We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 439: English reviews
Start your review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
 Click to rate
Santee, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the inauguration of President Trump. Great place, metro station a few blocks away, then 15 mins s to downtown. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance, this is the place to stay for a trip to DC

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Management response:

Dear Kevin K, From the whole team at the Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria at Carlyle, we would like to thank you for staying with us. It is wonderful to hear you had such an amazing time staying with us. Our location is one of our largest asset's being so close to so many bars and restaurants. With the metro...

Austin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entire staff at Residence Inn Old Town was so helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the shuttle driver to the housekeeping. Willing to go above and beyond for guests. At 5am before breakfast was served they willingly provided yogurt and bananas. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast was good. They are the Chick-Fil-A of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LakeAustinTX
Management response:

Dear LakeAustinTX, The entire staff of The Residence Inn in Carlyle Alexandria would like thank you for your kind words. Our staff is the best and I know that they went above and beyond to help you during your stay. It was nice to hear you were able to enjoy our outstanding breakfast even before we opened. Thank you for...

Middletown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights at the Carlyle. The ENTIRE Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and very nice and comfortable. The Housekeeping Staff deserves kudos for their efforts daily. I was so very impressed with them. The only thing I would request is for them to change choices of bed pillows. Way too fat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise F J
Management response:

Denise, From the entire staff of The Residence Inn at Carlyle we would like to thank you for staying with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Also it was great to hear that you enjoyed the service of our Housekeeping staff. They are the best housekeeping staff in the business. I personally will...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We were a 'non-revenue' family for three nights because I paid with Marriott points. Our room was clean, but tight on space for 4 (kids are 12 and 14.). I'm glad we didn't bring the dog! There were towel sets for 3, so we had to ask for a 4th set. It was as if my request at booking wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Management response:

Julie B, The entire staff would like to thank you for staying with us at our property. I am glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and managers reception. I am sorry the room was not as large you had expected. Hopefully next time you are in town with us you can book one of our spacious two...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Good customer service with a good breakfast compared to other hotels in the United States. The room was always clean and it has all the facilities to cook. Our hair dryer broke during our stay and they replaced with a new one immediately. During the evening they offer a mini "happy hour" for the guests. Had a pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina N
Management response:

Carolina N, From the entire staff at the Residence Inn we thank you for staying with us. Your kind comments about our property have really made an impact with our staff. It is our mission to have all of our rooms clean beyond the highest standard. We are sorry about the hair dryer, but happy that we were able to...

San Diego
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I'm a Marriott Gal, and although the Residence Inn is generally not my first choice, I was truly impressed by all of the modern amenities here. Apparently, DC is the place to be in April for events and conventions, because everything was pretty much booked from Tysons Corner to DC. Thankfully, the Residence Inn Alexandria Caryle was able to accomodate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetsettinDiva08
Management response:

JetsettinDiva08 We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn. Its great that you were able to discover how amazing our property is. From our close proximity to Washington DC to our amazing amenities. We would like to apologize for our parking situation. Do to our downtown location parking can be difficult, but the Hoffman...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Nice room, amenities. Cold rude desk staff. But the kicker NO HOT WATER!!! Not for the entire duration of our stay. We were told it was a plumbing issue. Not even one apology or solution offered. How is it legal to rent out hotel rooms with NO HOT WATER?? Sucked. Happy new year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise317
Metro New York
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel because it was one of the hotels offered through the Marine Corps Marathon. My experience was absolutely superb, from my arrival through departure. The hotel itself is relatively new, in great shape and a 5 minute walk from the King Street Metro in Old Town Alexandria. Room was nice -- nothing special but well-sized and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhelmgol1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights, wife wanted to see a performance at the Folger theater in DC. Close to Metro station, so getting around was easy. Saw the Scottish Walk parade in Old Town, great time. The Hotel is a suites hotel, so we had a kitchenette, which we made little use of, but it's nice to have. My only complaint is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jake_159
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Visited D.C. Area and found this hotel to be conveniently located and reasonably priced. Amenities are what we've come to expect from Marriott. Quality of rooms is very good. Extra security by requiring room card to access elevators. Breakfast Buffet good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie P

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#12 of 53 in Alexandria
821 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,276 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Price Range: €110 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can hear the trains going past on one side of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles STGeorgia, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to determine if they have cleaned it after dog has been there.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelTreaveler, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“limit the cleaning stuff - the cleaning products have an over powering the smell”
 of 5 bubbles Capetownrio, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to the top floors for best view!”
 of 5 bubbles lisadO1833HC, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I recommend picking a room with a view of the water or rest of Alexandria.”
 of 5 bubbles C7001FSjoew, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5