We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HOSHINOYA Kyoto

Show Prices
Ryokan 
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
HOSHINOYA Kyoto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HOSHINOYA Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
st.louis
Reviewed 25 December 2016

You must experience this to understand why I can't write a more detailed review. Everything is so Japanese, thoughtful, serine and traditional. From your boat ride in to traditional Japanese in room breakfasts. The only "complaint" I have is that my lounge clothing did not fit at all. Sizes were made for tiny Japanese women not a curvy American lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahbelle67
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear sarahbelle67, Thank you very much for staying at HOSHINOYA Kyoto and for recommending us as a place to stay for experiencing something about Japan. Your comments are gratefully received. Also, I forwarded your feedback about clothing to the Housekeeping team. We strive to provide great experiences for all guests no matter what season our guests visit and stay with...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel lies on an idyllic place. For the autumn colours we were 1 week too late. That's nothing you can do about this! Nevertheless, it's a very romantic place. Very unique lie! However, we stayed at another Hoshinoya hotel in Karuizawa a few days before. I like that place better, the rooms are bigger, has a balcony. The gathering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hely T
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Hely T, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your feedback that you experienced the difficulty in reading in the room provides us opportunities to further enhance our guest experience. Thank you again and I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team and we strive to provide a great hotel...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were privileged to spend 4 glorious nights at this outstanding property. The holistic experience begins the moment we step foot on Hoshinoya's private boat landing. We're literally transported to a timeless era where service is warm, welcoming and authentic. The resort stands majestically like an elegant grand old dame from a bygone era, immaculately maintained. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skd3339
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear skd3339, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are deeply touched by your note saying that “the resort stands majestically like an elegant grand old dame from a bygone era, immaculately maintained.” Your comments are the best motivation...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Despite the high price of rooms, I really enjoy the way we made entrance to the hotel by boat. I love that the hotel nestled in the forest by the river. The view in autumn was awesome. But for people who cannot cope with stairways, I wouldn't recommend. I joined the morning walk, a free activity, and I loved it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paploen
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Paploen, Thank you for taking time to review HOSHINOYA Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time at your stay and also the morning walk. Every season, we offer different activities here in Kyoto. We do hope we have another chance to welcome you back again in the near future!   Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Yes, this is expensive but worth pampering yourself when you want something special. From the boat ride to the property to the aesthetic design in garden, building, and amenities, this is a 'treat'. Unique location away from thr tourist crowds. Superb attention to service and luxury. A very pleasant way to learn and experience Japanese style.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P T
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear P T, November in Arashiyama, Kyoto is certainly a magical time to visit! It was our pleasure to host you and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our HOSHINOYA hospitality and that you relaxed in the comforts and Japanese styles. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We lived there in the sakura season. Service very good since they helped to book restaurants, many of them are so popular that you cannot book by yourself. Since we arrived late and the boat stopped service, they drove a car to pick up at 11 o'clock. I am planning to take my parents there next year's autumn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsrstranger
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear lsrstranger, Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Kyoto. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. Every season, the atmosphere differs here in Arashiyama. We truly look forward to your next visit in autumn with your parents. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The property is as gorgeous as the pictures, the room even better than the pictures. The staff was incredible; overall the service the best we've experienced. It was our 15th anniversary and they brought a complimentary bottle of sparkling sake after checking in (check in is in room). They may not wish this advertised, but just to provide an example,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donald G
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Donald G, Thank you for giving us such a great review following your recent visit. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay here at HOSHINOYA Kyoto and hope you have lasting memories of your 15th anniversary. We especially enjoyed reading the very begging part, that "the room even better than the pictures." Your high praise for us...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

A short boat ride (or stroll) up the Oi River from Arashiyama near Kyoto, Hoshinoya is traditional ryokan with a modern flair. The service was impeccable and the views stunning. The Japanese style breakfast was beautiful, delicious and huge. A western option was available - but I can't offer a review. ¥¥¥ Note: The kaiseki dinner was beautifully presented and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank napolia
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear napolia, Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Kyoto. We truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff service. As you mentioned, we do offer options to those with special dietary requests, preferably with advance notice, so that all the guests could have an opportunity to enjoy the dining experience at our dining. Every season, we offer...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Hoshinoya Kyoto is definitely a ryokan experience that has been heavily adapted to suit a Western taste - the rooms were minimal and modern with Western beds in lieu of the traditional tatami mats, pyjamas were offered in place of yukata and were not required to be worn around the grounds, and the kaiseki dinner was served in a separate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jazzatkin
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear jazzatkin, Thank you very much for staying at HOSHINOYA Kyoto and taking the time to give us your great review. I especially enjoyed reading ”dinner was one of the best we had in all of Japan.” Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in another season should your travel bring back to Kyoto. Sincerely, Guest...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This place is beyond special. Just a few minutes from Kyoto, a boat trip takes you to another world where time stands still, a vision of Japan like few others. Utter silence apart from the wind, river and the forest,but combined with the most gracious service and excellent food throughout. Rightly seen as one of Japan's finest retreats.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Penandforkinhand
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Penandforkinhand, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. Your high praise for us describing us “as one of Japan's finest retreats” is greatly appreciated. We strive to provide a great hotel experience for all guests no matter what season our guests visit and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you...

391 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Western Kyoto
Suiran Luxury Collection Hotel Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 366 in Kyoto
2,242 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 366 in Kyoto
255 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Western Kyoto

Neighbourhood Profile
Western Kyoto
Western Kyoto is home to some of the city's best eccentricities. Kyoto's Saga-Toriimoto Preserved Street takes visitors back in time to the Meiji Period, where old homes have been transformed into tea houses and eateries. Pleasure boats drift down the riverbank, under wooden bridges that beckon nature lovers to hiking trails and botanical walks. The area's famously tall bamboo groves, monkey park, and impressive vistas during the Hanami cherry blossom viewing season mean that it is busiest in warmer months, though also gorgeous in the fall, when the mountains and hills along the banks turn multi-colored. Historic and engaging, even the rail cars in Western Kyoto seek to exemplify its traditional nature and scenic beauty. Many people, including natives, come to visit the 1,200 rakan statues at the Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple, which is still in use as a religious site.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kyoto's famed craftsmanship and celebrated history pervade every inch of this fully restored century-old property, from the woodblock-print designs in guestrooms to the refined Kaiseki meals, landscaped grounds, and timeless setting in Arashiyama, a former playground of cour nobles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HOSHINOYA Kyoto

Address: 11-2 Genrokuzancho, Nishikyo-ku, Kyoto 616-0007, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Price Range: €396 - €1,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOSHINOYA Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your HOSHINOYA Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoshinoya Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HOSHINOYA Kyoto staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Melbourne
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from HOSHINOYA Kyoto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best in spring or autumn, not winter”
ananasjapan, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make the restaurant reservation when you book your room, and specify which part of the restaurant if you have a preference.”
gmbklm, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a basic room and I believe going up one level would have made a considerable difference. All of the rooms are river facing.”
MrMrsJim, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We appreciated the river-view room that we booked -- the view was spectacular.”
Limesbridge, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms have the same great river view”
Stekype, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5