We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
220 South Union Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Daily Parking Package
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$199
View deal
Expedia.comUS$204
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (70)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 13/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Updated 13/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 52 hotels in Alexandria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A cradle of colonial charm in Old Town Alexandria Nestled on the shores of one of the busiest ports in early America, Hotel Indigo® Old Town Alexandria is a charming enclave of colonial treasures and historic waterfront architecture. Between Old Town's iconic cobblestones to the north and the Potomac's storied banks to the east, our boutique Alexandria hotel showcases the neighborhood's dynamic allure. Conveniently located minutes away from DCA and I-495, our hotel provides easy access to Washington D.C. Take in views of the river from our guest rooms or from the restaurant overlooking the water, then head out to explore the quaint streets of Alexandria, once home to George Washington, Robert E. Lee and Jim Morrison. Enjoy a gourmet meal at our feature restaurant, Hummingbird Bar + Kitchen, or stay active at our well-equipped fitness center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Government/Military Rate
258Reviews13Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 80
  • 23
  • 7
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jenzoj wrote a review Jul 2022
new jersey95 contributions24 helpful votes
This is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Angel at the front desk took excellent care of me and my family. Her customer service skills are top notch! The hotel itself is beautiful, modern but warm. Very clean. Our rooms were fantastic. I think it’s the only hotel in area that’s practically on the Potomac. We had one room with a beautiful view. Both rooms were very pretty, very clean and spacious. The location is perfect with many shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Every hotel employee we spoke to was lovely and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about our stay! Happy hour at the bar was fun and also had a pretty view. Lots of outdoor areas to have a drink or do some work. All clean and neat. The parking garage was right under the lobby and there was no valet which I prefer when the car is so close and we could come and go as we pleased. Great hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded today
Jenzoj, We agree that Angel is pretty great, too! Thanks for sharing the story of your stay with fellow travelers. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Read more
grammy903 wrote a review Dec 2021
Baltimore, MD42 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5 stars, A+, it can't be described any better than that! From all the IHG hotels I have stayed at, this one rates at the very top. The accommodations were amazing and the food was even better - I just can't stop saying enough great things about this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear grammy903, We're blushing! Thanks for the awesome review. We cant wait to have you back with us again. Best, Kate
Read more
NewYorkWorldExplorer wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York97 contributions106 helpful votes
Location can’t be beat — right by the waterfront in a quiet area of Old Town and yet a few steps from busy King Street. Rooms are clean and decorated in colonial modern style mix in dark color tones. Beds are comfy and the bathroom and room amenities are all satisfactory. The hotel is relatively new and recently constructed and the architecture blends well with the area. Front staff was nice and helpful. No pool and fitness center. Map and look for your own paid parking garage or good luck finding street parking. No valet.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded today
Hi NewYorkWorldExplorer - thanks for the great feedback on our staff. We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Read more
Charles N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Hotel is excellent and very clean. Perfect location. Dog friendly which i dont mind but, people really need to have their dogs sitting on the couch in lobby??? Not talking little dogs either. These are hairy hunting dogs. Sorry for people in nice outfits that sit there later and are covered with hair! That is totally wrong!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Hi Charles N, Thank you for your review and your visit to Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, Our hotel is the best place to rest in an environment that lets you experience the community around the facility. I saw your remarks and am sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. I understand your concerns about this matter. I shared your review with our local area managers and took the necessary measures to avoid this from happening. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so you can enjoy a quality stay. Warm wishes, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Holly W wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I made a reservation for 1 night on the evening of Jan 18 for the night of Jan 24th. I cancelled my reservation on the 21st - 3 days ahead of my stay and less than 3 days after making the reservation. The hotel not only charged me for the reservation, they told my credit card company (when I disputed the charge) that I had actually stayed at the hotel. The documented proof they sent to the credit card company was for a different person with a different name, email address and phone number. I am still in the process of disputing this transaction. Even though I was a rewards club member there is not even any record of my reservation in my rewards account, but I do have the email I received from Hotel indigo confirming my cancellation. This snafu has caused me untold hours of pain. This is the most effed up experience I have had when dealing with a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Hi Holly W, We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback about your experience at our Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry this happened. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. Thank you for being one of our IHG® One Rewards members. I hope you'll consider us again for your future travel needs! All the best, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Scenic776723 wrote a review Apr 2022
Austria3 contributions
Outstanding level of assistance at the main desk (Kristine). High quality restaurant integrated into the hotel. Room service somewhat spotty. Hotel decor attractive and off beat. Very close to the entertainment heart of Alexandria
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Scenic776723 - Thank so much for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers. We appreciate your high praise for Khristine as well, we agree she is a special part of our success! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Kate
Read more
Audrey H wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Stayed here with my husband for a nice weekend getaway before he left on a 12 month deployment. I heard good things but was left super disappointed. They promised a balcony room which we didn’t get. The room was certainly not “5 star” by any means. I would give it 3 stars if I’m being generous. We got room service breakfast in the morning and the entire order was wrong. Not like they gave us someone else’s order but as an example- we ordered 2 iced coffees and what was delivered was 2 drinks that appeared to be half hot coffee half iced tea. Both food orders were missing sides and tasted terrible. Wouldn’t be the end of the world but the breakfast cost $70 so I was super annoyed. The neighbors dog barked all night and every time we called the front desk about it they said they would handle it immediately but didn’t seem to do anything. The restaurant was nice but the portions are tiny for what you spend. Overall I was mad at myself for booking this for our last weekend. If you just need a quick place to stay then it would be fine. But wouldn’t recommend if you’re trying to have a special trip or splurge and treat yourself to something nice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Dear C5237QFaudreyh, We're very sorry to hear of the issue with your reservation. Please contact our General Manager, Kate, directly so we can review and help make it right.
Read more
Mickey B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Notified the manager about 30 minutes after we checked in that there was no AC. We left to go to wedding reception 2 hours later and still no fix to AC or even an update on when it would be fixed. Asked person at front desk they said theyd call someone again. Then we asked can we judt switch rooms and she said "yes you can change now or when you get back later tonight". I thought great that was easy....get back later that night there is a new guy at the front desk. The lady clearly didnt save us a room bc he told us there was a room saved and no body ever fixed the rooms AC. So we were told to suck it up and sleep in the hot room. No other alternative solution or anything. Did even offer a fan to help. Wouod give 0 stars for experience if I could. Not a bad hotel overall just hope AC doesnt go out because theyll say youre SOL.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Dear MicksTrip84, We're very sorry our unexpected serious mechanical failure impacted your stay. Unfortunately multiple rooms were affected and were unable to offer a room move or fan. We're pleased to report we have a fix and if you'd like to follow up further, please contact our General Manager, Kate.
Read more
corderosfamiliy wrote a review Feb 2022
Alexandria, Virginia5 contributions1 helpful vote
decide to have a staycation for mi 10 years anniversary , always choose IHG, but the Hotel Indigo was the perfect place, really spacious room , good views , great food. Mi room was ready before I come , the front desk was always ready to help me with mi concerns . thanks Kate , for keep this hotel in great condition, hope I can stay again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: corner suites are the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Hi Corderosfamiliy - We're so glad we were able to celebrate with you! Thanks for staying with us again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Kate
Read more
Jenna wrote a review Jan 2022
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions9 helpful votes
In the midst of a road trip from Boston to Miami, I found myself headed straight into a big winter storm around the DC area and needed a safe, cozy spot to rest for the night that wasn’t too far from I95. The staff was so lovely and inviting here and the hotel restaurant was SO DELISH and just what I needed after 2 days of driving and fast food. The beds are also super comfy. I had one of the best nights of sleep ever here. There is a parking garage conveniently located right across the street and believe the hotel does valet as well if needed. Old Town is adorable and if it was t blizzard IG outside during myself, I would have loved to explore the gorgeous Virginia waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Ellis, Owner at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Dear JJBeantown, We were happy to be here in the midst of the winter chaos. We'll gladly look forward to having you back for another road trip in the spring, summer or fall! Best, Kate, GM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$193 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandriaOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old Town (0.3 km), Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum (0.3 km), and Carlyle House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Warehouse, The Wharf, and Landini Brothers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Alexandria.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.