We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Abelardo Bueno, 1430, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22775-040 Brazil
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Booking.com
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Hotels.comUS$121
TravelocityUS$121
travelup.comUS$129
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1541)
Room & Suite (457)
Pool & Beach (183)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Updated 06/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 351 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located in Barra da Tijuca, Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro is a contemporary hotel in Rio de Janeiro, where you can enjoy easy access to popular restaurants, lively bars and nightclubs, shopping, and leisure opportunities. Just minutes from the Olympic Park, which hosts several sports, cultural and musical events, such as Rock in Rio. Catch a music concert or sporting event at the Jeunesse Arena. Spend the day at Praia do Pepe, a beautiful stretch of beach popular with surfers and kiteboarders. Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro offers a rooftop pool with a stunning view of a different angle of Rio, a well-equipped gym and a restaurant serving regional and international cuisine. Rooms and suites are modern and elegantly decorated, with a private bathroom with hairdryer. For your convenience, room service is available 24 hours a day. At Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro you will find a 24-hour business center. There are also 2 large ballrooms and 5 meeting rooms where different events and conferences can be held.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Nightclub / DJ
Kids stay free
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
2222Reviews164Q+A69Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,713
  • 330
  • 99
  • 37
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
J Oliveira wrote a review Sep 2022
Sao Paulo, SP69 contributions37 helpful votes
Two friend and I stayed here for a weekend during the Rock in Rio festival. This is the best option near the festival grounds. Room was clean and well lit, breakfast was amazing and service was as good as it gets during such a busy weekend. Not sure about location (very far from Rio de Janeiro's tourist attractions) when it comes to business travel, so make sure you check that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found our facilities and services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ricardo F wrote a review Mar 2022
Caxias Do Sul, RS629 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
First time at Hilton Barra da Tijuca, a modern and fancy neighborhood in Rio. It feels like being in another town, a pleasant experience for those - lime me - are looking for a quiet place to work and rest for a few days. It's ok to walk to the nearby shopping mall to shop or dine, but you will need a ride to go somewhere else like the busy beachfront or enjoy nightlife. Keep in mind most tourist attractions and the famous Ipanema and Copacabana beach are at least one hour drive away. The hotel is new and provides all comforts and amenities you can expect at a Hilton and the staff is very friendly and professional. For those who loves a Negroni to finish the day the lobby bar is a must go. GIG airport (international) is a little closer than SDU airport (domestic).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rushing ? Use a taxi instead of app. Price is about the same (US$20), but taxis have a dedicated...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BeautyKimber wrote a review May 2022
Orlando, Florida3 contributions3 helpful votes
I want to congratulate the waiter *REIS* for having a great service at breakfast, perfect. Kitchen staff made an omelet identical to my mother's. So cute! Very clean rooms. I loved the hotel, next time I will come with my mother. Rio is beautiful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ulises wrote a review Apr 2022
Las Rozas, Spain58 contributions28 helpful votes
I spent four nights at this hotel, in a very nice area of Rio. Great facilities: magnificent rooms (standard), excellent bed and linen, very nice swimming pool (heated) with gorgeous views, pleasant common area, etc. The management, however, is not so good. Nothing serious or terrible, but not what you would expect from a Hilton hotel. E.g.: I was supposed to receive a free big bottle of water in my room, as part of the arrangement for my group; I did not received it and I was told that I should pay for it if I wanted it; in addition, I was asked, when checking our, to pay for 2 bottles! (when I ordered just one). I complained and no charge was made finally but it gave me a poor impression about the level of care for the details one would expect in a hotel of this category. Moreover, in a place what you cannot drink water from the tap safely, the management should provide with courtesy drinking water for every guest, as is usual in most places. About the food: very good in the restaurant, reasonably priced (but obviously not cheap). However, the breakfast was disappointing: little variety and quality in the fruit (in a place such as Brazil!!!), slow service for the eggs or tapioca you ordered, and little variety of bread and pastry, as well as other deficiencies (quality of cheese, ham or salami, etc.). A special positive mention for the cleaning personnel: very efficient and nice, always respected the requests I made about timing. Bravo.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alejandro Z wrote a review Feb 2021
Miami, Florida1883 contributions429 helpful votes
I made this reservation very fast and forgot to check if it was on the beach. It was far away from the beach. It is close to the Olympic grounds. Sincerely a nice hotel in the wrong location unless you want to stay next to the convention center
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danilo S wrote a review Jan 2021
Folkestone, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
The worst hotel I have ever stayed in the world .... Just to start they tidy up the room in 3 in 3 days nor the bed make up you still have to take out the trash ..... The lowest price is R $ 2500 reais a room , weak breakfast, childrens pool and kids can't go into the jacuzzi ..... I asked the receptionist if it was okay to tidy up the room every 3 days and he told me this was an international Hilton standard ..... all that money to save on cleanliness everyone was complaining. #HILTONBARRANUNCAMAIS
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleaning system, this is part of our biosafety program focused on least possible contact during the stay. Thank you again for your comments, it is really important for us. Kindest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick K wrote a review Jan 2021
Fort Lauderdale, Florida13 contributions18 helpful votes
Hilton Barra - Rio de Janeiro, promising to pass an quiet relaxing happy New Year in Rio de Janeiro during the pandemic situation. After a long journey arriving very thirsty I was surprised that there was not a bottle of drinking water or any other beverage in the Hotel room. (The times when “welcome” drinks were offered in Brazil’s 5 stars had past long time.) But even in a simple “Pousada” in the Northeast of Brasil were a complimentary bottle of water available daily. Hiltons Front Desk informed friendly that Water is offered in shelfs and refrigerators at the reception for R$ 10,00 a water bottle of 310ml. What ? Well next day, with the hope that things may get better at Breakfast, it was just a big mess. Even with only a small quantity of tables available, Waiter’s and helpers were running around in high speed so that one trying to have a peaceful breakfast could feel as sitting in the corridor of a subway station. After getting a rough answer when appointing that the Orange Juice spender was empty (1 minute to 10 AM when in an impressive hurry everything was just removed), I stopped requesting any. A nice guest couple sitting beside me explained that all older and experienced employees were fired due to Covid arguments, and with this salary costs went down and younger people with no culture or proper training in gastronomy covered the complete operation. Maybe it’s the truth - who knows? Well the next day breakfasts coffee was served in disposable Paper cups with plastic spoon. So never believe things could go worse. Go to Hiltons 5 star - but don’t expect anything so you cannot get disappointed. For all big companies today the Pandemic is the best excuse to downgrade on employees and rip of clients and guests. Let’s see what’s yet to come...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We are doing everything we can to ensure your travel safety and provide maximum flexibility in the situation around coronavirus (COVID-19) and we appreciate your understanding that your stay experience may look different during this time, Cleanstay biosecurity international Program Protocols are also aplied. Thank you again and your comments and it will be shared with Our Executive Team to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Kindest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boytoy39 wrote a review Dec 2020
Hannover, Germany30 contributions71 helpful votes
New and modern HILTON Hotel in the middle of nowhere - so its a good hotel for business travellers who need to be in this Barra area. For leisure travellers, they provide a free shuttle to the BARRA Beach and a big shopping complex ("Metropolitana") is just across the hotel (with Satander ATM's right at the entrance for money exchange). Due to the bad weather conditions during my stay and nothing to do, I was happy, that I shortened my stay in advance from 6 to 3 nights... In the meantime, I was able to use the well equiped fitness room on the top floor right to the rooftop outdoor swimming pool. This pool is overlooking the Barra area and has a nice size for swimm practice. Rooms a modern and well equiped with soundproof windows either with street or courtyard view. Go for the spacious balcony rooms ( 1 bedroom appartment) with spacious bathroom en suite and second toilet and furnished balcony overlooking Barra area). Check-in was quickly and efficiently done - the Staff is very friendly and helpfull in any case. Be aware, that due to the covid-19 pandemic some services are not available (some are acceptable-some not...). Executive Lounge and Restaurants are closed (except for breakfast at the ground floor restaurant). For HH Diamond members and guests of the Executive rooms, the hotel offers a daily 40 Reias discount at any food and beverage consumption in exchange to the regular lounge benefits. My Tip: try the delicous and perfectly cooked Filet Mignon at the Lobby bar - with the discount you will never get such a meal for this little money again...:-) As in-room minibars are empty, the hotel provides a small kiosk at the reception for minibar items to purchase (but aware: also HH Diamond members need to pay even for coffee -which would be free of charge in the Executive lounge-). Thanks God, the hotel opened at least the Lobby Bar since 1st November, so you can enjoy the 40 reias discount on F&B in an nice enviroment instead of room service... In my opinion HILTON makes a big mistake, when it comes to breakfast options. Like at the other Hilton Hotel at Copacabana, those breakfast options are very limited (allegedly to the Hilton Clean Stay procedures, but in my opinion its only "cost-cutting"). They do not offer the regular (and very good) breakfast buffett like in pre-pandemic times anymore. Instead they seal every single slice of cheese and every single slice of meat on a single small plate (thats a lot of work to do for the staff every morning). Every single drink like orange juice comes in prepared plastic boxes. Apart from not acceptable plastic pollution - this is not necessary. (By the way: they offer every morning the same 1 sort of cheese and 1 sort of meat - after a couple of days you cant stand it anymore...) Hot options are available by order - but not buffett style). Like other 5Star hotels in Rio the competitor MARRIOTT offers a simple solution to provide fully buffett breakfast for their guests which I enjoyed very much during my stay at the SHERATON Leblon in Rio: They offer thin disposable gloves for everybody at the entrance to the breakfast area, so everybody is allowed and able to take whatever they want from fully breakfast items. It's so simple.....Sooooo HILTON: Why can't YOU ??
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Balcony rooms (1 Bedroom) are spacious with large furnished balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel in such detail! As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority. We are doing everything we can to ensure your travel safety and provide maximum flexibility in the situation around coronavirus (COVID-19). We follow Hilton's international biosecurity protocols for each service offered. We value food safety by avoiding exposure, which is why we use disposable products and packaging to protect food. We thank you very much for your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
João Victor Souza wrote a review Dec 2020
Sao Paulo, SP103 contributions36 helpful votes
Nice business hotel very consistent with Hilton standard, but with an inconvenient location - there is a shopping mall across the street and nothing else, all other spots are at least 15-20 minutes driving.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Dear Mr Joao, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel! It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angelamyer wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
All the reviews are true, this is a great hotel with perfect service! It's not beachfront but the hotel shuttle drops you off (and takes you back) to a beautiful, clean beach where they partner with the restaurant there to offer you free beach chairs and umbrellas. The passion fruit caipirinhas are my FAV but it takes ALOT of insisting to get them to put LESS sugar in them. This is a great break from the centro or Copacabana where you can just lie on the beach all day and not worry so much about vendors or others. Treat yoself!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear Angela, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and for all details you have mentioned. We work hard to make our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Oeste (West Zone) / Barra da Tijuca / Jacarepaguá
NUMBER OF ROOMS
298
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Nearby attractions include Shopping Metropolitano Barra (0.3 km), Cinema Cinemark (0.3 km), and Viper Airsoft (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Outback Steakhouse - Shopping Metropolitano Barra, Benkei Asiático, and Balada Mix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.