We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Found the place to be very nice. Clean rooms. Small breakfast option. Full size refrigerator. I thought the parking lot and entry area was a bit dirty. Walking distance to food. We ran to the trail in two short blocks. Will try this again on our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Bob - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our clean rooms and convenient location. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early August. We were able to secure an affordable rate through Hotwire so we weren't expecting the world. However, we would've at least appreciated cleanliness. The countertop in the kitchen was dirty with pale orange smears all over it. The kitchen does not come equipped with the usual cutlery, cups and plates you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Emma - Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that your room was not cleaned properly. We will review your feedback with our housekeeping staff to make sure every room is cleaned to our standards. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, at...

London
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 5th & 6th August 2014. We wanted to be close to downtown, but at an affordable price. The prices of hotels in downtown Austin are extremely high. Even this hotel, at $160 per night, was not cheap considering how basic the hotel was. But the alternatives were charging between $300 to $500 per...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaplinmark
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your comments about your spacious room and your kitchen; however, I regret to read that your room had a smoke odor. I will meet with my housekeeping staff to review cleanliness standards so that we can work to prevent odors in the future. As well, I do...

Reviewed 30 July 2014

First, the location: You can walk to South Congress, Town Lake Park, downtown -- it's really very nicely situated. However, it's very basic. The bed is not particularly comfortable and there are NO accoutrements in the room. You have to request coffee cups, coffee pot, dishes, silverware, etc. We even had to ask for an alarm clock. They accept pets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodieschmoodie44
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so we are disappointed to hear that you did not appreciate our new customizable kitchen packs. We store our kitchenware in a sterile environment so that we can ensure our guests are receiving the...

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I recommend paying more to stay somewhere else. When we arrived at 4:30, they said we would need to wait to check in so they could have a "clean" room for us. The wait was only about 10 minutes but the room was not clean. The first thing we noticed was that the room smelled strongly like body odor. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crystal F
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding your room not being cleaned properly is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As...

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a good budget hotel that is close to downtown, and it has free parking. It is not a typical hotel, though. There is no daily maid service, no pool or exercise room, and the hotel can be fairly noisy, even though there is a quiet time from 10:00 pm on. The noise is from the doors opening and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C I
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and that you found us to be a good value. Still, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our breakfast selection. Thank you...

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I got a great price on this from one of those "don't show you the name" sites last trip to Austin, and I found it adequate. I disagreed with that web site's star rating for the place: there is no maid service, however you may exchange soiled towels at the front desk, there is a kitchen in each room, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C I
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad to read that your stay was pleasant overall. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room at a convenient location. Still, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be...

Honolulu, HI
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in June. First of all the price was fantastic. I got a deal for $56 + tax on Priceline (one of Priceline's Express Deals). The location was perfect. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown Austin. I had a meeting on Congress St. which was just a short 4-5 block walk. The meeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honolulutraveler
Colorado
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is the place to stay if you need to be in Austin on a budget. The nicer hotels in the area can be very expensive and this one was very reasonable when we were there. The hotel itself is nice and the bed was comfortable but it does not have some of the other amenities that the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin_from_Colorado
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments about our reasonable price and our comfortable beds. We are pleased to read that you found our hotel to be a good value. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Generally a nice place to stay. Kitchen is equipped quite bascially. Nearest supermarket is driving distance away. Location is fair, just outside the dowtown centre but close to alot of public transport. Rooms are alright, fairly clean. All in all alright. I felt that the reception could use with extra staff, they are often on the phone or answering queries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Remi S

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 197 in Austin
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 South First Street, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: €125 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake Texas
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you ask for kitchen gear before you go to your room--nothing is provided ahead of time!”
 of 5 bubbles LaViajera007, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on ground floor opposite car park and it was fairly quiet, but it was a Monday/Tuesday. Might be noisier on the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles fmckay, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Preview the room before accepting it?”
 of 5 bubbles 464hansp, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles AustinSkier22, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a scrubber for utensils cleaning, dish detergent available at hotel”
 of 5 bubbles bobbyfaith, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5