We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Misti Hostel Copacabana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of El Misti Hostel Copacabana
 Click to rate
Arequipa Region, Peru
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande offers a buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi. Located on the Ilha Grande main street, restaurants, bars and stores are within walking distance. A common kitchen is available for use and a bar is on-site. A free transfer service can be arranged and day trips and boat tours are on offer. We stayed here for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoMonkeysTravel
Homburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

the dorm room i stayed in had a musty smell to it. the people who were sitting by the entrance (seemed to be locals, it was not the staff, maybe security, not sure) were not nice. the guests were nice and the staff was very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leo b
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception area staff spoke adequate English, this is not really a negative as in other hostels it can be worse. However they were welcoming and friendly. I didn't find them too attentive to daily tasks. The triple level bunks had ladders however the double bunks (at least in my room) came without. The bunks were sturdy and mattress comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul8303
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I had a really good time at this hostel. The staff at the front desk, particularly Camilo and Aline, were extremely helpful the whole time. The hostel is also really close to Copa beach and there are plenty of restaurants and supermarkets very close by, as well as a metro stop. I'd highly recommend it for those wanting to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al D
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Al D, it is so good to know you enjoyed your time at El Misti! Our staff works really hard to give our guests the best Rio de Janeiro experience, thank you so much for your review!

Donauworth, Germany
Reviewed 26 November 2016

There was really a great atmophere in this hostel. The employed people could answer all our questions and made our stay incredible. The rooms are ok, even if you can not lock the doors. The only thing that botherd was that there are just three bathrooms which is not enough for all the people staying there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffi210
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Hello Steffi210, thank you so much for your review, it is so important for us to know your opinion, so we can keep improving everyday! We have five bathrooms in total on the hostel, which are enough for the ammount of people that the hostel can have, but on the peak hours (when everyone arrives from the beach) it does...

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Hostel was pretty clean. Good lockers for you're backpack. Staff was nice. Staff could pay more attention for bad behaving visitors. I had 5 guys from Uruguay in my room. They did cocaine in the room every day, drank their own beer etc.. I don't mind usually, but this happened every night around 2-6 am. Room was next to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jyri K
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Jyri K, thank you so much for your review! Our staff is deeply comitted with the comfort of our guests, but we are not able to control, unfortunately, the behavior of everyone that stays here. We explain to everyone the rules, if we get complaints we do our best to solve them at the moment so our guests wont...

Reviewed 8 November 2016

One of the best hostels that I've been in one of the most famous neighbohoods very close to the beach and the subway station very clean and organized, the staff is very nice and welcoming, also very cheap, perfect for backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriano P
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Adriano, thank you so much for taking the time to make a review for us! We really appreciate it, it is so good to hear that you had a great time here at El Misti, we hope you can come back again for some more Rio de Janeiro fun time!

Reviewed 24 October 2016

I ended up in this hostel because the one I was staying was fully booked but I was more than happy to come here. Amazing vibe. Cheering staff. Located in Copacabana which is a safe and beautiful place, close to the beach which is what i wanted after living in London for the last 6 months. Clean and good rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Analia F
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Analia F, thank you so much for your review! We hope you can come again from London to enjoy some sun in beautifull Rio de Janeiro and enjoy the vibe here at El Misti with us! Thank you so much, El Misti staff

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Really cool spot! Basically didn't have to leave the area unless I wanted to sight see ( Crist and Sugar Loaf only 20 min away). Rooms were nice and clean and the bathrooms were clean as well! Always something going on at their bar, so basically you can party and meet people each night!! Such a good time !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Amie L, thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hostel to other travelers. Our hostel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Foz do Iguaçu, Brasil
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I felt disappointed as the whole 3 nights me and my friend stayed there we had no working showers,toilets (they smelled really bad) and no running water! We had to go the other hostel which was not far to walk but I felt embarrassed as I was dying my hair as I wasn't aware the showers were not working. Also...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elynch_779829
El Misti H, Guest Relations Manager at El Misti Hostel Copacabana, responded to this review

Hello elynch_779829, thank you so much for your review! We are very sorry about the problem with the water, it was an specific problem we had with the pump, but we made everything in our power to fix it promptly so our guests wouldn't suffer from it. We are sorry about the incovenience and hope we can, in another occasion,...

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
1 (27)
Viewed
2 (20)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#17 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
702 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#8 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
594 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#15 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
779 reviews
Botafogo
El Misti Botafogo
El Misti Botafogo
#76 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
809 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#13 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Misti Copacabana is located only a few meters away from restaurants and bars, offering easy access to public transport and the beach. In this hostel you will taste typical Brazilian drinks made by the bartender, courtesy breakfast buffet and even a delicious low cost dinner as the hostel has its own exclusive cook. In the hostel you will find free Wi-fi access, living-room, shared kitchen and comfortable private rooms and shared dorms equipped with lockers and linen. This hostel has trilingual receptionists 24 hs a day who will assist you with great tips on tours and cool parties. An awesome programme called El Misti Experience ** with which you will get to know a ¨must see ¨spot in Rio de Janeiro for free with a member of El Misti staff. Live an unforgettable experience and get to know people from all around the world at El Misti Copacabana! El Misti Hostel offers you a free pick up upon your arrival in Rio de Janeiro from the airport to our hostel. Must be booked at least 48 hours in advance. Minimum stay 4 nights and one of these two conditions: Reservations for 1 to 3 persons - Total amount of the booking must be R$ 250 or more - Available from 8am to 7pm Reservations for 4 to 6 persons - Total amount of the booking must be R$ 500 or more - Available from 8am to 7pm ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Copacabana

Address: Travessa Frederico Pamplona 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22061-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: €11 - €443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Hostel Copacabana 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your El Misti Hostel Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
El Misti Hostel Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Misti Hostel Copacabana staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Misti Hostel Copacabana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not take the 18 dorm”
 of 5 bubbles romainv4, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in the double room next to the kitchen, you're woken early every morning with the noise from the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles EmilyC07, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Very sweaty, loud big dorms. Or overpay for a single, double or triple.”
 of 5 bubbles alexrP8916XU, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
“try to avoid no. 2 there´s no air condition”
 of 5 bubbles florians691, 27 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Always pick the rooms with less beds.”
 of 5 bubbles ginaalpe, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5