We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Taimatsu-Cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8237 Kyoto Prefecture
11 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Trip.com
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Rakuten TravelUS$126
japanican.comUS$125
Hotels.comUS$113
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1100)
360
Panoramas (32)
Room & Suite (893)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#93 of 598 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Renovated in September 2016, our hotel provides all the necessary comforts while maintaining the traditions of a brand that has proudly hosted royalty. With all new facilities, including complimentary Wi-Fi, six restaurants, a luxurious bar, a heated indoor pool, and a modern fitness gym, we gladly extend our welcome to families, businessmen, and tourists alike. Located near the hub of transportation, Kyoto Station, we are convenient for those traveling from Kansai International Airport or any major city within Japan as well as just a short walk from World Heritage sites, the Kyoto Aquarium, and the Kyoto Railway Museum. In addition, we provide complimentary shuttle service to the station and 117 free parking spots, making us a perfect base for exploring the ancient capital during your travels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean
1853Reviews39Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 547
  • 817
  • 345
  • 96
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
vickyng2810 wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore134 contributions16 helpful votes
The hotel is rather convenient and located less than 10 minutes away from Kyoto Station down a straight path if you choose not to use the hotel shuttle. The hotel lobby seems to be newly decorated and was welcoming. However, the room we booked was not very impressive. Compared to the renovated lobby, the room (Superior Twin on the Kyoto-style Floor) was dated. Service at check-in and check-out were great, but a let-down at other times. I tried calling the front desk via the in-room phone on my first evening and never got through even once — I called at least 4 times at different times. Interestingly, I accidentally dialed for room service once and it was immediately picked up. Overall, not a hotel that I would visit again when I'm in Kyoto.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joel wrote a review Dec 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands482 contributions534 helpful votes
I stayed 6 nights and thought it was an excellent hotel. Rooms are very big for Japan, beds very comfortable. Room service was excellent, very speedy and efficient. Breakfast was good, albeit the same selection every day gets tiring (for shorter stays it’s no issue). Location is brilliant, 7 - 10 mins walk from Kyoto station. Staff were very helpful. Very much enjoyed my stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Teddy wrote a review Nov 2022
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
Fair feeling but I will no revisit again. Overall I can only sleep 4 hours per night, unfortunately and uncomfortably The hotel interior is so old. The rooms are dry that I could catch sore throat, even I turned on the humidifier. Staff doesn’t speak English, but fair
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SAT5051 wrote a review Nov 2022
Adelaide, Australia160 contributions140 helpful votes
Very good sized rooms. Very comfortable beds. Good air conditioning. Very thin walls though. Restaurant breakfast excellent. Good location to explore Kyoto. Only negative is shower temperature fluctuates a lot in the morning will everyone using water.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Naomi T wrote a review Sep 2022
Kelowna, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
A few minutes from Kyoto station, free parking and has many restaurants inside. Breakfast was to die for, many vegetable dishes as tipical in Kyoto but every item was prepared so well. I'm glad I included breakfast for our stay. I'll definitely stay here again. Staff were very accommodating as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dream07613518104 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Convenient Location . Hotel staff did not seem to be friendly. When I checked in, they asked for upfront payment for my stay of 4 nights which was unexpected. General practice is to pay during check-out. Staff struggled with English. Storage space in room was literally non-existent . Breakfast at Kaza Restaurant was only good point of stay. There is no kids space. My pre schooler son was very bored in hotel on a rainy day. Not a kid friendly hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, think twice as they do not have anything for kids in hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from リーガロイヤルホテル京都 フロント支配人, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Dear Dream07613518104-sama, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. However, we a very sorry to know that beside the breakfast, we failed to satisfy you during your stay. It is our basic policy to ask the guest for upfront payment. As you mentioned, there is no kids space at our hotel, though we should have suggested you that we have a in-door swimming pool for children could enjoy. And also, we have Concierege Services Desk, and they speak English fluently and they would be happy to give you going-out suggestions even good for a rainy day. However, mostly it was a lack of English speaking ability not to be able to explain well to you. We should practice and brush up communication skill in English harder. All your voice in the comments are valued and gave us thoughts for the better service and improving the standard of the hotel. we look forward to having you stay with us again, if you give us another chance. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
温泉すし三昧 wrote a review May 2020
東京都3 contributions5 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights with my family but never coming back again ! Overall services were terrible, awful, worst in my life ... the porter didn’t help to carry our luggages to the room checking in, and to put them into my car after checking out either. The bellboy was just looking at us nearby. Our reservation of the stay was actually split by two and erroneously two different room types were reserved. At the check in, we were asked if we want to move rooms over the stay in accordance with my reservation or do downgrade to stay at the same room - first time to be offered room downgrade. I asked the reception “rooms are fully booked, that’s why you are requesting so, right ?” she said “no, but...”. It was mid-March 2020, imagine. Took almost 30 min for check in. We didn’t feel any hospitality by the staff over the stay at all and therefore, were totally disappointed at the staffs attitudes. I had a chance to speak with the hotel manager over the phone at home after check out and complained with all the above incidents but he said “show me the proof”. He never apologized till the end - the manager’s reaction represents the hotel’s philosophy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 福井 良, 支配人 at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Dear Nomad804817 san, We sincerely thank you for staying with us,and thank you for your taking time to share your feedback.While I wish you had a better experience,it is feedback like this that we learn form and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We deeply apologize that our services were not done to your satisfaction.We will take the point that you have brought to our attention into careful consideration and will be sure to inform the responsible departments. We will continue to work hard to provide each and every one of our valued guests with the most pleasant stay as possible. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust , I can assure that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many our guest have enjoyed. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jayv1982 wrote a review May 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines28 contributions61 helpful votes
For the price hotel is a luxury one , we stayed here as transit to osaka for one night with my family . The shuttle service is great to the main station and the food is awesome . Didn’t get enough time to explore the hotel but it seems like has plenty of it to offer . Service was superb with someone escorting to our room and explaining everything .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 4 May 2020
Dear Jayv 1982 san , Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for great review for our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our location and shuttle bus services commuting to and from Kyoto station every 15 minutes. We also have recently renovated pool facilities ,with heated indoor pool and jacuzzi. We try to provide a number of room sizes and styles so that each guests may stay comfortably and feel at home even away from home. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon. Stay safe Stay healthy! Best regards, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
keen T wrote a review Mar 2020
Shinjuku, Japan3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stay here for 3 nights booked through hotels.com included ABF The reason we book this hotel cause it close to Kyoto station with free shutter bus. The price consider high with all additional charge for the using hotel facilities such as swimming pool and gym. Our room located quite far from the elevator with very long long corridor. Breakfast almost the same dishes everyday. We had been asked for the charging of the bottles of drinking water in room even there were a hotel logo at the bottles. The hotel staffs told us that there is no complimentary drinking water in room. We was really disappointed that the big hotel like this has no provide complimentary drinking water. For the entire trip in Japan, this was the first hotel that we been charged for the bottles of drinking water in room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear Keent2019 - san, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. Also, thank you for choosing our hotel from many hotels. However, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by having you pointed out. We will continue to devote our efforts to improving based on your opinions so that we can offer you a better stay. We look forward to the your next visit to Japan, and thank you for receiving valuable opinions. Thank you. With best regards, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The gym is very small with just a few machines: two treadmills, two stationary bicycles, and a weight machine. I used my green ticket to use the gym for one day. If I want to use the gym again I have to pay. Overall though it is a good hotel. I usually stay here. It is in a convenient location close to the station.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear michaelbL7528ZF - san, Thank you very much for using our hotel. Thank you for evaluating us a lot. We will continue to make efforts to encourage your satisfaction with customer's . I and all staff are looking forward to meeting you again. With best regards, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rihga royal kyoto, kyoto rihga royal hotel
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kyoto Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
489
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIHGA ROYAL HOTEL KYOTO - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Japan) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Which popular attractions are close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Nearby attractions include Aeon Mall Kyoto (0.4 km), Kyoto Aquarium (0.5 km), and Kyoto Ramen koji (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tajimaya Aeon Mall Kyoto, Kurasu, and Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube.
Are there opportunities to exercise at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto have an airport shuttle?
Yes, RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.