We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Aiken

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, let me tell you that I am a fan of the town of Aiken, especially the old center of town! Second, let me tell you that I travel on business, a lot, and typically stay in the Hampton, HI Express, Courtyard, Country Inn & Suites, Hilton Garden Inn type hotels wherever I go (and Aiken has them all) ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bamafoody
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Farmington, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Supposedly a 3-star hotel, this place has the ambiance of flop-house. The room we had in the main building was in disrepair - peeling wallpaper and evidence of mold. The lobby and public areas were dirty. The elevator ('the oldest in S. Carolina') required a member of staff to run it. Worst of all, on weekend nights the hotel bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
Management response:

So sorry we were unable to make your stay and enjoyable one. Thank You for your comments it can only help us improve.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights as evacuees during Matthew. Keep in mind this an old hotel with lots of potential character. For example the elevator. Oldest operating elevator in SC. Everyone is super nice especially during this busy time. Rooms are small, think New York, but nice. Really could use some TLC. Spoke to owners a few times. Very nice and understanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
Management response:

Thank you for your wonderful response. Matthew did put quite the challenge on our staff that is not use to such a full house for so long. I'm so glad my staff was able to fill your needs. Please come back and visit anytime.

Beaufort, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Ok....I made a joke on FB after checking in that we were checking into the Haunted Mansion. It is a very historic hotel, the floors creak, each room has a sealed up dumb waiter, the elevator as we were told IS an "experience". However in the one day we were there we absolutely loved it. There is such a happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecillia B
Management response:

Thank you so much for your response. We do love our old creaky hotel, but we love our guests more. Thank you for the compliments of the staff I will make sure and pass it on. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed Hotel Aiken. It is very old, so you really have to take that into consideration. The rooms were clean and the staff were very nice. That is really all that matters to us. Updates are being made. We will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Yes our hotel is 118 years old and full of history. We glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Reviewed 3 September 2016

I took the advice of fellow reviewers and asked for a room away from the music. We got a room across the parking lot in their "motel" annex. It was very run down. We stayed for 2 nights (Aug 26 & 27). When we woke in the morning....7:30/8:00 there was maybe a serving spoonful of scrambled eggs left, five small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl3045
Management response:

Thank you so much for the review. We are always looking for ways to improve and feedback like yours does just that. So thank you and we will do our best in the future. Please if you come back and are faced with a limited breakfast, let the staff know and we will cook you anything you need. Thanks again.

Reviewed 16 August 2016

The hotel is a bit rundown but it is a fun place to be at. The people are great and very friendly. They have breakfast in the morning. The food is very good. It is in a central location, downtown to be exact with lots of small shops and restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty G
Management response:

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The above photo is not even close to the room we were assigned. Ours was dirty, and so small you could not pull luggage between the beds and the tv. when we arrived, there were no bath towels in the room...In the bath was a 3 inch hole in the wall where the toilet tissue holder had been pulled out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne h
Management response:

Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have 68 rooms and 43 of them are all different in size and style. Again thank you for your comments it will help us in improving the guest experience.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Aiken for a weekend in the outside building. It was pretty dated, all of the outside rooms could definitely use an upgrade. Also there was no liner in the shower, just a cloth shower curtain, my friends stayed in the room next to mine and they said they had the same thing, so whenever you shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMO921
Management response:

Thank you for your response to your stay. We here at the Hotel Aiken are always trying to make improvements. We thank you for your comments it is what helps us get better.

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Aiken for one night. I was upgraded to the main building at no extra charge. The facilities could use some care, some of the first floor common areas were unused and run down. But the hotel has a very historic feel- rooms with high ceilings and antique-feeling furniture. It reminded me of a European inn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levnc
Management response:

Thank You so much for your comments.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
0.4 km away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
225 reviews
4.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: €54 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
 of 5 bubbles bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
 of 5 bubbles 483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no way ..were told they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles V8707PIanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“The main building is quaint and apparently quieter than the annex. I would ask if they have any rooms that have been remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles _ncemily27526, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get an elevator ride with Michael, worth the entire trip!”
 of 5 bubbles BrianH135, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay