We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 913: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple weeks on business. Best part about Hampton Inn and Suites is the staff, very welcoming, especially the concierge Dale. Fresh cookies baked most nights in the lobby, as well as a decent sized fridge for your own food in your room. Complimentary waffles and fresh fruit for breakfast was nice to wake up to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed two additional nights in Alexandria since our flight was cancelled. Our first three nights stay was at another location and was more accessible to King Street. However our stay at Hampton Inn worked well as the hotel provided free shuttle rides to the Metro. Walking, in my opinion, is not an option while staying here. Actually walking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Railsback
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am sorry your flight was cancelled, but glad you stayed with us and the driver and Sharma made it pain-free. I will let our Executive Housekeeper know about the housekeeper that attended to your room about what a great job she did.

baltimore md, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great last minute reservation with great service and accomodations. Staff allowed late departure due to sickness and was helpful in supplying needed toiletries which I forgot. Room view was great overlooking the golf course and the river. Late arrival was guaranteed and appreciated

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William F
Barrington, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very hard to get to from the other side of the street! You have to pass the hotel and make a U turn at the light. The turn for the entrance is NOT marked at all and the entrance looks like you are turning into an office complex because it is BEFORE the hotel. If you pass...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kappa4
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great time. Everything was perfect. Everyone was very pleasant, the rooms were spacious and cleaned every day and breakfast was excellent. Only drawback was no indoor pool. We will definitely go back to that hotel when we go back for competition next year.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V2224FKlindaf
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been a Hilton Honors member for over 6 years and his was by far the absolute worst experience I have had with any Hilton hotel. Staff was not courteous and appeared to be more interested in personal conversations rather than acknowledging the patrons. Please see comments through the survey.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3217RAkevind
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very friendly staff telling us about the free 24 hr shuttle, and free hot breakfast. Free coffee on the way to the elevator. Clean room nice and quiet stay. The hotel is very close to the national harbor. Definitely will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LALA238
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

LALA238, thank you for the great rating. We appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to having you back again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving I was greeted with a smile. The Staff was polite and very accommodating. I was informed of great new digital features that Hampton offers to make my stay, checking and other amenities more enjoyable. The HI&S in Alexandria, VA. was clean, quite, comfortable and easily accessible getting on and off the beltway.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine W
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Christine, thank you so much for the great rating. I will pass along your comments to the staff. I hope you get a chance to try the new Digital Key on your next visit.

Oxon Hill, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay with my daughter. My only complaint is that I was not recognized as a Hilton Honors member. It would have been nice for the staff to welcome their HHR guest. Other then that the room was nice. A bit out of date but pretty good for a nice getaway.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lapre03
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Lapre03, I am very sorry that you were not recognized as a Hilton Honors member. We very much appreciate the loyalty of our members. I will pass your comments along to the staff for additional training. I hope you will visit with us again.

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay. Nice friendly staff. Nice swimming pool. Nice breakfast. Room was great too. We stayed in a small studio which was great for the 4 of us. Complimentary shuttle to the old town is fantastic. The return to the hotel just make the phone call and they will pick you up. The reason it's not 5...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Evelien K
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Please come back this summer and enjoy our new expanded hours for our pool. It is a law in our county that we must have a licensed life guard on duty at all times our pool is open. Hope to have you back again.

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
700 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €120 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
hebron, ky
over a year ago
Stafford Springs
Syracuse, New York
3 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 2 rooms joining and the end of hall, near the stairs, worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles 326redb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“despite being near the highway we've never had noise complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles joebobbilly, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick any other hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JML-JPL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you avoid road noise...Ask for rooms that face away from the main road, and/or higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles TA10001, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a little traffic noise on the street side, so it may be worth paying the extra $8 per night to get a room on the golf course side.”
 of 5 bubbles classicaphilia, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5