We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4-3-7 Kumochicho, Chuo-Ku, Kobe 651-0056 Hyogo Prefecture
eDreams
Priceline
Etrip
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Rakuten Travel
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (55)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kobe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy a relaxing time at the ryotei ryokan in Yamanote Kobe At the foot of Nunobiki Valley, Hotel ISAGO Kobe stands with its history of over 60 years, waiting to embrace you with an atmosphere of tranquil serenity. We are on hand to welcome you with our refined hospitality. Kobe is full of blessings from mountain and sea, such as Setouchi fish and world-class Kobe beef. Hotel ISAGO Kobe offers kaiseki cuisine made with carefully selected seasonal ingredients. Rokko Nunobiki Onsen is famed for its "water of beauty". Let the tiredness drain away, feel the smoothing effect on your skin, and spend a moment of relaxation in your modern Japanese room. With its great location only a 5-minute walk from Shin-Kobe Station, the hotel is acclaimed for its convenience for Kobe sightseeing. We look forward to seeing you at Hotel ISAGO Kobe. ●Check-in 15:00 ●Check-out 10:00 By train (to JR Shinkobe Station)A 5-minute walk By plane (to Kobe Airport)Approx. 18 minutes from Sannomiya by Port Liner Hotel ISAGO Kobe
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Karaoke
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Hot spring bath
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
36Reviews1Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 15
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
mamepale wrote a review Aug 2018
mamepale1 contribution
We visited this hotel for DBB, and we had a fantastic experience there. From arrival to departure, the level of hospitality was incredible, and they even organised a birthday surprise for my 4 year-old daughter after a lovely Kobe Wagyu Kaiseki Dinner, and it was so touching. Thanks very much!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
shannizle wrote a review Apr 2018
Saitama, Japan12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The hotel staff were kind and very accommodating to people with low Japanese language abilities. The Kobe beef shabu-shabu dinner was delicious and very filling. It came with many different dishes. Our room was spacious compared to other ryokans I've stayed at. There was a small hot spring bath in the hotel that we enjoyed. The breakfast the next morning was huge. I could not finish it. It was made up of many small Japanese veggie dishes, a fish, miso soup, rice, etc. It was tasty. I recommend this room to those looking to have a nice Japanese ryokan experience in a quiet residential area while being close to the shinkansen station.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神戸 ほ, front staff at Hotel Isago Kobe
Responded 5 May 2018
Thank you very much for your staying.We are glad to know your satisfactory feeling.For example, Kobe beef dinner & many Japanese food breakfast & good access from Shinkobe station (Shinkansen & subway).Thank you for your message,too.
Read more
Jason C wrote a review Mar 2017
20 contributions9 helpful votes
Its location is in a residential area and is more quiet than most areas. The hotel is nice and the rooms were comfortable, however they definitely did not feel like a real ryokan. The onsen was not notable in anyway and was very tiny. I would not suggest the onsen if someone is looking specially for one. As for the service, it was nice and I expect no one to have any problems. English was okay too. Overall, it's still has a slight ryokan feel for those who can not reach others and is a nice hotel for resting.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神戸 ほ, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Isago Kobe
Responded 5 May 2018
Thank you very much for your staying. We have small hot spring,but quality is very good & popular.Our hotel is standing in quiet town. Did you sleep soundly ? Thank you & see you again.
Read more
Storyteller694771 wrote a review Feb 2017
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We had an extremely pleasant stay at hotel Isago in Kobe. The traditional Japanese tatami room was very charming and inviting, with lots of attention to detail. After a long stroll through the city we were glad to enjoy a hot bath in the cute little onsen of the hotel. All areas of the hotel were immaculately clean, with a unique Japanese guesthouse charm. It felt like a ryokan, with all staff members approaching us in a warm and familiar manner. We stayed in a traditional Japanese room, sleeping on futons over tatami mats . The futons were very comfy and seemed brand new and super clean. The room was quite large with typical paper sliding doors, a small sitting area, and a table laid out with everything you'd need to make tea. The bath and toilet were separate, with the bath being quite large and very clean. The toilet was also spotless. Unfortunately when we made the reservation there weren't any non-smoking rooms available and I'm not sure if they have any in the first place - so the room smelled a bit smokey. But there was an air purifier which seemed to help. The next morning we woke up a bit early to have breakfast. To our surprise we had a huge private room waiting for us when we went down to the restaurant. We were served an amazing traditional Japanese breakfast with a great variety of items consisting of fish, miso soup, vegetables, nabe traditional Japanese pickles and of course lots of rice. It felt like a home cooked meal which was made even better by the two sweet older ladies who served us. We really felt taken care of at this hotel and would definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神戸 ほ, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Isago Kobe
Responded 5 May 2018
Thank you very much for your staying. We are very glad to hear that you are happy at our hotel.Your room was not no smoking room. But air cleaner was useful for you. We thank you to be you were satisfied with breakfast,too.Please come to our hotel again.Thank you and see you again.
Read more
mapglobal2 wrote a review Sep 2016
New York City, New York976 contributions140 helpful votes
+1
If you have an early shinkonsen departing from JR shin Kobe station, this is a great option. There is an ANA Crown Plaza hotel, which is literally across the street from the station, but it’s also significantly more costly than Isago. Based on my experiences in Japan in the past, it’s not worth it, in my opinion. Isago is located up the street in a nearby residential area, and it’s an easy walk, even with luggage. My wife and I stayed in a Western room, and we were there for only one night. We were catching a very early shinkonsen to Tokyo the next morning, and it worked out perfectly. The one thing which sets this place apart is the fact that it has an onsen! If you’re a lover of hot springs, as I am, this is a big deal, and a great little, unexpected perk. The onsen was great, and certainly good enough to have your soak after a hard day of walking around and sightseeing. It was really wonderful to have it available. Within the hotel there is also a restaurant, but we didn’t have an opportunity to sample it, although the pics looked pretty good. I understand that there's quite a few nice restaurants in the immediate vicinity. In closing, I’m not often in Kobe…usually, just passing through, but if I ever need to crash there for whatever reason, then I’m heading back to this hotel. It’s a great option. I really like this place, and I think it represents good value for the money. Hope this review helps.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jill R wrote a review Dec 2015
Alba, Texas43 contributions17 helpful votes
My husband's business associates treated us to a most delightful and delicious Japanese Cuisine experience at Isago. All of the food that was served was outstanding in it's own. There were so many fabulous items that each one that was served was as good as the one before.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
YukoBigSky wrote a review Jun 2014
New York City, New York18 contributions38 helpful votes
The location is excellent for travelling by Shinkansen. It is in the middle of a nice residential area, in a few minutes' walk from Shin-Kobe Station. It is one subway stop away from the busy downtown Sannomiya Sta., but we enjoyed walking there. Supplies in the public bath room and the bedroom are very limited and I did not feel very comfortable. I do not recommend you to eat dinner or breakfast at this hotel. The Kobe Beef Course is not worth the money. The food quality and the skills of the cook did not seem very high. They give you a nice hand-written menu for dinner, BUT tey did not serve shima-aji in their sashimi dish although they did write it. With that $200, you could enjoy a better meal at another restaurant. We wanted to support the hotel by buying breakfast for three days of our stay, but after the first breakfast, we changed our mind. It was the worst unforgettable breakfast you can imagine at a hotel or a ryokan in Japan, For $20, how can they serve cold fish and other small dishes which feel like cold rubber, and make you suspect that they had been refrigerated for more than a whole night? The miso soup was not whold-hearted, either. The servers were nice, and the bedroom and the bath were clean enough. 新神戸駅から少し下った落ち着いた住宅街の中にありますので、ロケーションは気に入りました。 街の中心である三ノ宮駅からは地下鉄一駅分は歩きますが、観光客として歩きたい私たちには、楽しめる距離でした。 ただ、寝室や浴室の備品などについて、節約一途の態度を感じ、あまり落ち着けませんでした。 なお、食事は一切お勧めしません。 夕食の神戸牛コースは、材料、作り方とも値段に釣り合わない料理でした。お品書きがきれいに書いてあるのはいいけれど、信じてはいけないのだなと思いました。おつくりにシマアジと書いてあったのにシマアジが出ませんでした。同じ二万円あったら、外の料亭で食べた方が良いと思います。 それでも、宿をサポートするつもりで、朝食だけは予定通り三日とも利用しようと思っていましたが、最初の朝食で方針を変えました。一人二千円も取って、よくも冷蔵庫に一晩以上置いたのをそのまま出してきた焼き魚や練り物を出せるものです。ゴムかビニールを噛んでいるような感触でした。おみおつけも心がこもっておらず、あれほどひどい旅館の朝食は、食べたことがありません。 仲居さんたちは、感じよかったですし、基本的な清潔感はありました。
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael P wrote a review Apr 2014
8 contributions
We were bowled over by the welcome we received from all staff in this exceptional hotel. If you are physically able to sleep and sit on the floor , you will not find a more impressive and professional experience. We were treated as though we were the first couple ever to stay here. Staff even gathered on the front steps as we left by taxi, bowed and waved us goodbye. Superb food served in a private room. What a find.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AndreaN wrote a review Jan 2012
Vancouver, Canada112 contributions96 helpful votes
we were fortunate and a japanese friend booked this hotel for us when asking her for a traditional Japanese hotel. we must say this choice was perfect. beautiful hotel within walking distance of the train station, very correct and friendly staff, perfect Kobe meat dinners in private rooms, wonderful tatami rooms to stay in with all a traveler needs, very quiet and includes a wonderful spa (hot spring). what else to say. GO THERE!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tatami room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiHyogo PrefectureKobeShin Kobe Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Isago Kobe
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Isago Kobe?
Nearby attractions include Takenaka Carpentry Tools Museum (0.1 km), Kobe Frantz, Shin Kobe (0.3 km), and Ikutagawa Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Isago Kobe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Isago Kobe?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Isago Kobe?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Isago Kobe?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Isago Kobe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wakkoqu, Shinkobe, Neiro, and Teppanyaki Kitano.
Does Hotel Isago Kobe offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Isago Kobe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Isago Kobe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Minatogawa Shrine (3.5 km), Kazamidori no Yakata (1.0 km), and Kobe Kitano Museum (Ijinkan) (0.9 km).