We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2455 Mandeville Lane, Alexandria, VA 22332
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$179
View deal
Travelocity
US$179
View deal
Hotels.comUS$179
Orbitz.comUS$179
PricelineUS$198
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Alexandria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the heart of Carlyle Crossing, this stylish building features ultra-modern rooms with unique vibes and various floor plans. Plush perks include free Wi-Fi, co-working spaces, multiple rooftop decks, lounge areas, indoor and outdoor fitness centers, and an outdoor pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Secured parking
Wifi
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Seating area
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
6Reviews0Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
profbrewster wrote a review 4 Aug
San Francisco15 contributions71 helpful votes
My spouse and I selected WhyHotel in Alexandria because we needed a place to stay and work for two weeks while waiting for our permanent apartment to be ready. We have been disappointed all around. The management is poor, and they seem highly understaffed. Pros: The building is new and in a location that is convenient to grocery shopping and the metro. There is great potential for this spot. Cons: - Housekeeping is terrible. - There is an extreme amount of construction noise during the day. - Our unit faces the front of the building, so there is an extreme amount of light coming in the bedroom window all night. - The air conditioning went out for some time during one of the evenings. - Parking is a mess. - The Latch app you are required to use to access the elevators and doors doesn't work much of the time. They have tried to rectify some of this. The second unit we were given was an "upgrade" since it has a patio (that has never been cleaned), but I wonder if we were given a unit that no one else wanted because of the noise and light. They claimed we would not be charged for parking given the hassle; however, we have been charged the full amount. We requested another cleaning of the apartment, and housekeeping arrived at exactly the time that my spouse and I were both starting meetings. We scheduled for them to return at a specific time, and they didn't show up. Again, lots of potential for this place, but I wouldn't recommend it unless they make some significant changes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. Please know that our team is trained to resolve a variety of issues when our guests bring them to our attention, and it is regrettable that our solutions were not to your preference in most instances. Had we known that you were still not happy, we would have done our best to rectify this. In the future, we hope you'll consider giving us another chance; we know we have what it takes to impress you.
Read more
30andover wrote a review Jul 2022
Queens NY43 contributions27 helpful votes
This is my 4th stay at a “Whyhotel” my first in the Alexandria location, we were celebrating a Birthday so the apartment setting was perfect we loved the Unit! ARRIVAL- Numerous emails were sent with room/garage elevator entry code thru app (latch).not the easiest to figure out. After finding the garage (around the corner/signage needs to be bigger) we could not get in... GARAGE/ELEVATOR- After taking a ticket..we finally got in now we have to find tye elevator..again sign is confusing says “Whyhotel” with an arrow pointing to another direction.. CUSTOMER SERVICE- we had trouble on the elevator so we see an employee of Whyhotel and ask for help, she snaps Im off the clock..but uses her code to get us to their office We finally get to their office and Tracy did not lift her head to greet/acknowledge us..she looked at us annoyed We introduced ourselves let her know about the garage code not working and she gave us paper pass with code that NEVER worked...the customer service was horrible no eye contact, no how can I make your experience better..NOTHING...we met another couple who agreed Sadly I can not recommend this location due solely to the lack of customer service, they need more training on Greeting Customers, Problem solving and follow up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for being a brand loyal guest! That said, we regret that your experience with us was not entirely what you expected. Your concerns will be discussed internally, and we assure you that we will seize all opportunities to improve our service and overall guest satisfaction. Allow us to welcome you back in the future for the five-star experience we know we're capable of.
Read more
Stephen D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The room was very clean, modern, and spacious, with a full kitchen and large bedroom. Conveniently located to old town Alexandria or a number of fun local restaurants and breweries. The bed was very comfortable and there are effective shades on the floor to ceiling windows so we were able to sleep in and relax.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear Stephen, Thank you for the outstanding review of your recent stay at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria. We're pleased our clean and comfortable accommodations exceeded your expectations, and you enjoyed our excellent location close to many of the area's exceptional restaurants and points of interest. It would be our privilege to host you again on a return visit to Alexandria.
Read more
Kate wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
Very clean and spacious - felt like a combination of a hotel and airbnb. All kitchen appliances were available and therefore extremely convenient like an airbnb while the ambience was luxurious like a high-end hotel. Having Wegmans nearby was also very convenient. The only small inconvenience was the latch app I had to use to get into the building, but got used to it very quickly and the staff came down immediately to help me in-person. Would definitely recommend others to try the place out!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at WhyHotel by Placemakr, Alexandria. We are delighted to see that you liked our clean, well-equipped rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Please come back and see us again when you are next in the area.
Read more
Taylor C wrote a review Jun 2022
Arlington, Virginia3 contributions2 helpful votes
definitely better than your average Marriot or Hilton rooms. It's clean and modern. The only issue is the app using to access the elevator is a bit wonky. but the hotel staff offered great help solving the issue quickly. This location is next to a Wegmans which was just opened in May. Easy access to metro.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Dear Taylor, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria. It is wonderful to see that you liked our clean, modern accommodations and had pleasant interactions with our friendly staff. Please come back and see us again soon!
Read more
Angela D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The WhyHotel By Placemakr in Alexandria, VA gives the convenience of home amenities with the experience of a modern boutique hotel. This property is new with top of the line appliances and technology through out the units, very nice toiletries from Public Goods, and keyless entry into the units via the Latch App. I parked in the parking garage located on the property and was able to go directly to my unit using the Latch App to gain access to the elevators and my assigned room. The app takes a few minutes to download and was a bit tricky to figure out at first but once I go the hang of it I was good to go. The unit I stayed in was a queen one bedroom unit with a living area. The décor of the unit was very sleek and modern, with lots of chrome, muted earthy tones made the space calm. All of the floors of the unit seem to be laminate (no carpet) with a ceiling to floor window in the living room/kitchen area with blinds. After walking in the door, the first room on right was the bathroom. It's a nice size with single sink vanity and standing shower with a rain showerhead. Water pressure and temperature were great. The bathroom was well stocked with towels, wash clothes and extra toilet paper. Lotion, hand soap, sanitizer, conditioner was provided in the bathroom as well. The brand was Public Goods and they seemed to be of nice quality. The living area consisted of Smart TV on a stand, a velvet couch (really a loveseat) and table with 2 padded chairs located directly behind it. The TV ran off apps so make sure you have your logins for Apple TV, Netflix, Prime Video, etc. if you want to watch TV. The kitchen was equipped with a new stove and top-range microwave, dishwasher, dish soap and sponges, silverware, cups, plates, and a k-cup coffee maker. Coffee K-cups were provided but not creamer or sugar so if you drink coffee, go to the Wegman's next door and stock up. Also the unit was missing pots (I also did not ask for any so maybe as staff if they have them in the front office.) The bedroom was small but comfy. Keeping with the minimal theme, the room housed a queen bed, a mirror on the wall closet to the sliding barn door and 2 small round tables with lamps that serve as night stands on each side of the bed, and a closet on the right wall. The tables can fit phones and a few other trinkets, my laptop would not fit. My only gripe with the bedroom is the space didn't get completely dark because of the cut out in the wall to the living area and the ceiling to floor windows not having blackout curtains. I slept well, but I woke up as soon as the sun beamed through the closed blinds. The bed was amazing! Not too hard, not to soft with plenty of pillows. Extra pillows and a fuzzy velvet blanket were stored in the room closet. There was also a front closet that contained a suitcase stand along with a full size ironing board and iron. All and all I really enjoyed the space. My stay was peaceful, quiet and restful. It's a nice alternative to traditional hotel stay. As a solo traveler I felt very safe in and around the property. I highly recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Dear Angie, Wow! Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria. We're thrilled to know that our wonderful amenities and spacious accommodations impressed you during your visit. It would be an absolute pleasure to host you again the next time you come to the area, so please, hurry back.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria
Which popular attractions are close to WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Nearby attractions include George Washington Masonic National Memorial (0.7 km), Alexandria National Cemetery (1.2 km), and National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Theismann's Restaurant, Table Talk Restaurant, and Aldo's Italian Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alexandria's Christ Church (2.2 km), Old Town (2.6 km), and Arlington House - The Robert E. Lee Memorial (6.0 km).
Does WhyHotel By Placemakr, Alexandria have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.