We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Expedia.comUS$122*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$122*
Great Deal
US$125*
US$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 452: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
 Click to rate
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is clearly going through some updates but seems to have been neglected for a while. The coffee bar had a white sheet around it and a sign that the hotel was undergoing renovations (though I didn't see any activity during my four-day stay). I did, though, see some construction at the demolished block in front of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corissa R
Chicago
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is not that expensive for the Location: close to King Street and few blocks award from the river. Although it has not much public transportation near by you can always use free shuttle to the airport and go from there anywhere else. Or just walk to Blue Line of metro and get to the Mall. I just stayed one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Alex L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Anna G, Thank your for feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did and are happy to see that you found your stay enjoyable and our location convenient. We'll be glad to see you if you are ever back in Oldtown.

Springfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thankfully, the hotel is presently under renovation. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The overall decor is quite "institutional" in beiges. The rugs in the rooms appear to be thread-bare. Upon closer examination, however, it appears the patterned rug was chosen to look that way! We had both breakfast and dinner in the "restaurant" (cafe really)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda d
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you tried our restaurant and appreciate the feedback, this helps to ensure that train in the areas that need training so that future guest don't have a similar experience. If your travels ever bring you back to Alexandria we hope that you will stay with us...

Madison, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for four nights as I was chaperoning for a school trip to Washington. This hotel was very accommodating to our group of thirty 8th graders! They were currently undergoing a renovation of the 4th floor only as of March 2017. The room itself was great, more spacious than the average hotel room. Beds and pillows were comfortable, also....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanner G
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

stayed just one night in April. Firstly let me say apparently the hotel is going through refurbishment so things may improve !. Arrived at 2pm to be told no rooms ready until 3 pm, ok I can live with that as its what it says on the website , although as an IHG gold member thought things may have moved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spoff2016
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear spoff2016, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory check-in experience you had and for not living up to your expectations regarding our rooms and dining options. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Town in Alexandria for spring break. We had a group of 8 girls and 4 adults. Dixie the Manager took great care of us! The accommodations and breakfast were great! Our shuttle driver David was very pleasant and gave us tips and advice on how to further enjoy our trip. Thanks Dixie for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjoden
Alex L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

tjoden, We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Dixie was a part of that. We are also glad that you found your accommodations and breakfast to exceed your expectations. We strive to make sure our guest feel...

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

At a little less than $300 a night I expected much more comfort. (2-night stay) To start the room was less than comfortable for a "just renovated" room. Pros: Hotel & room appeared clean and most staff was friendly. Cons: The heat did not work and the loud fan ran constantly. The overwhelming stench of cheap new carpet made me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AllUSAGrl
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

AllUSAGrl, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our goal is to consistently provide exceptional service and we are sorry that we did not do this during your stay. We apologize for the various issue you had during your stay but want you to know that we take your comment seriously and will make sure that it...

darien
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Very pleasant service. However, the hotel is supposedly having a renovation, and it needs one. I wouldn't step foot in the bath tub. There was no bathroom fan, and the faucet in the sink leaked. Breakfast was okay one morning and poor the next. I did have a good Caesar's Salad with shrimp. I hope it is upgraded soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 29dora
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear 29dora, Hello from IHG! I read your review about the Holiday Inn Alexandria - Old Town, VA. Your stay means more than you know. We strive to always provide exemplary service and I am thrilled to see that you found the service pleasing. I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts about the dated condition of the property, particularly the...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

As a Spire Elite member, there is always the hope of a room upgrade, however on this occasion I was put in the worst room in the hotel rm103. Aside that the carpet is stained, as is the wall by the bed, the bath is cracked, there is only one very small window that overlooks the corner of a courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Griffmil
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Hi Griffmil, Thanks for sharing feedback, we're glad to have hosted one of our IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite members. I regret to learn that that this particular stay fell below your expectations of a quality Holiday Inn property as you were let down by the condition of your assigned room and the quality of food items offered at breakfast....

Mount Vernon, Texas
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I like staying at Holiday Inns because the service is always good; their rooms are clean; and the food is good. The staff is always friendly and courteous. I can usually find a Holiday Inn in the area that I need to stay. I had a wonderful 4-night stay here. This property is convenient to Reagan-National Airport, minutes to Old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebel142

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: €100 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room with a balcony if they are available.”
910tannerg, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a true suite with kitchen if that's what you're looking for!”
paulbR5766MM, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had one of the few first floor rooms and it was nice not having to wait on an elevator.”
N4685CKjohns, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Place is really quiet. Fitness Center and pool are on second floor.”
CPerez820, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard with a balcony”
yellowrider221, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$122* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUS$125
Booking.comUS$125
HotelsClickUS$126
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates