We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Istana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Istana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,093: English reviews
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 26 November 2014

It was raining and the driveway was wet. I fell when I alighted from the taxi. Upon investigation, I found that they used the wrong epoxy coating on the driveway which made it extremely slippery with water. This epoxy coating contravene international safety standard. Suggest u get the hotel to rectify before some serious happens to someone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lim B T T
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Limm B T T, Thank you for your review. We regret you had a slip and fall and hope you are doing well. We have so many guest coming in and out of our main doors and we never had any issues as isolated incidents like yours can occur anywhere and anytime. We take these feedback very seriously and...

Abergavenny, South Wales
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Our first trip to KL, a 3 day stay before travelling to Cambodia. Early morning arrival from UK, so emailed hotel to ask for early check in. Staff were so very helpful on arrival (and every day) Stayed in Club room so taken by reception staff to check in on 20th floor Club Lounge where we met the very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julieE45
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear julieE45, Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We very happy to see the 5 stars. The fellow guest will definitely appreciate your writing in such details. The Associates are really happy to see that you have enjoyed so much. Audrey and her team at...

Barnsley
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We stayed for one night only en route to Australia, room 1339 Superb service excellent, food and drink excellent needless to say we are returning next weekend for two nights and will put another review on then.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyGoldenoldies
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear BarnsleyGoldenoldies, Thank you so much as you have made our day. We are absolutely looking forward to your return and have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please call us if you need anything at all. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Limpertsberg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Ask a room not close to the elevator, room was quiet cold, bathroom needs renovations, also the furniture in the room. Bed was good. Fridge doesn't work without the card to activate the power in the room. Very friendly staff, the lobby is very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred V
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Fred V, We are very happy to see your constructive feedback and rest assured I am taking note of all the issues. Please do accept our sincere apologies for all the shortfalls. Thank you again Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager

kuala lumpur
Reviewed 24 November 2014

I chose Istana because of it's location in the midst of the bustling restaurant and local scene. I sent an email request to reservations first to ask for a good rate but received no reply. Then I booked via the hotel's own website a standard package rate. Upon check in two weeks later I informed them I needed to check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travalarKualaLumpur
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear travalarKualaLumpur, We are so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay so much. It also appears that you had conflict with the pricing which is very competitive for a hotel of similar attributes and services. I hope we could help you have a better choice next time. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Before I write this review I have to say I have worked in the hotel trade for many years first as a kitchen porter and worked my self up to night manager of a 5 star hotel so I do know what I am talking about. 1. This is not a 5 star hotel I would say a very low...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank htoninbolton
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear htoninbolton, Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor. I have taken note of the issues you have pointed out and only wonder if you had spoken to a manager then we could have done something to improve your impression and experience. I am sure when you were a Night Manager you would have expected the same opportunity to be...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

What can I say ....Fantastic Stayed in A Club Room ( 18th floor ) 1818 and 1828 , we arrived 10.30am ( 08/11 ) and were sent up to 20th floor for Club check in , had breakfast , the service was great , go up for afternoon tea between 2.30pm - 4.30pm , cakes sweets , tea coffee ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter c
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Peter c, Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Istana KLCC. We all appreciate your comments and the 5 stars. I am glad to see that you have really enjoyed your stay in the Club room. We are looking forward to your return soon at your favourite Hotel Istana KLCC Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

The people/staff very nice, friendly and good service but in poor conditions! Rooms were very tired and in need of decoration as is the hotel! Cracked tiles in bathroom, stained carpets and very drab decor! Business centre and support was poor but the equipment was not up to 5 star class! Will not be staying there again and cannot recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, I am very sorry to read you feedback especially with regards to the Hotel product. I have asked my team to check on your room as it seems that your room had some issues and I wonder if you had brought up during your stay as we could have move you to a better room. I am...

Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2014

The Istana meaning Kings Palace, certainly lived up to it's Palatial name. The room was excellent, the buffet breakfast was incredible. the Staff were very courteous. It was so relaxing being there right in the heart of Bukit Bintang and the pool was excellent as well. I thoroughly reccomend this 5 star hotel for a trip into the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter S
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive comments about Hotel Istana, its wonderful Associates, product and services. We strive for excellence on our day to day job and our goal is to make every guest of ours comfortable and happy. I am glad that you came to us the 2nd time and now this...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We find the hotel staff had a genuine willingness to help, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. The food and service was of a very high standrard. We enjoyed are visit so much we are going back again in March next year......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petersC9734DZ
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear petersC9734DZ, Thank you so much as your 5 stars and positive review on Trip Advisor made every body's day. We are so happy to see that you have recognized our Associates as they honestly work very hard in making sure that they are creating positive and memorable experiences for our guest. I am glad to see that you will...

1,643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1300)
Viewed
Bathroom (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (249)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (462)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
973 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
597 reviews
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#38 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3,153 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 km away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Taman Sari Brasserie
Taman Sari Brasserie
Cuisines: Asian, French, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: €54 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Istana staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Istana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Club level rooms”
D4647RDsueh, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They have British or European Power on alternate floors - pick a floor to suit your stuff.”
FabianS145, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good Service”
tammyd2981, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High Floor, Nice View”
, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The club rooms have a view to the city and twin towers and access to the club lounge .”
, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5