”
krisleigh454, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our favorites were the Peacock or Camelot rooms but there isnt medicore one in the bunch.”
Rickgray, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for the experience all rooms are unique.”
Hopie_Don, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check out the website for the property. It and TripAdvisor reviews of the different rooms were very helpful and accurate.”
  • Periwinkle Room - view from door area to windows
  • Periwinkle Room - view from window area to door
  • Periwinkle Room - bed
Heminway, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5