We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (58)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 16/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Updated 16/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 52 hotels in Alexandria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway/ I-495. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Eisenhower Metro Station. This allows for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan National Airport (DCA) and Washington, DC. Get to vacations in one when you stay here. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria, to stroll cobblestone streets or dine at one of the many restaurants. For our government and corporate travelers, the hotel is within walking distance to US Patent &Trademark Office, National Science Foundation, Michael Baker International and other companies. Hotel is also within walking distance to Wegmans, CVS, Starbucks, Dunkin Doughnuts, and many other restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino
475Reviews19Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 172
  • 82
  • 44
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DrBSGSAN wrote a review Jun 2022
San Diego43 contributions12 helpful votes
The stench. I arrived late at night. Disgusting. This place is dismal. Smoke. Marijuana smoke. Bad. Bad. Bad. What a waste of money. I’m furious. Then my Amex Plat card “declined”. NOT TRUE. IMPOSSIBLE. this is midnight now. Amex stated there was no decline. No charge. Hotel screw up. Truly a horrible experience. I bought on Hotwire and will demand an adjustment. This hotel should be closed. Icky. Scary. Very shady environment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Cartina Bryant, Other at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Good evening. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in Alexandria. You are completely correct in your comment regarding your card. The hotel never ran your platinum American Express card. Anytime you make reservations via a third party such as hot wire, you are paying hot wire directly not the hotel. Hot wire never sends a guest credit card to the hotel. They send the hotel a virtual card which the hotel runs. In this case, the virtual credit card from hot wire declined, not your platinum American Express card. When this happened, our dedicated supervisor did some research and found hot wire had three different rates in the system which were different from what you saw on your end. Since there was a discrepancy with the rate, the virtual credit card declined, not your card. Once the supervisor corrected the rates that was sent over from hot wire, she was able to run the virtual credit card with success. You eventually presented your credit card for incidentals, and we had no problems with your Platinum American Express. Regarding the "smoke" that your experienced, the hotel has a strict policy regarding guests smoking in guestrooms. This situation was handled accordingly.
Read more
lizanne62 wrote a review Jun 2022
Walton, New York46 contributions9 helpful votes
I booked this hotel through Expedia d/t the lower price. When we got to the hotel, our room was nothing special. Bathroom needs updating, towel rack kept falling off. The 2nd day when we came back to our room, the beds were not made, there was no coffee for the keurig and the bathroom garbage was not emptied. We had breakfast (not complimentary) and checked out well before noon. When i checked my email this morning, there was an alert on my credit card with a charge from the hotel that was $100 more than expedia had priced our stay. I called the hotel, and of course, they told me to call Expedia. I did and after 15-20 minutes, Expedia had the problem solved, they said it would be 3-5 business days before my $100 was credited to my card. Thank you Expedia, and I don't care how convenient it is to my daughters apartment, we won't stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cartina Bryant, Other at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello lizanne62! We are sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. As per our new cleaning standards due to Covid 19, guestrooms are cleaned only if you are staying 3+ nights. These rooms are automatically cleaned on the 4th morning of their stay. Guests staying less than 3 nights must request cleaning services with the front desk. This is done to eliminate the number of people going into guest's rooms. Our goal is to keep our guests safe. Regarding your reservation and your credit card being charged, hotels cannot issue any refunds if the reservation is made through a third party such as expedia. Which is why you were told to contact expedia. Again, we are sorry for to hear you were not totally satisfied with your stay. We hope this clears up any confusion.
Read more
Yalc13 wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia95 contributions36 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel a few times because it’s accessible, has a bar/restaurant and it’s cost effective. I tend to eat at the restaurant and have become friends with Ms. Lolita. She’s always so kind and attentive when we we dine at the restaurant or just grab a drink at the bar. Although. I normally buy a bottle of red wine most times. As for the food, it’s really good. Kudos to the chef I really like the convenience of just being able to stay in and eat dinner instead of finding a nearby restaurant. This location is certainly my first preference and the staff is so welcoming anyway. Najua is a joy at the front desk and is very efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Cartina Bryant, Other at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 May 2022
From the bottom of our hospitality hearts, THANK YOU! We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to servicing your future hospitality needs. Our Executive Chef, Glen Morgan loves entertaining guests with his tasteful cuisine and his heart will smile when he reads your review. On behalf of Lolita, Najoua, Chef Glen and the rest or our team, we look forward to seeing you again and thank you for being a valued guest.
Read more
Jeff T wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I stayed 10/27/21 and had no problem with the hotel room. Standard amenities you would expect, clean, etc. and they have a small workout area. I generally only stay at Holiday Inns because they always have showers that produce decent water pressure, unlike some other places (ahem... Mariott). However, the sinks in the men's restroom here didn't produce any or ample water flow. I figured they were probably just down for repair and thought nothing of it. However I was recently back a few weeks ago (late April '22) and the sinks still have not been fixed 6 months later. It should go without saying that using the restroom and not being able to wash your hands creates a health issue and that's the last thing we need, in this era of COVID. Please restore the sinks to operating condition!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Thank you for your honest review of our property. Your concern is completely understood and this issue has been escalated to the hotel's General Manager and head of Engineering. This will be a topic of discussion at the weekly operation's meeting with a goal being a solution to the water pressure in the men's restroom. As an IHG property, we're committed to high levels of cleanliness in all areas of the hotel based on the IHG Clean Promise. We appreciated your continued patronage of our hotel. Thank you!
Read more
skdyer wrote a review Mar 2022
Atlanta, Georgia33 contributions41 helpful votes
I have a reservation for April 1st and call the hotel to get some information about their pet friendly policy. I have a bearded dragon in a small glass enclosure that is portable for travel. I called on Monday 3/21 to see if I would be able to bring my pet. I was told the manager was out and that I can call back the next morning. I got busy at work and called back today 3/25 and was placed on hold for a while so that the rep could ask the manager ( per rep) if it was okay. He then came back and stated that by pet friendly it means dogs and cats. I then explained what a bearded dragon is they're small, they don't come out of the enclosure to make any mess or do anything at all really. He just continued to say it was not allowed, which is fine, every company has their policies. I then asked to speak to the manager so I can further explain, he began to stuttering and finally transferred me to a voicemail. I left a voicemail so time will tell if I get a call back. I am already somewhat disappointed because when you advertise to be pet friendly hotel, you must realize that people have different types of pets. Of course dangerous pets or poisonous pets should not be allowed but who's discretion is it as to what is allowed. Is there a list of pets that are allowed and if so where do I confirm? So I decided to come here, read the reviews and some are not so great. I will be sure to update this review after my stay. Wish me luck.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Hi skdyer, I understand our pet policy might not be as flexible as in other properties. I hope you can accept my apologies for the confusion. After your review, our staff is working to review which pets are allowed on the premises. It is not possible to guarantee anything at this point. But we always try to deliver a good and frictionless experience. Thank you for choosing us. We love having you here and can't wait to hear from you again. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
papillon07221 wrote a review Feb 2021
Heilbronn, Germany18 contributions6 helpful votes
The parking lot, hotel and rooms smelled of smoke. The smell was so strong in the hallway and room we were given that were requested to change rooms. The second room smelled of stale smoke. The shower ran and fixtures fell off the walls. One elevator would not go to our floor. The whole hotel feels run down and unclean. The beds were comfortable. Staff was helpful. Parking is free but there were people just hanging around the parking lot after 9pm. We chose this hotel because we have had good experiences with Holiday Inns in the past. This was an exception.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Carlye, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2021
Thank you for your feedback. This will be shared with our team.
Read more
Stephanie M wrote a review Jan 2021
Owatonna, Minnesota32 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here for a few nights and were very pleased with the location, which was easy to find from the train station. It's basically the tallest building around or one of them anyway, so it was very visible and a short easy walk of a couple blocks. The room was good sized with comfortable beds and a mini frig. One thing that could be slightly better is the outlet contacts on the electrical outlet on the bathroom side of the bed (room 820) are worn out: they still charge but a plug-in will fall out of them at the slightest bump. If they can replace that, it should be an easy fix that a lot of people will appreciate because it's the most convenient outlet to charge your phone from. As far as everything else, it was quiet and comfortable and we had plenty of hot water with good pressure for a shower. The room was very clean thanks to Veronica in housekeeping, and Nina K at the front desk was amazing!!! She was so helpful with questions I had about public transportation and she helped me print my boarding passes out at an ungodly early hour of the day, so thanks Nina for that! I was glad we chose the Carlyle and I will definitely recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Carlye, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will share with our team! We appreciate you!
Read more
KC_in_NY wrote a review Nov 2020
New Rochelle, New York2231 contributions160 helpful votes
Stayed here a weeks for two months because it's conveniently located off the Beltway and down the street from the Eisenhower Metro. Check in process is contactless. Parking is free, which is one of the challenges with the other hotels close by. Found the rooms a little tired and not in the shape. The overall care a little lacking, evidenced by the trash sitting outside my room. The breakfast is a bagged grab and go with a muffin or danish (which I didn't like). Gym is still open, but need to bring your towel down. Bar is closed and so are the lounge areas.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Hello KC_in_NY, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. I am happy that you appreciate our hotel’s location, seamless check-in and free parking. These aspects you can always count us on. I understand your disappointment with the room’s condition and current interior decor. I am also genuinely sorry to hear about both the hallway’s cleanliness and breakfast options. Positive interactions are one of our pillars in ensuring an elevated experience for our guests. That said, I will immediately share your feedback to our hotel’s upper management for review and improvements in our amenities and services. We hope to welcome you back and show you an experience that we can be proud of. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
purpelph wrote a review Oct 2020
Pittsford, NY37 contributions22 helpful votes
We have stayed here multiple times as it it within walking distance of my son’s apartment and it has always met our needs. Never again. Granted Covid changes things but this stay was very unsatisfactory. Multiple people without masks inside—including staff. The refrigerator didn’t work. The towel rack fell off the wall. My daughter had to change rooms as the electricity was irrational. Then her coffee maker didn’t work. Children playing in the parking lot at 10 pm.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Carlye, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn ALEXANDRIA - CARLYLE. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. Also I had a meeting with the entire team and shared your comments regards to your hotel stay. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Alexandria @ Carlyle.
Read more
George M wrote a review Sep 2020
8 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed there for almost a week with my wife. Check In was easy and all un order. Very clean and quiet room - all clean throughout the premises. Felt very safe and confortable. Staff was great - restaurant service very good, menu somewhat limited, but lots of great restaurant near the area. Even though we had a car, we preferred to “Uber” or take the train (that is conveniently located “next door”). Definitely will go again- after the pandemic, of course.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Addison, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 May 2021
Hi geomencar, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the great comments about the hotel, location and especially our Team Members. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy Addison, VP of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$154 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn alexandria sw eisenhower ave hotel alexandria, holiday inn telegraph rd, alexandria holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include George Washington Masonic National Memorial (1.0 km), National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum (0.9 km), and Carlyle Club (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Fire Donna's, Aldo's Italian Kitchen, and Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.