We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Colony Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Colony Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Start your review of Old Colony Inn
 Click to rate
Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed during the presidential inauguration and were very pleased with the whole atmosphere and accommodations. The free breakfast was plentiful and the free shuttle was very prompt, with helpful and courteous drivers. With all the area traffic, we parked our car and used their shuttle the entire time we were there. The hotel was only three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCB273
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can't fault the hotel for charm and front of house personality. However the room was really struggling with faulty lights and taps that could not turn off. Food and hot water good and location spot on ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jonathan C, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. I apologize for the malfunctioning lights and bathroom tap, we put a lot of effort to ensure everything is working perfectly at the hotel for our guests, I’m sorry the items mentioned slipped through the cracks. On a more positive not, I’m very happy...

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed twice at the Old Colony Inn while visiting relatives in the area and have no complaints. Very comfortable beds. Generally quiet. Nice rooms and friendly, attentive service. Free parking. Reliable wifi. OK breakfast. Nothing fancy but fine for our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickSpil
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rickspil, Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when visiting your relatives in the area. We know we’re the fanciest hotel in town but we pride ourselves in our clean rooms and personalized service our team members provide. We look forward to your future stay! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have used this hotel for various occasions over the last 5 years. I used to stay here when I was visiting my family in the area. Now that I live here, I stay on occasion when I need a quiet getaway or when I have out of town guests.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank inyaheart
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Greeting inyaheart, It’s a pleasure being your “go-to” hotel in Old Town Alexandria; with so many hotels in the area, it’s truly an honored. We’re sincerely grateful of your loyalty and referrals, it’s means the world to us and look forward to many more future stays. Respectfully, Wil Laura

Coram, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice, clean, helpful, great hotel. I would stay here again. It was a great location and very nice. It was close to the Capitol and surrounding areas. We got the shuttle service for free to the metro. It was a great service. Breakfast was great with alot of variety of food.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 201darlenek
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello 201darlenek, I’m thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and found out location, cleanliness, and breakfast perfect for your adventure into Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria. We can’t wait to welcome you back and promise to exceed your expectations. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good overall rating. We had a problem with the lack of support of our bed in our room. This was immediately and properly handled by the staff. We will be returning next week. Descent choices at the complimentary breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelsO8107RE
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello michaels08107RE, Thank you for staying with us. We’re delighted we corrected the issue quickly and, most importantly, to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kindly, Wil Laura

Manitoba
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Older hotel was very clean, staff all helpful and friendly, location is about a mile from everything on King Street, but free shuttle to metro and King as well as Ronald Reagan airport, which took 7 minutes. Free continental breakfast which has something for everyone. Lots of free parking. Rooms a bit dated but comfy beds. 0verall a great stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigrockr
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Greetings bigrockr, I’m delighted you had such a great stay us with. We know we’re not the newest hotel on the block but pride ourselves in the personal service we provide, our comfortable clean room, and perfect location from both DC and Old Town Alexandria. I’m happy you took advantage of our shuttle, as the driver is more than happy...

Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The great- Parking was easy and even some spaces under the building. The breakfast attendant made sure everything was clean and filled. There were all kinds of fresh fruit to go along with all the usual motel breakfast buffets, even real silverware and dishes if one wanted! The ok- We didn't realize there was no elevator, so our original second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dldngm
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello dldngm, Thank you for your staying with us and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We’re happy you enjoyed our complimentary parking, breakfast service, and food that we provided. I apologize for being unable to accommodate your request to be on the first floor. Unfortunately, we have very limited handicap accessible rooms, and are unable to relocate...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We are flying away and wanted to leave our car under cover and sleep near the airport. Polite staff clean room and breakfast and a van to the airport. What else do u want. Oh and free cookies when u check in!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_in_DC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello Stuart in DC, Thank you for your kind review. We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our freshly baked cookies perfect as a check in treat. We hope you had a wonderful vacation! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights during our annual mother daughter weekend. The hotel was convenient to sites of Alexandria, D.C. And National Harbor. We were able to visit an array of different areas and enjoy our time together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brien-duch
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Hello brien-duch, We’re honored you made us part of your special annual weekend. It truly means a lot. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again during your next special weekend. Respectfully, Wil Laura

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €105 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Colony Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Bethesda, Maryland
over a year ago
York, United Kingdom
Dundee, Michigan
Tallahassee, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Old Colony Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor, no elevator but there is a wheelchair lift”
 of 5 bubbles DCB273, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No noise on second floor”
 of 5 bubbles bigrockr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are old and beat up.”
 of 5 bubbles 90steve52, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you let the check in desk know if you need handicap bathroom with bars around the tub. The handicap lift needs to be updated.”
 of 5 bubbles payob, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ask for main floor room if you have trouble with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles colann76, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5