We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arashiyama Benkei

Travellers' Choice award winner
Ryokan 
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Arashiyama Benkei
 Click to rate
Monterey County, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arashiyama Benkei is a beautiful restaurant and onsen in a most beautiful part of Japan. Though it is pricey, the memories of the experience you have there will last a lifetime. The service, the room accomodations and the bathing experiences are top notch. The kaiseki meal is all of the best that Japan has to offer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenji S
l.a. ca
Reviewed yesterday NEW

best place ive stayed at. peace and beauty are here. service is excellent. get a 2nd floor room with the river view. i fell in love with the massage chair in the room and the private onsen-like bath connected to the room. if they werent booked id haVe stayed longer. the toughest part is leaving.... thank you so much arashiyam...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erick S
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was a bit nervous before arrival since i am a non-japanese speaking foreigner, but after arrive to their entrance and reception, all these nervous and concern were gone. manager and her colleagues gave us a warm welcome at the entrance and able to communicate with English. A big thank you to their hospitality, all of us are very happy with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 781henry
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear 781henry, Thank you so much for your recent stay at our ryokan, and we are pleased to receive your review which is mentioning our hospitality. Japanese way of hospitality, it is all about the "ryokan" stand for. As we are traditional Japanese inn, we have responsibility to keep a tradition as unique Japanese accommodation and its own service with...

A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arashiyama Benkei was one of the top highlight of our 3 week stay in Japan and is in a great Kyoto location right in front of the water. The hospitality here is outstanding; we had such a good time. Stayed for just two nights but would have happily stayed much longer! Make sure you book the dinner, exquisite cuisine, beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Our Valued Guest, Sir/Madam, First of all, We'd like to thank you for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei. As You have mentioned in your review for our ryokan as one of your top highlight of your trip in Japan . We are really grateful and honored, and it is very emotional thing for us. Thank you very much....

Singapore
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We planned a year in advance to stay in this famous ryokan with a beautiful location in Arashiyama. The location was everything that we had expected and the room had a lovely view of the Oi river and Togetsukyo bridge. This location allowed us to emerge from the front door and walk on the riverfront and across the bridge in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Andrew K, Thank you so much for your recent stay at our ryokan "Arashiyama Benkei". We are truly pleased to receive your review which describing the location of our ryokan, and spots from our ryokan, as we are in quite but in a walk distance from most of the famous spots in Arashiyama area. We also would like to...

San Jose
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Yes, this place is not cheap. In fact, the one night we stayed here cost more than our entire 8 night AirBnb stay in Shibuya. But I believe other decent ryokans are similarly-priced. Being our 10 year anniversary, I had to go for it - worst case I could blame TripAdvisor users! I had to kinda convince myself that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chowbang
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear chowbang, First of all, Thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan "Arashiyama Benkei". We are really pleased to receive your review which shared your expression and experiences during your stay at our ryokan in very detail. As you have mentioned, we are obviously not a cheap accommodation, but our service and hospitality are full of...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay. The property was gorgeous and the staff was attentive and friendly. For a couple of gaijin, it was quite the experience and we highly recommend it to all travelers. We had the traditional dinner and breakfast, loved wearing our yukatas, enjoyed a peaceful time in the baths and really enjoyed immersing ourselves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear David S, We thank you so much for sharing your experiences during your stay at our ryokan. It is so kind of you and we are really pleased to see your review about our staff, meal and location of our ryokan. We wish to have you back again in near future, please feel free to visit us like your...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wonderful place, great food, loved the hot baths. So many nice touches and attention to detail. Well worth the money. We thought that sleeping on the floor might be uncomfortable but it was so cosy and nice. Our evening meal and breakfast was authentic, interesting, beautiful and delicious. The view of the river from our bedroom was just lovely. Ten...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaveMyData
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear SaveMyData, Thank you so much for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei and we are pleased to receive your kind review about our ryokan. As your review have mentioned every piece of our ryokan's specialty and we are truly honored that our service could reach to your satisfaction. We hope to be able to welcome you again here at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing time here. We only stayed here for one night. If it's within your budget, I would recommend doing a 2-night stay. If you're not comfortable with soaking in the public bath naked with other guests (which I wasn't), you can pay to book the private family bath which cost around $20-25 or so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Christine K, First of all, we thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan Arashiyama Benkei, and we are truly pleased to have your review which share your experiences during your stay with us. Your recommendation about our facilities, location and way to enjoy the stay, will certainly help world travelers, and with your honest point...

SAINT PAUL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing ryokan right on the river. Everyone is very kind and you will receive the best service you will ever have at a hotel. They even provided more futon mats when I asked for them to make the bed a little cushier. They have a wonderful private bath that you can reserve. The kaiseki meal they prepare...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tessas555
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear tessas555, We thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan Arashiyama Benkei and also, truly appreciated with your wonderful review about our service, meals, location and hospitality. It was our pleasure to welcome your visit and really a happy thing for all of us to receive your review as its judgement for our dedication. We are...

776 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (425)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 12 Tatami Mats (Private Bath) (79)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 18 Tatami Mats (Hot Spring View) (93)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 7.5 Tatami Mats (Shared Bath) (45)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (100)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
514 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
2,831 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Western Kyoto

Neighbourhood Profile
Western Kyoto
Western Kyoto is home to some of the city's best eccentricities. Kyoto's Saga-Toriimoto Preserved Street takes visitors back in time to the Meiji Period, where old homes have been transformed into tea houses and eateries. Pleasure boats drift down the riverbank, under wooden bridges that beckon nature lovers to hiking trails and botanical walks. The area's famously tall bamboo groves, monkey park, and impressive vistas during the Hanami cherry blossom viewing season mean that it is busiest in warmer months, though also gorgeous in the fall, when the mountains and hills along the banks turn multi-colored. Historic and engaging, even the rail cars in Western Kyoto seek to exemplify its traditional nature and scenic beauty. Many people, including natives, come to visit the 1,200 rakan statues at the Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple, which is still in use as a religious site.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
Cuisines: Japanese
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome Arashiyama Benkei was established in 1969 on the historical and scenic land known as Arashiyama. Thriving spring cherry blossoms, red autumn leaves blanketing the mountains, and cultural and historic landmarks give Arashiyama the distinction of being one of Japan’s leading sightseeing destinations. Just upstream from (west of) the Togetsu-kyo Bridge, which marks the center of the area, and situated alongside the murmurs of the Oi River, is Arashiyama Benkei. Our ryokan accommodations, built in the traditional sukiya-zukuri architecture style reminiscent of antique tea houses, is not simply a place to rest and eat, but also houses facilities in which guests can enjoy Arashiyama onsen (hot springs) and indulge in traditional Kyoto cuisine. Please visit us to experience the utmost in comfort and relaxation. -Rooms- Arashiyama Benkei is honored to provide 10 guest rooms, each with their own individual charm. Each room is thoughtfully designed and furnished in the Japanese style, featuring views of the Arashiyama mountains or our lush garden. Cherry blossoms in spring, cormorant fishing in summer, cascading colors of maple leaves in autumn, and a dusting of snow in winter. Our guests are certain to enjoy a peaceful stay among the beauty and stillness of this unique Kyoto scenery. -Onsen- Arashiyama onsen (hot spring) water has a pH of 8.3 and provides an exceptionally smooth touch that is said to beautify skin and wash away any travel fatigue. Benkei has indoor and open-air baths; both are available for men and women and are separated by gender. Guests who prefer to enjoy a bath in private may reserve a secluded open-air bathtub (same-day reservation, \2,160/group/45 minutes). -Cuisine- Guests at Benkei indulge in traditional multi-course kaiseki fare that uses seasonal ingredients found not only in Kyoto, but sourced from all over Japan. We take care in creating cuisine that appeals to all palates, yet maintains respect for the tenets of traditional Kyoto cooking. -Day Trips- Day trip guests at Benkei may also opt to enjoy a relaxing bath in addition to a gourmet meal. Reservations are required for combined onsen and dining day trips. The facilities open at 11:30 a.m. We offer full plans that include meals in private room (2 hours for bento meals or 3 hours for full-course kaiseki meals), baths, towels, and yukata robe, as well as more informal plans that include a restaurant meal in the open space and onsen bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arashiyama Benkei

Address: 34 Sagatenryuji Susukinobabacho Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8385, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Price Range: €461 - €1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arashiyama Benkei 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ikyu Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arashiyama Benkei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arashiyama Benkei Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arashiyama Benkei staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Arashiyama Benkei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a 2nd floor room with the river view. i fell in love with the massage chair in the room and the private onsen-like bath connected to the room.”
490ericks, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can, get a room with a river view without the attached hot tub.”
  • View of the river and royal pine
  • The riverview bath
  • View of the Oi river and Togetsukyo bridge
  • The view of the Oi river
andrewk554, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River unit, for sure!”
chowbang, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a garden room - we had the 12 mat room which was large and comfortable with lots of amenities.”
SadSusan, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms on the first floor and the second floor. We stayed in the room on the first floor - there's a little garden outside the room which if we stayed during a warmer season could have enjoyed. However, when we lied down to sleep we could hear little wood squeaks from the ceiling caused by people moving around in the room upstairs but it wasn't too disturbing as we all fell asleep soon after. ”
unij26, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5