We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BackHome KL

Hostelworld.comUS$26*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$44*
US$26*
Great Deal
US$44*
US$44*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 582: English reviews
Start your review of BackHome KL
 Click to rate
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a great time at Backhome, the staff is great and the hostel has an amazing atmosphere. I came here for 2 days and I have to say it is one of the best Hostels I have been to. Internet was fast, the place was clean. Different areas to sit and work and the staff was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Our front desk staff will be happy to learn that they've made your stay with us a good one, Eric L. Glad you enjoyed your time with us :D

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

BackHome Hostel definitely gets it. It is a social hostel with many opportunities for meeting others without being a party hostel. The beds are comfortable, the location is central and the staff always has a genuine smile on their faces. Breakfast is included in the price, the facilities are clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. Would be 10/10 for me,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul Leo B
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Thank you for your suggestion, Paul Leo B. We would definitely be looking into the option of curtains in the future. We're glad you met many other fellow backpackers with us during your trip to Kuala Lumpur :) Happy Travels!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel has a great feel and the staff are very helpful. The bathrooms were always clean and the showers had great water pressure which was a highlight for me. I also did the food tour offered by the hostel and it was amazing, one of the best experiences I had in KL. I would highly recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elise W
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

The food tour with our guide has always been a highlight for many of our guests and we're glad you're one of them, Elise W. It's nice to know you enjoyed your time with us :)

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located near the LRT, less than 5 minutes away. BackHome KL is one of the best hostels we've stayed at. A good sized double room located on the ground floor, only reason we gave it 4 stars was because the room was quiet dark with limited windows, but don't let this put you off as you'll be too busy exploring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smith353353
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

We're glad our team were able to solve your problem during your stay :) Most importantly, we're happy you enjoyed your time here in Kuala Lumpur, smith353353.

Isfahan Province, Iran
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is not Good ....terrible stuff ... We saw the hustel in internet and went there dirctly from airport and reception said you should have credit card and pay with credit card ... In spite we were tired. ..she didn't care ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric S
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Hi Eric S, We thank you for your feedback and apologise for the experience you had. We do hope that our front desk was able to explain to you that our hostel requires a credit card payment for guests without an online booking for security purposes. As this is our hostel policy, our front desk was unable to bend the...

Saint-Vallier, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traveled in Australia, Asia, India... it's one of the best hostel where Ive stayed. Friendly staff, good location and clean. Best thing is the bed size, very confortable. Free lockers if you have your own padlock. Ill come back there next Time. My review concerns dorm room, but they also have private rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mat M
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

We look forward to having you back with us Mat M! Thank you for your wonderful compliment. It has definitely made our day :D

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Location (Walking distance to main attractions) , Friendly and helpful staff , they provide map (Attentive to any question and advise you well) Thank you Thevi , Ivan and Grace :) The welcoming noted (Your name writen on the door) was really great ! The room was really nice , got a big locker , reading table at your...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mohd F
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

We look forward to having you back with us soon too, Mohd F! Thank you for your wonderful review! We're proud that Ivan, Thevi and Grace did a good job making your stay a nice one.

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Very decent hostel with many available services such as tours and laundry. Very friendly front office. Food available at the hostel also very cheap. The hostel contains a quaint social area with free to use MacBooks and Games.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gmmk97
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Looks like you enjoyed yourself in Kuala Lumpur, Gmmk97! It's nice to know you had some good memories here :)

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed at BackHome just for one night, it's really a wonderful place. It's clean, has good access to transport and basic breakfast is included. There're good sized areas to hang out and socialise. There're just 2 small things keeping me from giving it 5 stars, there were no hand towels for the toilet shower area, and there wasn't free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deen L
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Thank you for the pointers, Deen L! We'll definitely be reviewing them to help improve things at our hostel. There is a water dispenser available next to the fridge. So the next time you return, do look out for it :)

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Very clean, extremely friendly staff (ask anything really). Visited KL twice and came back here twice. Like everything in KL its not a cheap hostel (15 euro per night for a dormroom) A good bacis breakfast is included :) Good wifi present, also if you want google something or book something, several desktops are available. Great location, near the subway...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thilders
BackHomeKL, Guest Relations Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, tomhC952HN. We'll continue to provide the best for guests. Looking forward to having you back with us :)

461 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
3-Bed Loft (10)
Viewed
8-Bed Dorm (9)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Couples Dorm (12)
Viewed
Double Room Ground Floor (16)
Viewed
Double Room Upper Floor (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
6,877 reviews
2.0 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
9,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
2,504 reviews
1.3 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit the Roof Top Bar (5 minutes away from us) or check out the beautiful view of the Petronas Twin Towers at the Skybar in Traders Hotel. Meet new friends, have fun and come back to BackHome Kuala Lumpur for a quiet night's rest! We're the only hostel in Malaysia with a guarantee that guests will receive as much care, comfort and peace as they do at home. We promise that every guests will receive personal attention, a good night's rest and peace of mind. Besides using premium bedding and cleaning the beds thoroughly after every guest, we deep clean all mattresses twice a month to make sure they are 100% hygienic. We provide more personal and common space than most other hostels in KL. We're located right in the heart of the historical district, just a few minutes away from Masjid Jamek, Merdeka Square, Little India and Chinatown. We also have Bukit Nanas forest reserve - a million year old rainforest reserve less than 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BackHome KL

Address: 30 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: €11 - €37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — BackHome KL 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your BackHome KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backhome Kl Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BackHome KL staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BackHome KL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mixed dorm were great value with plenty of space for backpackers”
sarahsU1918GP, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great cafe next door for lunch!”
108vickig, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were at the back which was really quiet but I suspect that even roadside rooms are ok.”
plympeters, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the top bunks have no barrier and the floor is concrete so check this before accepting your bed”
926natv, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have lesser traffic noise. Choose a 6 or 8 person dorm if you like to meet new people and hang out with them.”
rishabh_mulani, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$26* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$44
Hotels.comUS$44
Expedia.comUS$44
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates