We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Martinho de Mesquita 129, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620-220 Brazil
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prestigia.com
US$75
View deal
Expedia.comUS$77
Priceline
travelup.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (795)
Pool & Beach (131)
Room & Suite (115)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#56 of 348 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Rio de Janeiro? Then look no further than Windsor Oceanico, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Rio de Janeiro to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Windsor Oceanico offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. Guests of Windsor Oceanico are also welcome to enjoy a rooftop pool and breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, there is paid private parking available on-site.

Close to some of Rio de Janeiro's most popular landmarks, such as Templo Hare Krishna (1.5 mi) and Quebra Mar (1.7 mi), Windsor Oceanico is a great destination for tourists.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Brows, Alvéole Pães Artesanais, or Cafune Cafeteria, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Windsor Oceanico.

If you are interested in exploring Rio de Janeiro, check out one of the monuments and statues, such as Corcovado Christ the Redeemer, Paineiras Visitors' Center, and Estátua de Tom Jobim.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Windsor Oceanico as you experience everything Rio de Janeiro has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children's television networks
Car hire
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
211Restaurantswithin 1 km
11Attractionswithin 1 km
1591Reviews58Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 895
  • 464
  • 146
  • 41
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
matthewdossett wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’d give 4.5 stars if I was allowed but not quite 5. The pandemic caused a few issues (bar been closed early and no 24 hour room service) and I had a few very minor issues-One day my water wasn’t replaced and on another I ordered room service and one of the items didn’t arrive. This happened another day but the guy realised and went back. The room was a double delux and was amazing with a great view and duel aspect. Roof top pool is great and although I didn’t use the gym there is a small one if needed. The staff were all helpful and polite and the food was good as well as the breakfast. Always felt safe and secure and the cleaners always did a great job.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila Brito de Sousa, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 3 Dec 2020
Dear matthewwdassett, I would like to thank you for spending your time to write your review with details. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and felt very safe here. Our staff works hard to ensure you have the best possible stay and they will be delighted to hear you had a good experience. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Atila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Sean2204 wrote a review Nov 2020
Venlo, Netherlands42 contributions45 helpful votes
Location is good, just 100m from the beach. Staff friendly and helpful but English skills are lacking which makes service frustrating particularly in the restaurant area. Booked a sea view room. Ha ha ha. You had to stand at the window and look right to see the sea as an apartment block is right in front of the building. Make sure you get a higher floor if you book a sea view. Check in and out is a bit like trying to check in to Fort Knox, takes forever and there rarely seems to be enough staff on the front desk. If they fix the basics this would be a great hotel worth revisiting but not as it currently operates. PS. Complained about the “sea view” room I booked and got moved to a higher floor which had a better view.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High floor if looking for a sea view.12th and above
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila Brito de Sousa, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Dear Sean 2204, First of all, I would like to thanks for choose Windsor Oceanico Hotel. We deeply apologize for the experience you had during your stay regarding your issue about the view. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with quality service and a nice view on your next visit to Rio! Cordially yours, Atila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Pedro G wrote a review Mar 2020
Asuncion, Paraguay10 contributions12 helpful votes
Very nice hotel very close to the beach at Barra. Rooms are big size, quiet and conftable bed. The bar is very good; very good breakfast and hospitality from the hotel personal. Nice pool at roof top.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear PedroG, Thank you for taking some of your time to share your opinion about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous search for service excellence. I am glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to welcome you back in our hotel very soon. Best regards, Átila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Armen K wrote a review Feb 2020
Yerevan, Armenia21 contributions11 helpful votes
This is third day I am trying to reach my email to hotel stuff, all mails goes to the void, they have done card preauth and in the end instead of approve this transaction and get separate diferanse for room services they told that they have canceled preauth and charged for all one more time ((( Also does not response to emails at all. Now about the rest Food: ordered a lobster for dinner it was over cocked and over salted Toproof pool: not clean at all, a lot of strange locals which put laud their music and no one from stuff even do not try do anything Beach: not very clean, but the worse that was that if you are not Windsor Barra client you have to pay for beach chairs and umbrellas of same Windsor Transportation: even before arrival I have ask a quotation for transportation I’got answer within a month, even more for comfort class car they have asked 2 times then you could take a biz class car on Expedia Conclusion: will take back my money if they will not answer then by my bank, and never again will have a dill with this hospitality network
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear 922armenk, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. About the refund claim, please check with your credit card operator, as we have already requested. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Átila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Sigfried K wrote a review Feb 2020
Montevideo, Uruguay5 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for 6 nights at the Windsor Oceanico. The first night we left the A/C as recommended at 25C. Due to the extreme outside heat and humidity we had to sleep with A/C instead of opening the window. In the middle of the night, my wife was boiling with fever in excess of 40C. We tried calling the travelers insurance but the calls would not go through from the room phone. I called the operator, but they asked me come downstairs to paid for the call in advance??? Finally, I reached from my cell the medical assistance in Argentina and they contacted their Brazil office to call me back. My wife needed antibiotics, only next morning I realized a problem with the A/C which had water dripping from the ceiling. The technician confirmed a mal-functioning thermostat pushing cold air at 15C or 60F at Max speed. The Managment considered this A/C problem minor as we still used the room and wouldn’t refund the night or the lost trips we had already paid for, as my wife had to stay in bed for 3 days. At the end, I received a refund of the taxes for my stay in compensation, a meager 50% of the cost of one night. Further, each call to receive 3x plates and silverware or glasses to room was charged a service fee of R$5.50 (=USD1.35). I have never seen a 4-star hotel charge for using their dishes and silverware at the room. Overall, the quality and services provided at the Windsor Oceanico do not correspond to a 4-star establishment. Even the food quality and room service (charged always 10% of the bill) we’re below standard. While the Windsor Oceanico (4-star) and the Windsor Barra Hotel (5-star) next door and interconnected through a catwalk, have the same menus, the Windsor Oceanico doesn’t live up to a 4-star hotel level. I will avoid the Windsor Oceanico in future trips and recommend the extra cost with Windsor Barra Hotel (5-star) which I have visited 2 years ago.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Mr. sigfriedk2015, First of all, I would like to apologize for the experiencie during your last stay with us. We work very hard to achieve the pinnacle of hospitality and comfortability for our guests and it's horrible to hear that you were dissatisfied. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with quality service on your next visit to Rio! Atila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Sivakumar GS wrote a review Jan 2020
Kuwait2 contributions2 helpful votes
Brilliant place to stay. enjoyed the location and gym. you can walk up to beach for a sun bath and come back to hotel for cool comfortable stay. Breakfast spread is good but should have live facility for omelettes. clean spacious rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear gssivakumar, Thank you for taking some of your time to share your opinion about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous search for service excellence. I am glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to welcome you back in our hotel very soon. Best regards, Átila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
LarryL wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We picked Windsor because ratings and assumed high standards from bigger hotel chain. Don’t make the same mistake! Personnel in this hotel did zero effort to make our visit pleasant. We tried ordering sparkling wine ready to our rooms on arrival, no answer from hotel, only after two emails and a mid-night call to the hotel, they informed us via email that this is not possible. Waiters at the pool area ignored customers constantly, forgot/ignored the orders and never apologized for endless waiting. At the departure day we asked to pay for late checkout in the other rooms we booked, as our flight was leaving late in the evening. Reception said no, without any explanations, even without asking our room number. After couple of hours we asked again with the same result. Only after calling the reception from the room, this was somehow magically possible with 50% of standard rate for 6 more extra hours. (note! rooms were available for booking online all the time for the same day) Hotel itself was a dissapointment for many parts as well. Absolutely horrible breakfast area one can only describe as ”cacophony”. Breakfast completely lacked fresh vegetables and the ”menu” was exactly the same every morning. Pool water was absolutely discusting. Brownish in color with thick layer of tanning oil on top. Poor central air conditioning in rooms. Turning the temperature up or down had no effect at all.a Don’t ruin your vacation with the Windsor Hoteis. They need to understand what hospitality means first.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Larrylaf, First of all I would like to apologize for your poor experience with us I would apreciated very much if during your stay, you had contacted me directly in the hotel so we could find a way to guarantee you a great experience at the Windsor Chain and put all these troubles behind. Once again I apologize and put myself at your disposal to help you organize your future visits to Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely, Átila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Gabi Haran, traveling OBGYN wrote a review Sep 2019
Kfar Saba, Israel304 contributions80 helpful votes
I spent 5 nights at this hotel. I should tell. You first about the checkout process which was excruciating. First, I tried to get a late checkout, getting the response that I should only ask on the morning of my departure. Which of course gave me no option to plan my time. Shouldn't a hotel in this caliber know if it has spare room or not? The result was I had to spend 4 hours in the hotel lobby, waiting for my flight. The other result was a line of dozens of people, having to leave the hotel at the same time. Now the room--this was quite nice, though my view was of a wall. The food was a C minus, with no vegetable in sight and no solution for lactose intolerance. There were no good restaurants near by and actually no real attraction So... If you have a conference nearby, it's a good location. Otherwise, pass. Giving you the picture of the check-out line.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 24 Sep 2019
Dear Voyager664594, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to our Hotel. Comments like yours are very important and always welcome. We work hard to exceed the guests expectations and detailed insights are important to improving our services. Greetings from the entire Windsor Oceânico team! Regards, Atila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Rodolfo Pell wrote a review Sep 2019
24 contributions50 helpful votes
Sometime elevators simply do not stop at the floor, or do it so quickly you simply don't have time to get to the door. There is room to improve breakfast. Bar area also could be enlarged. There are too few tables.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Nice room, great view
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 3 Sep 2019
Dear Rodolfo_Pell, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing such thorough feedback. I want to apologize for the experience you had with the elevators. Thank you, and we do hope that you will give us the chance to wow you in the future. We would be honored to welcome you back anytime for another visit. Cordially yours, Atila B. Sousa General Manager
Read more
Mrrusty161 wrote a review Jul 2019
Droitwich, United Kingdom106 contributions67 helpful votes
not a sea front hotel as its down a side street next to the Windsor Barra hotel. some of the rooms do have a sea view though. it has very friendly and efficient staff. the room was always clean. Wi-Fi signal was good. the restaurant has a good menu, i love the mushroom and Brie soup. breakfast buffet is very good. it is a very short walk to the beach. the hotel can organise tours to local attractions. there is a supermarket and several restaurants all in short walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Atila B, Gerente geral at Windsor Oceanico
Responded 22 Jul 2019
Dear Mrrusty161, I would like to thank you for spending your time to write this wonderful review. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works hard to ensure you have the best possible stay and they will be delighted to hear you had a good experience. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Cordially yours, Atila B.Sousa
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Oeste (West Zone) / Barra da Tijuca
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Windsor Oceanico
Which popular attractions are close to Windsor Oceanico?
Nearby attractions include Escape 60 - Barra Downtown (1.1 km), Reserva Beach (0.5 km), and Downtown RJ (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windsor Oceanico?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Windsor Oceanico?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Windsor Oceanico?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Windsor Oceanico?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Windsor Oceanico?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mocellin Steak, Fratelli, and Ettore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Windsor Oceanico?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Windsor Oceanico?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Windsor Oceanico offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Windsor Oceanico?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Windsor Oceanico?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Emperor's Table (7.0 km).