We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

900 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 881: English reviews
Apex, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We always have good experiences at Hampton Inns. This one offers a free shuttle to the Metro and to the downtown area which we used several times. The staff at Hampton Inns must get special training in customer service because they are exceptional in this category.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherilyn J
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Sherilyn, Thank you for the positive comments on your recent stay with us and I agree, our staff is fantastic. I'll let them know your thoughts. Hope you will visit again soon. More 

chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Rooms looked new and fresh, very clean. I had a great handicapped room. I used the laundry service, that was fast. Breakfast hours were great, until 10am. Very full breakfast. Fridge in room, microwave and coffeemaker. Will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marsha F
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for the great rating and I hope you will return to the area again soon. More 

Southwick, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2016

This is a great location in that it's near Old Town and close to the Metro. They have free shuttle service to both locations. Free Breakfast is included each day. We parked our car and didn't have to use it during our visit to Washington

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Micheal P
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Michael, I am very happy you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for giving us such a gret rating. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

This Hampton Inn was a busy place! There were many couples, singles, and a school field trip in the hotel for the weekend. The room and common areas were very clean. The room was spacious and quiet. It is great to have a fridge and small "kitchen" space so you can bring in your own food or store leftovers. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen F
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Mary Ellen, Thank you for the kind words and the detailed comments on your stay. I will share them with the rest of the staff. More 

Shady Side, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Feels like home. All the staff in ALL departments say hello, even those who's first language is not English. I have never seen a hotel where everyone seems to feel ownership and pride. I've never seen an employee walk past a piece of paper on the floor and not pick it up. Everyone joins in and helps others and never... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roxanna R
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Roxanna, Thank you for the great rating and staying with us. We enjoy having feedback so we can share it with the rest of the staff. See you again soon. More 

Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2016

From reservation agents to front desk reps, I have never experienced bad service like at this hotel. Employees were short tempered, unfriendly, and not helpful at all. I called to ask one question the same morning I checked out and was quickly transferred to central reservations even though I did not need to make a reservation. Called back and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlobalAviation
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I will relay your comments to the proper department and I hope you will give us another chance to give you the proper experience we want all of our guests to receive. More 

Henrico, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Clean and nice. I didn't stay long enough to enjoy anything other than the room and the bath room. and was was important to me was sleeping in a clean & safe environment. That is what I received. I could not ask for more

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Kimberly, Thank you for staying with us and to write a review on it. I hope you will visit with us again soon. More 

Flemington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Nothing special, nothing horrible. A highway hotel that was a conference hotel. Front desk seemed crowded with employees upon arrival, and through them for a loop by using electronic check in. Parking lot had a car on blocks that was immediate "whats going on here" thought when arriving. Ice machine didn't work on the floor all 5 days there, so... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Howard B
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Howard, Thank you for staying with us while you were here on business. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I hope you will give us another chance to make it right. More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Comfortable and pleasant, but would have enjoyed a heated pool to occupy me and the kids. No discount didn't sit well with me either. The hotel was hard to get to, due to the location and traffic. If you blink you will surely miss your turn into this hotel. Metro buses were available and there was a couple of places... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. Our pool is an outdoor seasonal pool and will open on Memorial Day weekend. The guest room night stand has 3 drawers and the TV stand has additional drawers. I hope you will visit with us again soon. More 

Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016

My husband and I stay at Hampton Inn Old Town Alexandria for a weekend. Checkin was convenient, was able to do it online and select my room. Room was average, no thrills. Hair was found on the floor in the bathroom and in the tub but otherwise room was clean. Bed was extremely comfortable! Staff was nice. Breakfast was offered... More 

Helpful?
Thank 262JenniferW
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I will share your comments with the rest of the staff. We hope you will think of us when you return to the area. More 

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €93 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
hebron, ky
over a year ago
Stafford Springs
Syracuse, New York
29 days ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick any other hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JML-JPL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you avoid road noise...Ask for rooms that face away from the main road, and/or higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles TA10001, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a little traffic noise on the street side, so it may be worth paying the extra $8 per night to get a room on the golf course side.”
 of 5 bubbles classicaphilia, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Handicap room is huge”
 of 5 bubbles AprilL971, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the back, away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles Q2623DVroberta, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay