We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good43%
  • Average26%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
  • 11 Aug 2016
    “Not what it used to be but veyr cheap”
  • 16 Aug 2015
    “Only two nights but great value in central KL”
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Free Parking
1 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Serai Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for a week to attend a conference nearby. I am a post-graduate and it was my first visit to Malaysia. I read about many good reviews about the owner and I am glad I have chosen this place. The people here can...More

Date of stay: March 2014
Thank Matilda_Lin
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, mainly beause of the nice Chinese people running the place, the clean shared showers with hot water and the proximity to the LRT and Myanmar visa agency (which was the reason for spending 2 nights in KL). Also the price...More

Date of stay: February 2014
1  Thank MarkPrague
Reviewed 4 January 2014

L&G, I am really disappointed reading about some people claming that Serrai Inn is not a good hotel. I am a respectable Algerian citizen who spent more than 31 days in this hotel, where I found it very good, helpful personnel and very kind manager...More

Date of stay: December 2013
Thank Wail L
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here after a mix up with our booking through booking.com and so we didn't lose any money decided to stay a couple of days. The rooms were very small and dirty, the free wifi only worked on one floor and the management were...More

Date of stay: November 2013
Thank mikey03438
Response from Lemongrass168, Owner at Serai InnResponded 22 December 2013

Mike made a mistake thinking that the rental for an A/C double room was RM76 for three nights (ie. RM25.30 per night) when he made a booking via a well established booking website. Actually, the rental was RM76 per night. We explained to him there...More

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Dreadful money grabbing and unpleasant owner. Rooms are minute shoe boxes without windows and everything costs extra from towels to breakfast. Yes, they 'say' breakfast is included but this is a lie. You have to pay for everything apart from a slice of bread. This...More

Date of stay: September 2013
Thank RichardH267
Response from Lemongrass168, Owner at Serai InnResponded 28 September 2013

Richard Hoskins booked for two nights and made the full payment upon arrival. Then, he changed his mind at 8pm to cancel his stay for the second night. He has obviously given us less than 24 hours' notice. We even offered him to change his...More

View more reviews
Clean, quiet and homey - Serai Inn is a newly established hostel run by backpackers for backpackers. We are three "travel-holics" who have travelled to 31 countries across 5 continents. Our passion in More traveling, experiencing different cultures and meeting people from all over the world has prompted the idea of establishing a 'home' for the like-minded people. Serai Inn is established mostly based on what we have learned when traveling. Rest assured, as backpackers ourselves we understand your needs and we are committed to make your holiday a sweet memory. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel class
Number of rooms
Also Known As
Serai Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel class
Number of rooms
Also Known As
Serai Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby HotelsSee all 396 nearby hotels
Arenaa Star Hotel
542 reviews
.04 km away
YY48 Hotel
23 reviews
.14 km away
Hotel 1915 Kuala Lumpur
293 reviews
.15 km away
Happy Holiday Hotel
27 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5,184 nearby restaurants
FS Nasi Kandar Corner
174 reviews
.17 km away
LOKL Coffee Co.
471 reviews
.07 km away
Betel Leaf
528 reviews
.11 km away
296 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 833 nearby attractions
Sultan Abdul Samad Building
952 reviews
.46 km away
Sin Sze Si Ya Temple
143 reviews
.42 km away
KL Forest Eco Park
338 reviews
.35 km away
Jalan Masjid India
672 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Serai Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you like quiet place better don't choose a room with window because they are facing the main road...."
30 Mar 2014
Read review
"Rooms are basically 2 rows of parallel thin walls in a big space, so lots of them will have no window. Ask..."
6 Mar 2014
Read review
"Go elsewhere"
27 Sep 2013
Read review
"Don't choose single rooms, as they're way too small for comfort. The dorms are a lot more..."
24 Jul 2012
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing