We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
80 Mikuracho, Nishiiru, Karasuma, Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8166 Kyoto Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Always 5% discount
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$40
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$64
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (340)
Room & Suite (216)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Updated 19/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#91 of 602 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
While conveniently located just one minute away from a train station, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo is hidden away off the main road. The Japanese garden that can be viewed from the lobby is the former site of a water stream garden and has been reproduced with excavated garden stones and boulders. The hotel is perfect for rejuvenating yourself while taking in a sense of history. Sanjo Street is lined with stylish shops and traditional shop/home buildings that are sure to delight visitors of all ages. Stretch out your arms and legs for a leisurely bath while gazing at the water stream garden to ease the fatigue of the day.This is open until 1:00 late night, so you can use it even after a late arrival.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Massage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Always 5% discount
629Reviews20Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 339
  • 89
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
maryann246810 wrote a review Jan 2020
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina127 contributions86 helpful votes
We took the Shinkansen from my daughter's home in Tokyo to explore Kyoto for a day and evening. Our future in-laws wanted us to experience a nice Japanese hotel with an onsen and treated us to a night at Mitsui Garden. This hotel was very convenient to all the sites in Kyoto, but was off the main road and had a very lovely entrance and lobby. We had a little scare upon check in since some of our family traveling from the US had left passports at my daughter's home, but the front desk staff courteously worked with us on a solution: providing a photo copy. This hotel is exceptionally clean and quite beautiful. The rooms were the most spacious of any hotel we stayed in Japan. There was a huge and delicious selection of breakfast options. I would highly recommend staying here for a more traditional and enjoyable hotel experience. I later read online that tattoo covers are acceptable for the onsen, but didn't know this at the time, so those of us with tattoos did not get to enjoy the onsen during our stay, but I would still rate our experience as excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for staying at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking time out of your day to write us this valuable review for us. We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and we were able to meet your expectations as well as needs. Our staff attempts to provide the best service to assist our customers with their needs so that they can have the best possible experience while traveling. Our facility provides not only an area where customers can sense a feeling of relaxation but also hospitality. We are always looking for room to improve and your review comes in great hand during this process. If we do get the chance we hope to have you stay with us again at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo for your next trip to Kyoto. Again, we thank you for staying with us at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and we look forward to serving you again. Front Office Manager
Read more
LukeyG wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia145 contributions73 helpful votes
Stayed for four nights with 3 people, 2 Doubles and a roll-away bed for my teenager. Enough room for us all with our bags unpacked. In-House Onsen was fantastic, staff were helpful and spoke some English. Well located to all attractions and train station. Will stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us especially location and garden bath. Our garden bath has Jacuzzi and there is Japanese garden through the window. You might enjoy relax time. Moreover, we are located in center of Kyoto city and it takes about 10 minutes from Kyoto main station. It is very useful for us. Once again, we appreciate for your comment and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Front Office Manager
Read more
Jennifer T wrote a review Dec 2019
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia112 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
We had a great time at this hotel. The foyer was always amazingly scented. Very welcoming. The staff are friendly and courteous. It’s only a very short walk to Karasuma Oike Station (exit 6), and there’s a super convenient Star Bucks on the corner of the block. Great for a quick breakfast or coffee before heading out to your day’s activities. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Everything was very clean. We had breakfast at the hotel once. There’s a huge variety of well prepared food, but I felt it was more expensive than we really wanted. We ate out every other day. The restaurant does not offer dinner. There’s a lovely single-sex onsen baths for hotel guests. Bring your brave as you’ll be washing and bathing with others (of your gender). Tattoo covers are available at reception, according to the sign.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, 支配人 at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and sharing your wonderfui comment here. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and our location. It is located in heart of Kyoto and convenient both of sightseeing and business. As you mentioned, just few steps to go Starbucks and also Nishiki market and Nijo castle are in walking distance. We appriciate for your review and look forward to seeing you here in Kyoto in near future. Front Office Manager
Read more
Michael G wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions56 helpful votes
Located in the business district the hotel us also on a major shopping street. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Onsen in the lower level us good and well maintained. Nearby are a good local sushi bar, a popular gyoza bar and a western bar and steak house as well as a few coffee bars. There’s a great supermarket within three blocks and a number of excellent bakeries etc. Subway us within a block and major business houses on the nearby street. Staff are terrific and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, 支配人 at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo for your recent visit in Kyoto. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet your needs to the best of our abilities throughout your trip. Regarding to the location of our hotel we have placed ourselves in an area where it is not only easy to access the tourist locations of Kyoto but also the city area with its many restaurants and activities that it provides. Our staff does their best to serve you to their full potential to make our customer's trip both smooth and easy. We appreciate giving a good rating on our hotel's review. We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel in not distant future. Front Office Manager
Read more
Dalia wrote a review Aug 2019
7 contributions14 helpful votes
I am so glad that I booked here for our days in Kyoto. The room was just what we needed. Perfect for coming back at the end of a long day being tourists. Beds were very comfortable and the abundance of toiletries is a great plus. The rooms are not big but I'm sure everyone knows this when traveling in Japan. I knew this and was still pleasantly surprised we weren't cramped horribly. The breakfast buffet is phenomenal. The western and Japanese options are incredible. It's tempting to eat too much. It starts getting pretty busy after 8am we noticed. My family was in the dining room well before this and felt there was always plenty of options. The location of the hotel was perfect as well. Easy to navigate around the city.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Thank you for staying at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking time out of your day to write us this valuable review for us. We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and we were able to meet your expectations as well as needs. Our staff attempts to provide the best service to assist our customers with their needs so that they can have the best possible experience while traveling. Our facility provides not only an area where customers can sense a feeling of relaxation but also hospitality. We are always looking for room to improve and your review comes in great hand during this process. If we do get the chance we hope to have you stay with us again at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo for your next trip to Kyoto. Again, we thank you for staying with us at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and we look forward to serving you again.
Read more
Dawn wrote a review Jun 2019
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution1 helpful vote
Highly recommend Mitsui Garden hotel for their impeccable service. I left a pair of jeans in the hotel, and receptionist - Ms Asami went the extra mile to arrange to have it couriered even after I had left Kyoto. Really appreciate the help! Location was great! Walking distance to Nishiki market.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 28 Jun 2019
hank you very much for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjyo. We are pleased to hear that you were particularly satisfied with our garden bath. This public bath with a jacuzzi has been praised by our previous guests in the past. Our hotel is located near the "Karasuma Oike" subway station so that it is easy for any guests who coming for business, traveling and shopping. This point could be one of the advantages for many guests. It is our great pleasure that your stay at our hotel could be a part of your precious memories and unforgettable trip in Kyoto. From now on, we make lots of efforts to improve our service and aim for being a good hotel, which could be chosen by many guests. We all are waiting for your coming back and hope to see you soon. Thank you very much. Front Office Manager.
Read more
tmg123Melbourne wrote a review May 2019
Melbourne126 contributions116 helpful votes
Mitsui Garden Hotel Sanjo is perfectly located to access many points of interest. It is close to a railway station, within walking distance of Gion and the many riverside restaurants and the market (definitely worth a visit to sample the food, but remember you should not eat as you walk along. Buy your food and then stand and eat. Bad manners otherwise.) Close by there is an interesting bar upstairs across the street, 7Eleven for just about anything, and Starbucks for a quick coffee and breakfast. The hotel rooms are tiny. Don't go for the cheapest option unless there is only one of you and you're only staying the night. Even an upgrade won't buy you a heap of room. The hotel has a lovely garden facing the lobby and is tastefully designed and furnished. Staff are, of course, super polite and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 29 May 2019
Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking your time to write a wonderful comment. It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed our central location. Our hotel is located in just front of subway station, and guests also can feel historical atmosphere that you can only feel in certain area in Kyoto. We are also in walking distance to NIjo Castle and famous Nishiki Food Market where you can enjoy some local foods. We feel sorry to learn that the size of the room you stayed was not able to live up to your expectations, however, we would appreciate if you could understand the room situation we have in the city of Japan. If you have another opportunity to stay with us - and we hope you do, we recommend trying our Deluxe Twin and Family Room which you may enjoy luxury stay. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the comment you gave us. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon. Front Office Manager
Read more
RumJOro wrote a review Apr 2019
Ridgetown, Canada150 contributions84 helpful votes
Check-in was seamless, friendly and efficient. We arrived early they stored our luggage/again on check-out. The hotel is located close to Nishiki Market, subway and restaurants. The room is a bit small if you are travelling with large luggage - check one at Kyoto Station. That said it is extremely clean and they provide PJs for your comfort. Wait I forgot to mention the very cool heated bathroom shaving mirror!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 28 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking your time to write a wonderful comment. We will try to keep improving our service, therefore, we will be willing to help our guests during your stay. Please feel free to ask reception. We appreciate for your precious review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.And We are located in middle of Kyoto city and there are some famous spots such as Nijo castle, Nishiki market and Manga museum nearby. Moreover, it takes about 10 minutes from Kyoto main station, therefore, it is comfortable for our guests to go anywhere. We look forward to you and your family returning over and over and it is wonderful to see the changes in everyone year after year. Front Office Manager
Read more
Jeanne T wrote a review Apr 2019
Gig Harbor, Washington232 contributions61 helpful votes
This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who has been to Japan and Kyoto many times. I booked a standard twin room with breakfast through Agoda.com and stayed here with my adult daughter. The cost of the room was over $300 because of cherry blossom season. Upon arrival to our room, we thought the room and bathroom to be very small, but there was a wonderful heated toilet and the room was very clean. There was no closet to hang our clothes in and the two of us had a hard time with all of our clothes and luggage. The shower tub curtain leaked onto the floor many times even though we tried to fit it snuggly around the shower tub. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the staff at the front desk and restaurant were very helpful and courteous. The front desk also shipped our large luggage for a nominal fee from Kyoto back to Tokyo for us so we did not have to carry it on the train. Housekeeping was very good and made up our room nicely each day and replenished the bottled water in the refrigerator. The food at breakfast was nice both American and Japanese, we were happy to have that available each morning. I did like the location of the hotel, we found a bar right across the street upstairs (Liquor Museum), and ate at Somushi Kochaya Korean Tea house right across the street and Steak Sakai Kyotosan right down the street. We could walk to the Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle and other restaurants that we found. It also has a beautiful garden to look at from the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The higher up the quieter the room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 12 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking your time to write a wonderful comment. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service. We constantly strive our guests in ways that cater to their needs and are very happy that our staff made your stay comfortable. Also we are located in middle of Kyoto city and there are some famous spots such as Nijo castle, Nishiki market and Manga museum nearby. Moreover, it takes about 10 minutes from Kyoto main station, therefore, it is comfortable for our guests to go anywhere. However we feel sorry for the fact that some types of room do not have a closet, and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We understand it might bother travelers with lots of clothes and stuff. But we would like to let you know that our Family Room have a closet. You are always welcome to contact us directly for the details. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Kyoto Japan. Again, thank you for your assessment. Front Office Manager
Read more
Alex wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
We loved this hotel. After reading the advice from other travellers, we upgraded from a double room with a small double bed to a double room with a bigger bed which I believe was 25 sqm. The room was big enough and super clean and the bed really comfortable. We found the location of the hotel really convenient as it is 3' from the train station and 5' from Nishiki market. It is a bit far from Kyoto station so if you want to be close to that area, it's best to book somewhere closer to that. We were happy to take long walks so we didn't have a problem having to walk 15-30' to reach bars and restaurants. The lobby area is beautiful and relaxing and the staff is extremely polite. We didn't include breakfast to our booking so we can't speak to that. Unfortunately we did not try the public bath as we were never in the hotel for long, we had too much to enjoy in Kyoto!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MGHKSRoom, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Responded 22 Mar 2019
Thank you for staying with us at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo and taking time out of your day to write us this valuable review. We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your needs and expectations. Regarding to our rooms and cleanliness, our hotel and staff attempts to the best of their ability to provide the best service we can so that our customers can feel a sense of comfort and hospitality. Also furthermore, we have located ourselves in an area that provides easy access to not only the tourist locations of Kyoto but also the city with its many restaurants. If we do get the chance, we hope to have you stay with us at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo for your next trip to Kyoto. Front Office Manager Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mitsui garden hotel kyoto
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoCity Center / Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Which popular attractions are close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Nearby attractions include Koan Hanare (0.09 km), KYOTO Butoh-kan (0.2 km), and Rokkakudo (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matsuzakagyu What’s Kyoto Muromachi, IPPUDO Nishikikoji, and Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma.
Is Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Kyoto.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (4.7 km), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (2.8 km), and Shugakuin Imperial Villa (6.2 km).
Is Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.