We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Backpackers
 Click to rate
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our time here. It's close to Praia mole beach which is lovely! Although I'd say walking down he hill to Jocaquina is better. For a chilled out stay the hostel is lovely but if you want to be a bit closer to the town and nightlife I'd say move into the centro. Good breakfast, Pippo is great for activities!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanfam123
Matheus R, Proprietário at Sunset Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad that you like our hostel! It really is a good place to chill out, but our bar is a good place to start a night since it is also open to the public of Florianopolis. And as we sell tickets and transfers to the parties you can easily get to them as well! Cheers, Matheus

Mariehamn, Finland
Reviewed 12 January 2017

You're probably like it if you're in your 18-22, compared to what other people say about this place. But if you're a couple and thinking about booking the private room, read my review: First after getting up the high hill with the car, we came to the reception. The guy in the reception looked high and took our payment for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaLen2014
Matheus R, Proprietário at Sunset Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Maria, We are sorry if your experience was not the best. But I would like to reply some points: - to say that one of our workers was high without a proof is a mean accusation and should not be taken seriously; - we are a hostel and usually this kind of accomodation does not provide a concierge service...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We want to recomend about this great hostel!!! Clean rooms, beautiful view, and Amazing staff that will help you with anything you need! I got into troubel with my lagged , and they helped my much more then they were execpted! Recommend everyone to go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank רוני ב
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I was expecting a simple place but it was worse than I was expecting. When i arrived i had to go down a long stone stair with poor ilumination carring my luggage. In the bedroom the walls and shower curtain were moldy and dirty. The blanket was smelly and seemed not be cleaned for a long time. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu C
Matheus R, Proprietário at Sunset Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lu c, Thanks for your review. We are sorry for your bad experience, but the stairs are part of the natural terrain as we are located on a hill amongst beautiful nature and an awsome view of the Lagoon. Concerning the room, it would be nice to know in which room you stayed so we can provide the necessary...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hostel is 100% fine. We were in the five bed female dorm which has a giant jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and a patio overlooking the Lagoa. We were there on a Monday which is a bummer because the bar and a lot around the hostel were closed, but we still got a free caipirinha during the sunset hour!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schumak2
Matheus R, Proprietário at Sunset Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad that you liked! Always welcome :)

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately this hostel is situated at the top of the hill before reaching Praia Mole. Which means that you have no choice but to get a cab or bus wherever you need to go. There are you shops or restaurants within walking distance and Lagoa is ten mins away by bus, which run every half hour. The hostel itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwhizza
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

An amzing place for travellers, a really good location just 5 minutes walk from praia mole and 30 minutes from Joaquina. The atmostphere is fantastic and its a very sociable place. I have stayed here twice now and i would highly recomend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty E
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I have been here a few times now but it doesn't get any better. Location and views are good. Standard of food, price of food and service is bad. Uncomfortable seats and a terrible sounding sound system. Typical Florianópolis rip off. My burger tasted like bad sausage meat, it was supposed to come with thick cut chips, 4 medium sized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foody186605
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

This place really needs to get its act together! The first day I was there they didn't have a bed for me until I repeatedly asked in the evening, when they removed some bed sheets from another bed and said the person had gone. They turned up later and had to be moved as I was already in bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
Reviewed 29 January 2016

I had a great time on this place again, I have been in this place 3 times already and every time there is some new, now they have the elementum temple, it is a brew pub with really good craft beers , nice staffs , nice view from the lake and a amazing sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian B

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Trindade
Slaviero Executive Florianopolis
Slaviero Executive Florianopolis
#29 of 94 in Florianopolis
528 reviews
City Center
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
#21 of 94 in Florianopolis
2,069 reviews
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 94 in Florianopolis
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Cecomtur Hotel
Cecomtur Hotel
#91 of 94 in Florianopolis
538 reviews
Belluno Apart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cachoeira do Bom Jesus
313 reviews
City Center
Hotel Valerim Plaza
Hotel Valerim Plaza
#33 of 94 in Florianopolis
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Much more than a privileged spot to become a guest, surrounded by exuberant nature, a dazzling view, the Backpackers Sunset offers complete and innovative services , making your stay more comfortable, attractive with lots of fun. We are strategically located at the top of Praia do Mole (Mole's beach) hill, with panoramic view of Lagoa da Conceicao (Conceicao Lagoon), where you can enjoy a beautiful scenery and a breathtaking sunset, just at a 5 minutes walk to Floripa's best beach. We are located in a 3.000m2 area, in contact with nature and with more than 100 different species of native flowers and trees. The structure offers spacious leisure opened and closed areas, pool, hydro massage tub in the ladies room, hammocks for resting, fire area for special moments around the fireplace, barbecue area, bar with panoramic view of the island's east side and a young and enthusiastic staff to help you with any doubt and information regarding the Santa Catarina island. Besides, we have our own restaurant and bar, the Sunset Resto Pub located at the top of all structure, in a privileged place with an incredible view and climatized environment. The Backpacker's Party Bus, is an American school bus customized, that apart from offering the guests the option to get to know Florianopolis, through tours, offers adventure and fun, like the night life , and discounts in the best parties. A schedule of activities involving sports, ecology, culture and entertainment, with lots of music and fun. The Sunset Backpackers is 100m and 15 minutes walk from the most famous beaches worldwide known as surf spots such as Joaquina and Praia do Mole . Two sceneries among many others, that unite sports, thrill and lots of beautiful people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Backpackers

Address: Rodovia Jornalista Manoel de Menezes 631 | Praia Mole, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88061-700, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Price Range: €11 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunset Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Sunset Hotel Florianopolis
Sunset Backpackers Florianopolis, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sunset Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are looking for a quiet time you should pick a room with 4-6 beds. Otherwise join the party people and enjoy your staying in a room with 8-12 beds! You will be good in either ways!”
 of 5 bubbles evandrol95, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“In low season it`s better to take a dorm in stead of private room sometimes, cause you don`t pay that much and sometimes you have a lot of privacy cause there s no one else in the room”
 of 5 bubbles 307nielsw, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Most say paying for a private room is worth it... view is unbelievable :)”
 of 5 bubbles kalistah, 26 Jul 2014 | Read review
“People in the 8 bed doem paid less and found that the room was empty, while I was in the 6 bed whcih had 4 people in.”
 of 5 bubbles dennist776, 16 May 2014 | Read review
“Get the room Costa da Lagoa”
 of 5 bubbles filippoc389, 22 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5