We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Istana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Istana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,954: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

Would really take this opportunity to thank the staff for making our first trip to Istana a truly memorable one. It was our first time travelling to KL after 19 years, and we're really happy to say that we'd be happy to come back! Check-in started off smoothly, with the staff serving us welcome drinks and refreshing cold towels. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NurHanisah7
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Nurhanisah7, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your 5 star review and that you have appreciated our associates who are very well trained and passionate about their job. Germaine, Alvin and Vadhi are our superstars and many guest appreciates their service. We...

Northern Virginia, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the hotel needs renovation, but the the hotel employees, warm and friendly attitude, that my wife and I encountered both at the Club Lounge and in the hotels dining outlets, just left me feeling that 'real genuine service' do exist at a time when hotels are looking to cut costs. I rate the service of the hotel staffs, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 906atiquer
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear 906atiquer, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your Trip Advisor review. We are happy to see that you have recognized our hard working and passionate associates who go the extra mile on daily basis. We hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My and my partner loved this hotel,the rooms and the decor where lovely, the staff were some of the best we've encountered around the world couldnt do enough for you,its all the little touches like bringing complementary drinks to you around the pool to bringing chocolates to our room We stayed in one of the club rooms which were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martcoll84
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear martcoll84, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you have had a memorable stay with us. We appreciate that you liked our services and we hope to see you back soon. Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Edmonton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really want to like this hotel but I'm struggling with this review. The service from everyone we encountered was very good (truly 5 star) however I know the hotel would agree the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment When we entered the hotel we were welcomed by a beautiful lobby area that appeared every bit like a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oc64Edmonton
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear oc64Edmonton, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your constructive feedback and further appreciate that you have recognized our associates and their hard work. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused due to some issues. We strive every day to ensure that all our guest are happy....

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent thank goodness only one night at the Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.I have never stayed in a hotel that touts itself as 5 star as poor as the Istana.The beds are like slabs incredibly uncomfortale,the sheets were stained the room smelt musty and the cleanliness was second rate.There was mould around the sink plug ,the bottom of the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2happycampers2015
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear 2happycampers2015, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry about your poor experience and we have no excuses for the poor condition of the bedroom. However, we wish if you had mentioned to some one during your stay rather than upon check-out next day and we could...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for four very enjoyable days at Hotel Istana 03/12/16 to 06/12/16, one of the finest hotels for many reasons in which we have stayed. Having been upgraded to Club we enjoyed all of the privileges afforded to us. From speedy check-in in the Cliub Lounge to the leisure facilities when we checked out. This is truly an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guggle86
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear guggle86, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your 5 star review which our associates appreciates very much. Your stay was definitely a memorable stay and we hope to see you back soon. Happy Holidays Aamir Khan General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very good .... people here are very polite .....the staff is very friendly and excellent ..... it is Center for many places which is easy to travel .... and this area is fabulous ......but almost no options for vegetarians

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puneeth J
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear puneeth J, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Istana KLCC and for posting your short and sweet review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay well. We are so sorry that you did not see the vegetarian options as we have vegetarian food in breakfast, Lunch and dinner...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service from the staff at this hotel is second to none. Extremely friendly and helpful staff at the Hotel and in the restaurant. The Hotel is in a great location, close to a lot of fun sights in the city. The food in the restaurant is great, but they need to seperate the smokers from the families sitting outside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg J
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Greg J, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the all issues that you have experienced and I assure you that we will separate the smokers from non-smokers outside the restaurant corridor....

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good service from the front office team especially Halilah and the gang... Farah zarwinda tennis irma kalvinder and Toho.. good job guys ! Not forget to chef khezir ... definitely will come again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Indeed, most of our guest appreciate the services and the positive attitude of our associates. Halilah, Farah, Irma, Kalvinder and Toho are all very nice passionate associates and we are very proud of them. Thank you again and we hope to see you back...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was an enjoyable experience...everything is good and clean and classy....Enjoyed the delicious breakfast and great hospitality and classy bathrooms as big as the whole room. Really great experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mo8833
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear mo8833, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that your stay was a memorable one and that you had a great experience of staying at Hotel Istana KLCC. Please come back soon. Happy Holidays Aamir Khan General Manager

1,566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (220)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (398)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#22 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#25 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
492 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#29 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
2,995 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Food & drink at the hotel
Taman Sari Brasserie
Taman Sari Brasserie
Cuisines: Asian, French, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: €56 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Istana staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Istana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views, very clean, quiet rooms and good water pressure in shower.”
 of 5 bubbles mimmob88, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Club Rooms. Definite Value For The Room.”
 of 5 bubbles 906atiquer, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here the rooms are disgusting!”
 of 5 bubbles 2happycampers2015, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 1937, below the Club Lounge. City view did not include Petronus Twin Towers, but perfect anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles guggle86, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request for a room with the Petronas Twin Tower View”
 of 5 bubbles gilgit63, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay