We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town\/Duke Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 685: English reviews
Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a nice weekend, had 2 rooms.. both nice, staff was fantastic and extremely accommodating.. Did not bring out dogs this time but definitely would next time and saw others with their pups at the hotel as well. Great place, nice quiet location,

Helpful?
Thank chmash
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good day chmash. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent weekend stay at our Hotel. Our team here always makes it their goal to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and it seems as though they succeeded. During your next visit to the Hotel we are more then happy to have you bring your four-legged guest... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed the weekend. We really enjoyed it, the hotel is nice and the staff is excellent. They are very friendly and you are close to the trolley and plus the hotel has van to take you places. What more could you ask for. Great choice and I will stay again and again.

Helpful?
Thank ejones88
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello ejones88. Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad that the Hotel's location was convenient for your sightseeing in and around Alexandria. The Old-Town Trolley service is fantastic and a great way to see the heart of Old-Town. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you... More 

Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Before my visit to Alexandria, I looked for an hotel in walking distance to the King Street Metro, restaurants and sights. This hotel was a good match. The location, room, and complimentary breakfast met or exceeded expectations. A helpful and friendly staff person offered exceptional service during check in and check out. The Breakfast atmosphere was robust, full of families... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day Jane S. I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experienece during your stay here at our Hotel. We are happy that you were able to experience some of our Hotel's ammenities including our delicious complementary breakfast as well as the great team that takes care of our guests during their stay. It sounds like... More 

New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights Friday to Monday. Wonderful stay the staff was great. They were always willing to assist. The housekeeper Daysi kept our room clean. A delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. The Metro 2 blocks away.. A Whole Food Grocery store 1 block away. The hotel offers a courtesy shuttle of a 1 mile radius. King Street close with... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank bluej725
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day bluej725. Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding our Hotel. It sounds like you had a busy trip taking in all the sights here in Old-Town and also getting a chance to take the water taxi over the the National Harbor area which in and of itself is impressive. I will certainly be... More 

pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Usual Marriott standards made this an enjoyable stay. The happy hour with ample food was an extra treat for us weary travelers. The beds were so comfortable as we always expect from Marriott; the room nice and large. Service very good and a good location -- a little pricey when you add in the parking, but a good choice for... More 

Helpful?
Thank candyer
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day Candyer. I wanted to let you know how much the team here at the Hotel appreciates your kind words regarding your recent stay. I am glad that after a long day of traveling and perhaps some sightseeing you were able to relax and enjoy our complementary evening social and then get a great night's rest in our beds.... More 

Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed at this Inn before and like it very much. The 1 bedroom is comfortable and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was very good. The staff is very helpfu. It is so convienent to the sights and Rte 95. There are also stores nearby so we could have eaten in by choice. I know... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day JudithG. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are thrilled that you and your guests were able to enjoy our breakfast and then also take some time to relax in the pool. I would like to apologize as it seems we were unable to honor your request for rooms... More 

Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed overnight in this hotel on a weekend trip with friends. We booked adjoining rooms - a request that is often not honored anymore, so that was great. The location of this hotel is AWESOME. Just a couple blocks from King Street, this hotel is really convenient if you want to take in some of Old Towne. They... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pinkparadox
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day Pinkparadox. I wanted to thank you for the feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel. We always strive to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and issue free stay during their time with us at the Hotel. Unfortunately, in this instance it sounds as though we may have fell short of your expectations. We have in... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I scored this on Priceline and couldn't have been happier! Huge suit with all the comforts of home (even a jar of candies on the coffee table). I arrived a little late, so I missed the complementary small supper but did get to enjoy the breakfast buffet. The location couldn't be beat; steps away from the Metro station and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day Grizinator. Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad to hear you were able to get a great deal through Priceline. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to take advantage of our complementary evening social but it sounds like our location met your needs perfectly. Thank you... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Arranged to meet family in DC area to tour the Mall. Found this hotel on Trip Advisor, noted the great reviews. Hotel did not disappoint; in fact, now that I have been there, I thought the reviews understated the amazing customer service, fantastic location, amenities, cleanliness and overall quality of the hotel. Each and every staff member went out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisVaBeachVa
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello ChrisVaBeachVa. Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your great experiences during your recent stay in our Hotel. It sounds to me like you and your family had a great trip and enjoyed your sightseeing in DC. Our team at the Hotel is happy you were able to experience so many of our great... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
604 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed 5 nights at a 1bedroom suite at this hotel close to Whole Foods super market and Metro. Thought the $18 tag for inside parking garage was stiff for this area but guess this is the going rate. Free breakfast was the usual stuff but after a while we needed to go somewhere else. Free dinner social Mon-Thurs was interesting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yori O
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Good Day Yori O. Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your five night stay with us here in your one-bedroom suite. It sounds like the Whole Foods down the street combined with our in room kitchen allowed you to create some delicious dishes. Thank you again for the feedback and we... More 

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,211 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
1,157 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €116 - €373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a noisy side. We were on the top floor, back side and it was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 42dave2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Swimming pool and fitness center are on 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles doric405, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a room with a view and got the cemetery which was beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles ce_younger, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room #414 was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles melaniehI4732WO, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask to see the room before you give them the card. Run the water and flush the toilet!”
 of 5 bubbles LHieb, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay