We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Atlantica 2616, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001 Brazil
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Traveluro
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (435)
Pool & Beach (56)
Room & Suite (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#25 of 349 in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Windsor California Hotel is the big news in the heart of Copacabana. With the most famous beach in Rio de Janeiro at your feet and with a sophisticated decoration, the hotel offers a differentiated service, hospitality, warmth and convenience to guests. In addition, it has a privileged location: just steps away from the main bars, nightclubs and restaurants, as well as easy access to the subway and the main attractions of the city, such as Sugarloaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
167Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
12Attractionswithin 0.5 km
442Reviews61Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 319
  • 70
  • 24
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Aline wrote a review 2 May
Baltimore, Maryland40 contributions46 helpful votes
The hotel is located at a very convenient location where you can walk to the beach by crossing the street and have variety of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is very small, even the poor looked like it can only fit 5 people at the time and their gym is also very smaller than what you see on their website. I booked superior room with partial view, but this room was on the second floor and didn’t have any view at all. I would not recommend booking a partial view room because there is no view AT ALL but a big tree in front of your window. These rooms are just a little bigger than the standard room but you have no view. I upgraded my room to full view which was on the 8th floor and the only difference is the view but the room are the same size. I would recommend just booking a standard room if space is not an issue and save yourself some money. Even the room with the balcony is smaller because the balcony takes space from the room. The food in this hotel was amazing and room service was quick. Their hamburgers are 5 start burgers and everything on their menu was delicious. I would recommend the hotel but do not go with the advertisement online and just book a standard room
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Abracapocus wrote a review Apr 2022
Jacksonville, Florida132 contributions46 helpful votes
Excellent experience start to finish. Unasked we were surprised with an upgrade to the king suite for our anniversary and loved the great location just between Copacabana and Ipanema. Service and room were fantastic witha great balcony and view. All you want from Rio as very reasonable rates!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Write a note about your enthusiasm and they will return the favor!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ZLR wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom34 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Firstly to start with the positives the hotel has a nice pool area which is rare but it only has 14 sun loungers and there’s 13 floors of rooms in the hotel. Also the birds often relieved themselves over the people sitting there, this is beyond the hotel control I understand but the mess wasn’t cleaned up. From the moment we checked in we noticed the hotel had a overwhelming smell of damp/mould through out. There was evidence of mould spores on pictures in reception and the restaurant (pictures) which I can imagine is very unhealthy to be inhaling . I can only assume mould is what is causing the smell. We tried to ask staff what this was but despite being advised as English speaking hotel it was apparent only very little English was spoken. We initially given a room on the second floor but the smell was so bad we asked to move. We were moved to room 1412 and told it had the best view. We weren’t told it was directly below the restaurant and gym so between 8am and 11pm the constant noise of furniture moving and weights dropping could be heard. The rooms odour was also still really bad, often so bad it would wake you during the night. That’s if the noise didn’t! 1412 when we first walked in had a lot of mosquitoes buzzing around and some black bugs crawling round the bed which my husband sorted as by this point the communication issues had caused enough stress. The hotel advertises sound proof rooms however we were kept awake late and woken early by the neighbouring room, at one point I was woken at 7am after they’d kept us up past midnight with a rendition of Madonna coming through the walls. We rang reception multiple times to be told the would sort it but no one ever came up or rang them (we know because we could hear). Housekeeping was poor often not coming to do your room until 4/5pm and hoovering corridors at 7/8pm. Dirty food plates were often left for 24hrs in corridors and ignored by house keepers (pictures available). Breakfast was good but we noticed staff offering fresh food and coffee to guests but we never were offered in 7 mornings we had breakfast, perhaps we were avoided again due to communication barriers. The air con stopped working on our second to last night and an accumulation of all these things meant we checked out a night early and found somewhere else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Wendy G wrote a review Apr 2022
West Midlands, United Kingdom33 contributions43 helpful votes
My niece and I stayed in room 1002 from the 23rd until the 28th. The hotels location was superb with easy access to the trips we did. Staff throughout the hotel from the front door, breakfast area, reception were all amazing nothing was too much trouble for them. A good choice for breakfast with a very high standard of hygiene against Covid. Would return to the hotel again and experience the hospitality and friendliness of all concern Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Chinook416 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bergamo, Italy16 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location and breakfast. Average rooms. Staff is typical Brazilian hospitality. Hotel policies are inconsistent with what you would expect at the world's brands (Hilton, Marriott, IHG) and that can lead to frustrations and arguments that are unnecessary.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karla Masetti, Diretor-Geral at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear guest Thank you for your review, the hotel's location is really good, and our breakfast is made with care to delight our guests. The policies are generally for the protection of our customers, but we can talk about it so that we can always improve. On behalf of our team, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you at our hotel. Yours sincerely General manager
Read more
skadia87 wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
I visited Windsor California hotel with a friend for 1 week in February. The location of the hotel is perfect as it’s rich on the beach front and from the rooftop pool you can see all the hustle and bustle of Copacabana beach. It’s also easy to find and close to a lot of amenities and places to eat. The hotel room itself was a little on the small size for a twin room which made it a little hard for the two of us to share with large suitcases and hardly any wardrobe space. Also we booked a standard room which had virtually no view aside from other guests hotel rooms. This meant that we had to keep our curtains closed most of the time. This didn’t matter seeing as there was no natural sunlight coming in anyway. The hallways were very noisy when the cleaning staff were cleaning other rooms and we could hear when other guests flushed their toilet or started running their shower. This is something that should be considered if you plan on sleeping in on any days. The reception staff were helpful although weren’t very warm or friendly. The door staff, security staff and bell boys were all amazing and greeted us at every opportunity. Renan was extremely helpful and was always willing to help with giving tips, booking taxis and making sure we were ok in general. He and some other staff at the door made our stay 5*. Breakfast was included in our booking which consisted of fruits, pastries, fresh juices, eggs bacon and sauces etc. it was pretty average in taste and the same items were saved every morning. The hotel was quite good when it comes to covid rules and mask wearing and ensured that precautions were taken to keep guests safe in that regard. The rooftop pool bar/restaurant was pretty average also. Building was kept pretty clean apart from when other guests would leave their food trays in the hallway which were not always cleared away in good time. I’d say it was overall an average experience at Windsor California however the door staff make the stay there much more pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karla Masetti, Diretor-Geral at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Dear Skadia87, Thank you for your comments, we are glad that we have met your expectations overall. We brought the team together to rethink ways to minimize noise in the corridors, so that our guests' rest is not interrupted, and all other details have been studied to be better for their next stay with us. Thanks again for writing to us and for staying at our hotel. Regards, Karla Màsétti General manager
Read more
Lusine A wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions
Beautiful hotel, the rooms are nice, everything is clean the service is super and the staff was really nice and professional. good selection at the breakfast buffet and Jonathan made us every morning a smile in the face. Renan the concierge helped us a lot too. He recommends us nice places to visit which is not that crowded and to do skydive and organized the contact for me. Thanks for having us. And thanks a lot for this super service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karla Masetti, Diretor-Geral at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Dear Ms. Lusinea, We are very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations, our focus is to delight our customers through excellence in our services, it is very good to know that we were successful during your stay. We appreciate your compliments and comments and hope to see you soon. Regards, Karla Màsétti
Read more
Lusine A wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful hotel, the rooms are nice, everything is clean the service is super and the staff was really nice and professional. good selection at the breakfast buffet and Jonathan made us every morning a smile in the face. Renan the concierge helped us a lot too. He recommends us nice places to visit which is not that crowded and to do skydive and organized the contact for me. Thanks for having us. And thanks a lot for this super service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karla Masetti, Diretor-Geral at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Dear Mrs Lusinea We are delighted to hear that your experience at our hotel was excellent. I will send your compliments to our team. We hope to see you soon. graciously Karla Masetti General manager
Read more
D E wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I'm loving my ten day stay at the Windsor California Hotel. I booked an ocean view executive suite and the room is nice and clean, with all the amenities one would need for a nice relaxing vacation right in the middle of Copacabana. The only downside is that the pool is pretty small - it's more like a big jacuzzi that fits max 4-5 people. All of the employees are masked, even those who are primarily outside, despite the hot weather which must be exceptionally difficult on them. However, the best thing about the hotel is a very friendly and helpful staff. When you check in ask for Renan. He has been exceptionally helpful, speaks perfect English (and few other languages as well), knows everything there is to know about Rio and goes above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service to ensure all your needs are met. Thank you, Renan for making this visit the best visit I've had in Rio thus far.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica Soares, Proprietário at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 8 Feb 2022
Dear guest, We are so happy to read your comments and want to thank you for sharing them with us. Delivering our guests the best service is our main mission and having such a recognition is our daily motivation. Hope you keep enjoying your stay! Kind regards, Verônica Soares General Manager
Read more
all2cme wrote a review Jan 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada6 contributions8 helpful votes
I booked a partial ocean view room for my mother-in-law's being her first time in Rio. I booked and requested a high floor. They gave her a room on the third floor looking at a big tree that covered the window 90%. No view of the ocean. Understand this was not a cheap room. I decided to call directly to the front desk and spoke with a person named Leonardo. I explained my disappointment that I had chosen a 4-star hotel that's oceanfront for my mother-in-law to stay. I expressed that I wished to be moved to a higher/same floor that the view is not obstructed. I argued for 20 minutes got nowhere. So, I request to speak with the front desk manager. Jaqueline was her name. She insisted to me that's the room that I had booked. I said no I booked SUPERIOR DOUBLE with partial ocean view which I paid extra for it. The hotel was only booked 65% and I said, I wouldn't mind waiting for another room. Bottom line Jaqueline said the only way is if I paid an extra 450 Reals. Like, $100 dollars. I was not asking for an upgrade just a room without a huge tree in front of the window. I hate hotels without customer service. I will never book a room at a Windsor chain again. Not too much to ask for... Windsor California no customer service. Front desk only.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Read reviews most important
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica Soares, Proprietário at Windsor California Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Dear sir, We regret we did not meet your expectations regarding room categories in our hotel. In fact from the 1st to the 3rd floor there is a difference of category due to the tree that partially blocks the sea view. We have been working with 90 to 100% occupancy in those categories and they are not as available as you have been told, especially during vacation period. I understand the front desk tried to help and assist you and I am sorry they could not do better. Hope you reconsider your point of view and stay with us in a near future again. Kind regards, Verônica Soares General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Copacabana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Windsor California Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Windsor California Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Copacabana Beach (0.2 km), SESC Copacabana (0.2 km), and Igreja Nossa Senhora de Copacabana e Santa Rosa de Lima (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windsor California Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Windsor California Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Windsor California Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Windsor California Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Windsor California Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haru Sushi Bar, Braseiro, and Pappa Jack Copacabana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Windsor California Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Windsor California Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Windsor California Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Windsor California Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Windsor California Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Windsor California Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Santa Cruz da Barra (6.7 km), Forte de Copacabana (1.6 km), and Parque Lage (3.1 km).