We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

TravelocityUS$109*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$117*
US$109*
US$117*
US$109*
US$117*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights. The room was clean, staff friendly. Wifi spotty. Location ok. One restaurant within walking distance, basically a pizza carry out with a small seating area. Traffic was bad with two of the 4 days having a gridlock on Richmond St. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Washington DC - Alexandria Red Roof. It is our goal to provide you with exceptional service and a clean comfortable room. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We were rolling in late to the D.C. area and were looking for a somewhat cheaper place to stay. Well, we got we paid for. The first red flag should have been when the lady at the front desk told us we were allowed to inspect our room before we made a purchase... Upon first look, it was doable, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brady S
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Brady S. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Our goal is to provide each guest with the best product and service possible. Clearly we did not make that happen for you. Please accept our sincere apologies, and we ask for another opportunity to GET IT RIGHT! Shirley Jordan, General Manager

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe king room. Rooms have been updated with new furnishings, hard wood flooring, flat screen tv, mini fridge, micro. Desk work area roomy and space to spread out. Pull up the second chair in room and 2 can eat at the desk. Plenty of space. You do have to pay $1.50 per day if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear RichardS. Glad to hear that you noticed our renovated rooms! It is always nice to hear that our guest had a great stay and felt we were priced right. Our location is ideal when taking the metro into the city. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. Thank You Shirley Jordan, General...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 26 May 2015

It was an ok stay for the price, but I wouldn't stay here again. The room felt humid, there were fruit flies flying around. The room was so cheaply upgraded, it still had that old 90's motel-ish feel to it. Room was small and bathroom tiny.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GreennIvy
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Greennlvy. We are sorry to hear that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We tend to appeal to the traveler who is looking to be able to get into Washington on the metro, without having to pay the high cost of staying in the District. Hoping we will be more appealing to you in the future, if your...

Reviewed 23 May 2015

I was there in January. So sorry it's taken me so long to give my review. I had a fabulous experience there. Sara was especially helpful. I came into the lobby every morning and drank coffee and she shared a wealth of information with me before I headed out for the day. Thanks, Sara! You're the greatest!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Travis W. Sounds as if we made a good impression on you! Sarah really is a wealth of information. I am pleased she was able to make your stay an awesome one. No doubt you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. Thank You Shirley Jordan

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2015

At the time of booking [and I had left it 'till the last minute!!], all Hotels in Washington itself started at $1000 per night ,,,,definitely not in this travellers price range.! The Red Roof offered an acceptable alternative only a few stations out of the Centre on the subway. [It was a fairly easy walk to the subway...about 1.5 ks]

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorriadonna
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lorriadonna. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We focus on being able to offer our guest a clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Good to hear we were able to make all of that happen for you. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager

Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 May 2015

extremly friendly staff front desk Debie and manager Shirley are very professional and helpful during my stay rooms are clean and roomy and a sweet touch with candy dish at front desk thanks for making my stay comfortible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike k
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mike K. Thank you for letting us know that we have managed to turn you into a very loyal customer. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Like hotels in DC in the springtime, the prices are high for the value ... it 'cash cow' time. The room was ok and fairly clean but not a value for $100 a night. The room was musty ... like there was a wet towel in it. I had lukewarm water for the shower and the toilet was set out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SV_Traveler
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear SV_Traveler We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Most travelers are looking for a great value, a clean room and hot water is a "MUST". We failed to meet your basic requirements. We hope that you accept our sincere apology ,and know that your concerns are very important to us. We also hope ,that...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The hotel was really fine for us. We booked two rooms and the stay was nice though we got the ground floor rooms. Rooms were all clean with good comfortable mattresses. And, noticeably, the rooms were all renovated and looked very nice. There is a good pizza joint accross the street and Huntington Metro Station is just a couple blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imanhidajat
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Imanhidajat My team got really excited when they read your review-WE GOT IT RIGHT!!!. Your room was clean, you had a good nights sleep, and being close to the Metro was a plus. And to top it off, you were pleased with our renovation. WOW, your review made our day. Thank you, Shirley Jordan General Manager

Reviewed 27 April 2015

Alexandria can be expensive, so booking this low cost hotel, we were aware that it would not be great. That said, it was not as good as it should have been. When we tried to check in, the clerk shook her head repeatedly, saying we had no reservation, despite the fact that I had a confirmation in my hand and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cynthia K
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia K. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We did not make you feel important / or welcomed. Both of which should have occurred ,rather you had a reservation or not! And to make matters worse, the room did not meet your basic requirements. Please accept our apology and know that your...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 53 in Alexandria
190 reviews
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €82 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend room closer to the lobby end of the hotel.”
AuntTwon, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room on the back side are very quiet”
winchesterre, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that faces away from the street.”
marinexbiologist, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best choice would be a room on the rear side but the traffic noise on the highway side was not really a problem.”
962MartinC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the highway as they are noisy during peak traffic periods.”
NKC, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$109* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$109
PricelineUS$108
TripAdvisorUS$108
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates