We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
Lexington Park, Maryland
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We stayed here last Saturday night for one night. We arrived in the area around noon and our room was ready, which was great. Parking is a 20$ fee and the entrance to the parking area is right behind the back of the hotel. They give you a key when you check in that will help you get in and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia R
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Tricia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff and our hotel. We're happy our location was the optimum in convenience for your...

Salina, Kansas
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile

Very pleased, the only reason I did not give a 5 was that I could not access the internet from my room, and yes, I did mention it to the front desk after the second night. I was there on business, I needed the internet. Room was comfortable. Breakfast were good. Shuttle service to DCA at 5 and 35 after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear PaulF, Thank you for your wonderful comments and recognition of our hotel's convenience and our great location. It was definitely our pleasure to serve you. We're glad we could provide you with the accommodations, comfort and convenience. We're sorry that we had a shortcoming during your stay because of the WiFi that didn't work well for you. We are...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Got out of work for the day and had a great greating from Karen at the front desk. Her humor was enjoyable. A quick dinner at the bar with some associates was enjoyable thanks to BIll. He provided great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear James K, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We are so glad you were comfortable and that the service you received gained notoriety to of our Front Desk Representative and Bartender. It is our pleasure to serve our guest. We look forward to...

Naples
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I wrote a less than complimentary review a year ago basically because the advertised Wi-Fi was pretty much nonexistent. This year I had a strong signal in my room!!! That room was large, clean and comfortable as was the bath. It was a very positive hotel experience...one small concern is the breakfast for which there is an additional charge. Walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFL
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear TravelerFL, Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations and that the hotel was at the perfect location for you. Glad you were able to enjoy what our area had to offer. We're glad that you were...

Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Hotel is very nice located close to Washington where I was staying on business. Staff was attenttive, but not overly friendly. Breakfast was ok can't compare to the Holiday Inn in Richmond, VA. Where the service was exceptional.... Unsure if I will return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Browniect107
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Browniect107, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. Receiving constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We...

Litchfield Park, Arizona
Reviewed 27 October 2014

A good room but about as far away from the elevator as could be. Good WiFi and free. Breakfast was good but replenishment was a little slow and wait staff were a little too mean to clear the tables. Check in staff failed to add my loyalty number. Airport shuttle was not be be relied on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RepUSA
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear RepUSA, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Receiving your constructive comments such as yours helps where we can work harder to serve, assist and accommodate our guest better. We are sorry our restaurant didn't maintain the service you would have expected. We train our staff to exceed our guest's expectations. We...

Tonawanda, New York, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Our group was greeted each morning at breakfast by our cheerful server Alicia. She was most accommodating, efficient and made you feel very comfortable. She put everyone in a good mood to start the day and is an excellent role model for other servers. Rooms were spacious & clean, and the shuttle service was an added bonus that our group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear TomL, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. Your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your name recognition of our staff, we take pride in our ability to serve our guest. We hope you return...

Grand Island, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Our group of seven from Buffalo were served each day by Alicia, a most ebulant and cordial server. Our visit to Alexandria was highlighted each morning by Alicia's smiling face and greeting. The shuttle service to the historic areas of Alexandria saved us time and cab fare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Jame M, Thank you for your comments and name recognition of our staff. We take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We love to know we have succeeded in making your stay a wonderful experience. It is our pleasure to serve you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 September 2014

I loved the location of this hotel because it's a short drive to the Airport and to the Capital. The Internet was also pretty fast compared to other holiday express hotels. The continental breakfast was amongst the best when compared to other Holiday Inn Express Hotels. My only issue is that I killed several cockaroaches throughout my 2 night stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melendew2010
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Melendew2010, Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are sorry you experienced the intrusion of pest. However, pest inspections and pest prevention...

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Don't even try to watch Netflix. Internet times out every 2 minutes. So glad I didn't pay for the Internet service!!! Pillows are rock hard and they do not stock any other options. Requested and promised a specific room months ago only to have it unavailable on arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieMac1226
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear KatieMac1226, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Receiving constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve, assist and accommodate our guest better. We would have preferred you would have been pleased entirely with your overall experience during your stay. We apologize that you were not pleased...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €128 - €284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get a true suite with kitchen if that's what you're looking for!”
 of 5 bubbles paulbR5766MM, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had one of the few first floor rooms and it was nice not having to wait on an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles N4685CKjohns, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Place is really quiet. Fitness Center and pool are on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles CPerez820, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles yellowrider221, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for everything you need before you arrive - fridge, microwave, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Gjm1949, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5