We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Location OK, useful shuttle service. Reception desk staff gave unenthusiastic welcome on arrival. Breakfast was ordered off menu and table staff could not keep up with guest volume, had to wait quite a while for a seat, then for a coffee, then for food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alice3276
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear alice3276, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered particularly with the if the service level provided by hotel staff was below average. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This hotel is clean and well run. The staff us friendly and helpful. The shuttle is available to and from the airport, in addition, the shuttle will take you down to King Street, which has a lot of entertainment and shopping. Great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPerez820
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We loved the hotel location because you could walk to several places plus free hotel shuttle and the metro bus was near by. Breakfast buffet was a little pricey to me $15.00 but overall good. The room was nicely updated and we got a microwave when my husband asked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs and that you found our rooms accommodating. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always motivating when one takes the time...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I was in town on a government related trip for a few days. The hotel was average, room, lobby, gym/pool areas were clean. On my first day when I arrived I thought there was a strange musky smell in the hallway of my room. But after I came and left a few times I did not notice anything. The king...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Keith K, We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition and feedback on our hotel. We are happy you found your accommodations and facilities to be clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We are glad you chose us for your stay, and anticipating your return to serve you again.

Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nice standard Holiday Inn--dependable brand that did not disappoint. We got three rooms recently for a bit of a family reunion and touring DC. Check in was flawless and friendly (we had made reservations a month in advance). The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The bathrooms were a bit dated, but again, clean, big enough, and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yellowrider221
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear yellowrider221, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are also very thankful for the kind you had about the Holiday Inn and I am so glad that our Housekeeping staff was able to make your stay extra special. You're valued by us for being our loyal guest. It is our pleasure...

Paris, France
Reviewed 21 August 2016

huge room very comfortable Very clean and good breakfast - Personal very helpful - shuttle available to reach underground to Washington DC Very quiet area very closed to the center (10 min by walking) -

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michfr132807
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear michfr132807, Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are happy that you were please with your overall experience. We love knowing we have accomplished our goal. We look forward to you returning.

Gillingham, kent
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a visit to DC. Alexandria is a lovely, quaint old town which surpassed our expectations and was the highlight of DC for us. Lots of delicious restaurants, bars and ice cream close to the Potomac and HI do a free shuttle to the old town every hour, though it's not too long a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joandherboys
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear joandherboys, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything from the rooms to the surrounding area. It is great to know that you would recommend us to others. We are extremely pleased that everyone had a positive experience and certainly hope to see you again in the...

Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The HI is located in a safe neighborhood, and is within walking distance of several restaurants . It is a older property, but has large rooms and they are very clean. The shuttle is pretty efficient. There is complimentary coffee in the restaurant in the morning. So what is the main function of the attendant in the pool area? Is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbpackerfan62
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Up to today, the stay was as expected from a Holiday Inn with no complaints. However, today after our room was cleaned and a day done exploring D.C I go to wash up but discovered that my orthodontic retainers were missing from the sink's countertop. They weren't placed on the floor or some T.V mantle but the sinks counter space....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin l
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Justin l, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I would to to apologize on behalf of the Holiday Inn the trouble this has caused you. We will be following up with our staff on the issue highlighted and make improvements. The item may have been misplaced and found after check-out or if...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Rooms large and well-appointed. Very meagre supplies for the coffee machine - one normal, one decaff pod and no tea. Half-hourly shuttle to Reagan Airport/Metro. From afternoons, hourly shuttle to King Street for restaurants. c15 minute walk to Braddock Road Metro (not 8 minutes, as claimed by reception desk). Two or three restaurants within a couple of blocks south on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186411Visitor
Adely G, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear 186411Visitor, We very much appreciate the feedback that you provided us about the Holiday Inn. I am sorry for the slow service. We will try to work harder to improve our service to all our guests at the restaurant. Once again, thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again to demonstrate our improvements.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#19 of 53 in Alexandria
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €96 - €262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had one of the few first floor rooms and it was nice not having to wait on an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles N4685CKjohns, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Place is really quiet. Fitness Center and pool are on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles CPerez820, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles yellowrider221, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for everything you need before you arrive - fridge, microwave, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Gjm1949, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request a quiet room well in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles bill2013227, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay